We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with this place”
Review of Avion Apart-hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avion Apart-hotel
Ranked #757 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Portage, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Happy with this place”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the hotel the was booked for a tour before leaving for another tour out of Thailand. I thought the hotel was fine all around. The rooms are very nice...coffee, water, tv, kind staff. The breakfast was good. No complaints and truthfully I am surprised by all the negative reviews. I don't think they are warranted.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank travelingtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    15
    10
    14
See reviews for
5
19
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We took an OAT trip to Burma with pre-trip to Laos in December 2013. We arrived in Bangkok near midnight and taken to this hotel, all well except the power went out just before dawn while my wife was in the shower. Fortunately power came back on after 5 minutes, so no harm, no foul. We then went to Laos and returned to Bangkok. This night we decide to shower as it was an early morning departure the next morning for Burma and no hot water. We were the lucky ones as several people on the tour had no air conditioning, a must in Bangkok. One person had his room changed that evening due to no a/c and saw that it was given to one of the people arriving that evening for the main trip. After Burma, we again came back to this hotel. As we had early morning departure back home we immediately checked the a/c which was working, but again no hot water. We contacted the OAT transfer clerk and she arranged with someone to resolve the problem. They worked on the shower about 10 min.and we had luke warm water. We left the water running and each took our showers then and there. OAT should drop this hotel, as it was the only bad experience of the entire trip..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfran1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently stayed two nights at this hotel with a Tour Company and it was the worst part of the whole trip. Hotel was noisy at night, no hot water in the morning and the evening meal was atrocious. Soup was cold. They offered to heat it up in the microwave, but the rest of the food was terrible.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are a lot better hotels for the same or less money as close to the airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Avion for two separate nights (inbound and outbound) as part of a group tour. We left a bag there in storage before our outbound flight, as we were planning on coming back to spend the night again before our final flight home a few days later. We had booked that night in advance (after the group tour) and had also booked a $10 airport pickup. Before we left, we confirmed with the desk our pickup and hotel stay. When we were due to be picked up, they were a NO SHOW. We walked back and forth through the pickup area thinking the driver was perhaps delayed or overlooked. Nope. After a half hour of that, we had airport information call the hotel (thankfully, d/h had a printout of the confirmation), only to get a busy signal. The info desk called again and talked to a female employee (whom they described as "rude") and sussed out that they did know they were supposed to pick us up. So we waited some more. After another half hour, we debated about hiring a taxi but were afraid to be charged for the pickup and the taxi. Near the taxi stand is another traveler help desk. They also called the Avion and spoke with the lady (whom they also described as "rude) for a long time. She said she was going to call the driver and call the desk back. She didn't. After ANOTHER half hour, we told the desk that if the lady ever bothered to call back to please tell her we were getting a taxi and that they would be paying for it. With that, we got a taxi, who had to call the Avion for directions. They also talked a loooong time (seemingly contentiously). Afterwards, the taxi driver said "Bad hotel". Taxi was less than three dollars. At this point, we were determined that we weren't going to be paying for this ride or staying at the hotel. We just needed to go there to pick up our baggage. On arrival to the hotel, we went inside to get the bag and to complain to the desk clerks (there were two) about the situation. The male clerk apologized several times (but, curiously, kept smiling/laughing) when i explained that we did have confirmation (in person and online) for an airport pickup and that it was so unprofessional, rude, etc. to leave people at the airport, not call the help desk back for the driver's status, be rude to the taxi driver. The female clerk, who must have been the person described as "rude" by three people, would not even make eye contact. She never apologized, even though she was clearly at fault. Keep in mind, we should have been to the hotel around 8 pm and had dinner before sleeping a few hours before waking up very early for our next day international flight. The time was then around 10 pm. I kept on - becoming more frustrated by the abysmal service and lack of acknowledgement or remorse. And the woman STILL would not look at me. I asked the male clerk to speak with his manager and was told there was none on duty. I told him I wanted the manager's name and he refused several times to provide it. He did provide his and the female's names, dunno if they are legit. Wouldn't give me a business card. He then told me that they "really aren't responsible for airport pickups". I showed him the brochure that was on the desk and pointed to where it talked about airport pickups. And then showed him the confirmation page that showed were were due to be picked up. Asked him why, if they are not responsible, would I book a pickup through the hotel? He couldn't provide an answer. After awhile, d/h pointed out that we were wasting our own sleep time and to just let it go. I told the clerks that I wasn't going anywhere until they paid the taxi. The female jumped up and paid the taxi .....until she saw us go back outside and then snatched the money away from the driver. We got our bag and left. The driver took us literally NEXT DOOR to a hotel that was less than half the price, just as good of a room, with a free airport shuttle AND a staff that gives a damn. I think tours are the only thing that keeps the Avion in business. The tour operator has their own representative and driver do the airport transfers. No wonder. My d/h have traveled all over the world and are generally easy-going people, especially in dealing with foreign services. This was such a terrible experience that I felt the need to warn others. There are lots of hotels in the area. Don't bother with this one. And the breakfast sucks.

Room Tip: There are lots of hotels in the area - most of them half the cost and with a free airport shuttle. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed in Avion Apart hotel due to GCT/ OATs booking it for us. Never in Asia have we been given water to drink in glass bottles except here. Try picking one up without dropping it if you're hands are soapy and you're brushing your teeth. Owners are probably saving a few pennies at a high risk. I'll bet if you break a bottle there's a price to pay.
Crummy location unless your tour company is dropping you off there and picking you up. No free hotel -airport shuttle unlike other airport hotels for 1/2 the money.
On our last night , husband broke the plastic card "key" using it while entering the room. Hotel wanted to charge us 500 BHAT. Card had been used many times before by previous guests. It was well worn. Fee on sign above receptionist desk was for lost card key not broken one. We refused to pay at 2:00AM about to leave for a plane to return home in the USA. Someone Thai asked what would happen in America if the guest broke the plastic card. We answered the hotel would replace it with no penalty and call it the cost of doing business.
Breakfast was relatively unappealing being cold (at normal serving times). Wish OATs would find another hotel for its tourists.
Rooms are large and clean. Staff tries to be friendly. Large turn around area for buses keeps this hotel in guests. But you can do much better if you're on your own. So many hotels at the Bangkok airport offer free quick and efficient shuttle service.
Good restaurants a short walk in front of hotel- hot pot restaurant and Chinese Dim Sum.
If you do have to stay here and want to see Bangkok, take a taxi to the subway-sky train station 1 stop from the airport and subway downtown to Bangkok avoiding the traffic. Just make sure you take a metered taxi in the city not a tuk tuk who will take you to their stores for free coupons for gas.

Room Tip: Don't drop a water bottle and don't break your plastic key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Goldie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed as part of the Seniors World Cup Football Tournament . All teams well accommodated . Too far from Bangkok and the Stadia . Too much time commuting . Otherwise faultless hotel . All staff trying their very best . Too far from the airport to be at true airport hotel ... Right hotel in the wrong place .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is near the Bangkok airport but doesn’t qualify as a “airport hotel” since it does not offer its own shuttle service. I got there (along with many of the people who posted below) as part of a tour given by Overseas Adventure Travels. Many people are unhappy about that since we were sold a tour with a downtown hotel. (That’s not the Avian Apart’s fault.)

There were several Asian tour groups there both times I stayed. No one would try this hotel on their own; it’s not worth the transportation hassle. (A friend stays in several other hotels in the area that are the same price and have a shuttle – so check around.)

The multi-building property looks nice. My rooms were large, modern and clean. I was missing some bath amenities in my bathroom and housekeeping responded quickly.

I had no luck with wifi or their computers in Building 1 (the main building) but the wifi worked great in Building 3 (room 3307). The only TV channel that worked in either room was the fashion channel. (Could that be a reflection of the many young ladies working the front desk??)

The breakfast situation was simply sad. The only bread was what we in the US call “wonder bread”. (Wonder is the brand name of a company that made what they would call the “classic white bread”.) The over-easy eggs would have been OK had the kitchen person known enough to turn on the hot plate but she was clueless to its operation.

As stated by others, there are many nice local restaurants on the same block for lunch or dinner but (1) they won’t speak much English and (2) will expect you have to have Thai Baht. Some do take credit cards; ask first. (The staff at the one place we ate seemed to be happy to have a new source of customers and may expand their English as a result.)

There is a 7-11 on the main road to the left.

The taxi to/from the airport should be less than $6 in Baht. (There’s a surcharge when you leave the airport). It only took a few minutes for a taxi to arrive at the hotel when called. If you are going to the airport to get the train into town, as I did, don’t tell them that. It caused all kinds of confusion. All you need to say is you want the departure level for Royal Thai Airlines. (I think that is the first stop at the airport.) Once you are at the Royal Thai entrance, there are signs telling you how many levels to go down for the train. (A round trip on the express train is about $5; again they only take Baht.)

If you are trying to get to the Avian Apart by taxi, have a map and their phone number and lots of luck. And watch out the taxi window yourself for the sign. The driver probably won’t see it in the maze of other signs on that block. The hotel itself is a long block off the main road.

Some of my travel mates did use the spa on the same block. They highly recommend it with a big caveat that you get the pricing upfront. They got hit with increased fees for services that they didn’t appreciate cost extra when they agreed to them but that didn’t turn them off from a second visit.

If you end up stuck at the Avion Apart with nothing to do, take the taxi to the airport to get the 20-30 minute train into town. It dead-ends at a Skytrain station. From there you can take the Skytrain around to the Siam station, gateway to a seemingly endless supply of shops and malls. Or go to the Asoke station for the Terminal 21 mall; truly a delight just to meander around.

I’m giving the hotel a 2 because (1) you don’t get to be a hotel near an airport without having a shuttle –market expectations just don’t allow it and (2) the breakfast offerings. (If the wifi had not worked on my second visit, I would have rated it a 1. Likewise, if I cared about TV I would have dinged them on its failure to operate properly.)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Suvarnabhumi Suite Airport Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mariya Boutique Residence at Suvarnabhumi Airport
0.3 mi away
Great Residence Hotel
Great Residence Hotel
#655 of 862 in Bangkok
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Orchid Resort
Orchid Resort
#58 of 651 in Bangkok
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eat-Ting
Eat-Ting
#207 of 1,213 in Bangkok
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ploy Khumthong Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avion Apart-hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avion Apart-hotel

Property: Avion Apart-hotel
Address: 1646/99, 1646/1-9 Ladkrabang Rd. Ladkrabang, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #757 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avion Apart-hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avion Apart-hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing