We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Sabai

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Sabai
Ranked #693 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value, good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

For 500 Baht double room with bathroom (only cold water) and A/C - good value, clean rooms, really good place near Kao San, 15 minutes by walk to Grand Palace. NO WIFI, Deposit for the key 500 Baht, they don't accept USD, or EUR.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D33xTH3xSW33T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    30
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
7
29
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

l made the mistake of using a safety deposit box inside the reception room two , metre's from where a receptionist was sitting 24 hours a day. l thought it would be safe there.The next day my money was gone. There is no camera's inside the reception room so it was only my word against there's . The manager just shrugged his shoulders and walked away and the police just told me that l should be more careful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 248Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level Contributor
465 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This is a very clean and basic Guest House which is situated, on the quieter Soi Rongmai, 5 minutes away from the ever famous party area of Khao San Road. It is also situated close the Boat pier (Pra Arthit) at the Chao Praya River and about 25 min walk to the Klong Boat Stop near the Golden Mountain Wat.
We were charged 550Bath for a double room with en-suite and air con, as the smaller single rooms were booked up. The room was basic but very clean and bigger than others that I’ve seen in the same price category. It had a window to the back, so it was not noisy at all. The cheaper Fan rooms that I saw had no windows and thinner walls. A bit less comfortable, however I think they are still a good backpacker’s option.
For an additional 10B per day there were lockers available at the reception to keep valuables.
They do NOT provide wifi in the guesthouse but internet access is available in the Travel Shop attached to the Guest House (40Bath per hour, if you walk a bit you will find cheaper places).
The Staff is a bit strange, the young guy who worked in the evening was always smiling and friendly the one how worked during the days was quite unfriendly at times (maybe due to the stress). I asked him to help out with one phone call for my next accommodation in case they don’t speak English and he denied. I heard people asking him for wifi and he asked back if they came to Bangkok to call their mum!. Kind of funny may be, however not the nicest welcome at a new place.
The restaurant that belongs to the guesthouse has good Set Menu dishes and cheap beer.
At the food stall right opposite the entrance of Baan Sabai you can get cheap drinks (fresh fruit shakes, especially the Mango Shake) and super tasty Thai food (such as Mango with Sticky rice). They also have a fantastic choice for breakfast, including fresh fruits with muesli.
If you don’t expect a five star hotel you will be happy at this place. It is in a very good location and (at least) feels very safe, since they always seem to have an eye on people walking in and out. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Air con rooms on the top floor have much more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

If you are looking for a basic hostel type B&B close to the action of Khao San Rd that's clean then this is the place. It just a street away from Khao San Rd on a quieter extension of the Khao San markets. It's still vibrant but the stalls are restaurants are arguably slightly better quality here as it's away from the main strip.

We had a superior room so had our own shower (with hot water for as long as we needed it) and air con. However the shared showers on every floor looked fine and I wouldn't have had a problem with them but it is always hard to tell how these things will pan out so we erred on the side of caution and got our own shower.

The rooms are really basic and don't have any furniture apart from the bed(s) but the sheets were clean so I was happy. If you want any home comforts then this is not the place for you but it is a good place to crash comfortably for some fun in Bangkok. It is cheap and you get what you pay for but if all you want is a place to shower and sleep then this is the place.

Some reviewers seem to have mentioned that the staff were not friendly. I found the guy at reception was on the ball and kept a watchful eye out. He always had our room key ready for us when he saw us approaching and he helped us with directions for the Pantip IT Centre. He wasn't overly friendly or homely but he got the job done and certainly wasn't rude.

There was no wi-fi but there was an internet cafe all but in the reception so it was not a problem. Khao San Rd was about a 5 - 10 minute walk but we were still in the middle of the action.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EilisNoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at this place for 3 nights, the rooms were good, it was centrally located and the restaurant just in front was great and super cheap! The only negative was the staff, they were so extremely unfriendly :(

On the day of our departure we stored our luggage for 2hrs at 10 bht per bag. When we came back from a walk around the streets, we went back up for a quick shower because we were going to travel back home for almost 23 hours...While showering a cleaning lady starting banging on the door and screaming at me madly, telling me to get out of the shower and clean it. Confused i got out and went back downstairs where my friend was waiting. She told me that the front desk agent told her we have to pay 30bht each for showering, why didnt he tell us in advance??

Its a shame because everything else is good at this place

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed in this place a few times when I lived in Bangkok for a year and was between apartments. Became good friends with a number of the staff. These guys are really helpful and friendly, and for aircon, a bed and warm water for a tenner (GBP10) between 2, you can't complain. Yes, it is basic but ultimately you're in a thriving tourist part of BKK and you really won't spend much time in the rooms. If you're looking for quilted beds and a flatscreen then this is not the place for you but anyone else that wants security and average comfort - close enough but not too close to the Khao San Road - then this is the place for you.

Just turn up and they will find you a room - I have done this on five or six occasions now and they are always accomodating and have space.

See you next time Thep et al!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mail4matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Rooms are okay. They have all the essential (bed, hot shower and some have A/C) and they are clean but the whole place feels a bit like a hospital ward: big white corridors, no decoration whatsoever in the rooms or anywhere else.
They are cheaper than many places in the area (we paid 550 for a double with A/C) but they are also the only one in the street who do not have WIFI or any Internet facilities.
Location, however, is good. In the backpacker area, a few steps from Khao San Road and from the river to take the ferry.
Staff is a bit strange. The guy at check-in was really friendly but guy at check out was super rude!
All in all, I guess you get what you pay for. Personally, I would rather put a bit more in the room to have somewhere a bit more cozy, have free WIFI and deal with nice people who understand that tourists are, after all, their bread and butter. We will be back in Bangkok in a few months; I know I won't stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymousVb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Mango Lagoon Place
Mango Lagoon Place
#503 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Banglamphu
HIIG Hostel
HIIG Hostel
#607 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Palace View
New Siam Palace View
#102 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Four Sons Village
Four Sons Village
#417 of 616 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Banglamphu
Phra Arthit Mansion
Phra Arthit Mansion
#359 of 616 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Banglamphu
Siri Suvan @ Rambuttri Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Sabai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Sabai

Property: Baan Sabai
Address: 12 Soi Rongmai, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Baan Sabai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing