We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Ranked #38 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the Hansar during December 2013 in a suite overlooking the golf course.

The hotel has a nice relaxed vibe with good use of dim lighting, metallic tiles and interesting artwork. The hotel also had a nice Christmas tree and decorations. Check in was pleasant however it seemed to take quite a while from arriving at the hotel to getting the check in completed. Maybe in-room check in could improve this.

The suite has a large bed; although the sofa is placed at the end of the bed and so taller people may find themselves kicking the sofa in the night. There was also a desk, TV/DVD and a kitchen area with washing machine and complimentary mini bar featuring soft drinks, a couple of bottles of beer and some light snacks. The hotel manager had left a Christmas gift in the room which was a nice touch.

The large bathroom features twin sinks, separate shower and bath. Unfortunately both the shower and the bath failed to maintain a hot water temperature and pressure. The shower enclosure also leaked water from the shower onto the floor outside. That aside the room was very comfortable and relaxing.

Breakfast is served downstairs and features good buffet selection or around 5 dishes along with the option to order items from the 'eggs menu'. I'd recommend sitting outside alongside the street as this is very quiet and a nice way to start the morning. I found that some of the buffet dishes were not as warm as I would have liked due to the way how they were kept warm using water and without using lids. Also there were no water baths for the serving spoons and as a result you ended up picking up stray food. The additional items are branded as the 'eggs menu' as as I don't eat eggs I failed to notice that I could also order other items such as sausages, bacon, tomatoes and waffles.

I took a look at the spa, pool area and the gym all of which looked pretty good; however I didn't get round to using them.

In the evenings I didn't spot any one dining at the hotel however the nearby St Regis hotel was very busy with people eating.

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the Central and Siam Paragon shopping centres provided that the weather is not too hot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,131
    521
    121
    38
    21
See reviews for
427
1,358
230
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was my second stay at the Hansar in Bangkok after such a great stay last year. This time we had a studio suite which overlooked The Royal Bangkok Sports Club and the back of the Four Seasons. It had plenty of space and the benefit of a fridge, sink and washer in case you needed that. We tried both the Eve Restaurant and the cafe. While the Eve restaurant was very slick and formal I preferred the cafe's food. The pool area is small but nice and quiet but with the angle of the sun is best in the first half of the day.
The only downside was that reception did not check their reservation system properly and kept calling the room to tell me that we had to check out when we were there for a further two days due to my booking being in two parts. Overall I'd still come back as it is more relaxed than some of the big 5 star palaces.

Room Tip: All rooms face outwards so they are all different but still good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
124 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is truly an oasis of peace and tranquility. I was here last year around this time at the start of my annual business trip to Asia and it remains top notch, truly worthy of the great reviews and its position of the top boutique hotel in Bangkok. This hotel runs like a well oiled machine and each guest is made to feel special. Special mention must go first and foremost to Mr Chompoo, the Director of Rooms, who is without doubt the most outstanding Rooms Manager I have ever met. As well, the Director of Operations, Mr Ong, is a consummate professional and true gentleman and runs the operations magnificently. The owner of this hotel is indeed fortunate to have these individuals running his hotel. Tim and Jonathan who run the Food and Beverage are affable, very service oriented and alos pleasure to deal. Addy, a server at breakfast who seems to run the breakfast, is truly exceptional, a pleasure to speak to each day, and always attending to whatever you require. After staying here for almost two weeks, I am indeed sad to leave and look forward to returning soon. Thanks to all the great staff, including those I did not mention, you do a truly exceptional job. As an operator of a small hotel in Canada, I am well aware of the challenges involved in maintaining this level of excellence and the fact that they continue to do so is a great credit to management. I look forward to staying in their new property in Pranburi on my next trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Hansar for 2 nights.
Great location, 2 mins walk from Sky train and close to shopping malls.
The hotel has a great design, big rooms and it is small enough (I do not like big chain hotels),
Breakfast is good with an amazing variety. I did not try the pool but it is good to have as BKK is so hot and humid.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosangelaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Hansar is one place we would consider to re-stay amidst the plethora of hotels in Bangkok. Set in a quiet lane and yet so accessible (one stop away from Siam station), it has that tangible serenity you soak in after a warm and musty day out there. Love the Edge Suite which we stayed in and the #gardeninmyroom made such a difference to it. Special mention to Aod at the reception who was so helpful and genuinely engaged in making our stay memorable. (he made countless calls for us to spas and restaurants during the peak new year period and was unflustered!) Planning our return soon..shall take a dip in the pool next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hansar is an uber-stylish hotel with comfortable modern rooms and friendly staff for whom nothing is too much of a trouble.

Offering freebies like everything in the mini-bar (yes, beer and all), fruits, wifi, etc, in the luxurious Ratchadamri district makes this hotel a great option if you are looking for serenity and privacy but still want a comfortable and centrally located hotel, right at the heart of Bangkok.
Access to the floors with hotel rooms via the lift requires the use of the hotel room key card, which is a huge plus point for a secured environment. The corridors outside the hotel rooms are in an open-concept, no air-condition, but surprisingly the air is light and windy and contributes to the whole Hansar feel. The rooms are sleek and huge, you can literally do a cartwheel in the room and still have space for another person to walk past. With a kitchenette complete with a full-sized fridge, induction stove countertop and washer-dryer combo, a bathroom complete with terrazzo bathtub, rainshower and double basin vanity top, office table with many available stationery (even a stapler!), and a mini living room, the room is simply perfect for couples and families alike.

The buffet range offered at breakfast is not enormous but you will be able to find something to suit most tastes from their ala-carte menu, which ranges from their chef specialties like Walnut & Banana Pancakes, to the classic American Breakfast. How can we not mention the fabulous gym and swimming pool area which is great to enjoy after a long day of shopping at CentralWorld and Siam Paragon which is just walking distance or 1 stop on BTS?

Can't fault this hotel at all, and would stay here whenever I’m in Bangkok!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansar-Hotel-Resorts, Owner at Hansar Bangkok Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear VLuo,

We are absolutely overjoyed to read your review and appreciate so much your kind support. Please feel free to email us directly at info@hansarbangkok.com during your next travels as we look forward to welcome you back to Hansar again soon.

With warm regards,
Hansar Bangkok Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is my third review I have ever been inclined to write, but simply... I HAD TO.

The Hansar is an oasis in the wonderful, crazy place that is Bangkok.

The hotel manages to create the most serene ambience, starting with the cold towels and welcome drink on arrival, the wonderful bedrooms, and the best breakfast I have ever had (and I am a hotel breakfast Aficionado!!!)

The pool area is stunning, I would have loved to enjoy a glass of wine and a swim in the beautiful infinity pool but we didnt have time.

Aod the Manager really took care of us, and added to the amazing service this hotel provides.

The hotel is a 5minute walk from the BTS Skytrain, which is the ONLY way to get around Bangkok, I am a London girl, and I find our tube confusing!! Bangkok puts us to shame, it is SO simple you cannot go wrong. And you MUST get to and from the airport on the BTS, take the Airport City Link (30mins, and about £1 each!) then the BTS to the stop outside the hotel (15mins 50p!) I'm not even suggesting it because it's cheap, I'm suggesting it because the taxi is a drainer! it takes forever, the traffic is madness in Bangkok.

You can also walk to central world plaza for shopping, and MBK if you like fake stuff!!

Also you can grab tuc-tuc's to Pat Pong if you want to go crazy!

Whatever you are going to Bangkok for this hotel has it all, we are a young couple (30's) but this would suit any age range.

A perfect hotel, we will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 226Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 858 in Bangkok
1,916 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Bangkok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Bangkok Hotel

Property: Hansar Bangkok Hotel
Address: 3 Soi Mahadlekluang 2, Rajdamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#34 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hansar Bangkok Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hansar Bangkok, an unrivaled luxury experience just steps away from the heart of Bangkok and a short one-minute walk to the BTS Skytrain, yet nestled in the seclusion and comfort in Bangkok's most prestigious location, Rajdamri Road. Endless and enchanting views of Bangkok greenery, outstanding architectural elegance and timeless style, amenities to please the most discerning traveler, this is the Hansar way of life. Our suites are steeped in modern comfort and amenities, contemporary yet timeless in style and adorned in Jim Thompson silk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hansar Bangkok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing