We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #234 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Sibu, Sarawak
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stay there for two nights. We arrive late at the midnight due to the delayed flight but the host, Shan Shan wait for our arrival and welcome us with smile make us feel like home. The guesthouse is clean and comfortable and its cool although there is no aircond with fans only. We stay in the three bed room upstair and the room is big. Staff are all very friendly and the simple breakfast was GREAT! You can ask about travel information from Shan Shan and she will give useful information. The area is comfortable and wireless is available. There is also two computer to online. Only the floor up stair is tilted due to the old structure of the wood house which is over 60 years. Overall the stay was great!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor is tilted due to the old structure of wood house so if you do mind about that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VannTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    153
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
197
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at khaosan baan Thai.

The rooms are a good size and the air-conditioning works well. The shared toilet an shower facilities were fine- never had to wait to use either and the guest house was full when we were there.

The bed are very hard and very low. This did not cause and problems for us.

The whole guest house is immaculately clean.

The cooked breakfast was an added bonus - fried egg, 2 hotdogs, toast and marmalade.

There are also soft drinks, noodles and snacks available to purchase at good prices and there is hot water and a microwave which is great if you are on a budget.

The staff are very helpful and assisted us with booking our onward travel. They also sold tickets and activities but we never felt any pressure to buy these

The location is great- walking distance from the khoasan road and lots of bars and restaurant. We also walked to the grand palace but it might be a bit far to walk for some people in the heat! The staff are also able to give helpful information about which buses to take and rough prices for tuk tuks.

The wifi at the guest house works well and there are two computers in reception that are free to use until 10.30pm.

The other guests here kept themselves to themselves anddue to the structure of the builing guests are asked to keep noise to a minimum so I probably wouldn't recommend this place for solo travellers looking to meet others or anyone looking to party!

Overall we felt that this guest house was very good value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Followingthesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

we stayed here for three nights on arriving in bangkok,its a great little place and theres always people there,the lady behind the reception is so friendly and just laughs at everything which is funny but she also told us some useful stuff,such as never pay more than 40 baht to get anywhere on a tuk tuk,that came in handy and we never did after that.

the price is a little more than weve paid for other places but then again no other place has been so friendly

thanks to the staff

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Every1 in Bangkok just wwants to milk you for as much money as possible, but I really enjoyed my stay in this hostel. Gave lots of info and helped us out a lot. clean safe and tidy and a really good price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rossajones00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile



What a great little place. If you want khao San road without the noise & teenagers then stay here! It was great to go enjoy everything khao San & the the surrounding areas had to offer but actually get some sleep at the end of the night as only 15 min walk away. Clean, shared bathrooms were very clean, our room was large with good air con & the staff were so helpful with any questions you may have. Great value for the £12 (ish) per night. Great restaurants locally too!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends so we had a 3 bed room which worked out really well for us. The bathrooms were very clean and we never had any issues with the sharing aspect. This place can be a bit difficult to find so make sure you know the exact location upon arrival! The location is also great. It's about a 10 min walk from Khao San Road and taxi's are always at hand. The receptionist was amazing with useful information about where to go for dinner, and for excursions outside of Bangkok.

This place is great for people who are a bit more casual, say for friends or individuals travelers, but I wouldn't stay here if I came with my boyfriend. You can hear almost everything through the walls. Luckily we had very nice neighbors so this was never a problem. Breakfast, hot tea, and coffee in the morning was always wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ally088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is a very clean and cute place to stay. The staff are really friendly and the rooms are good. It's a quite and peaceful locations. My only criticism is that for the price I don't think it should be shared bathrooms. Otherwise, great. However, if you are looking to stay closer to Khao San Road this is not the place for you, it's a good 10 to 15 min walk. Obviously a plus if you are trying to avoid the "delights" of Khao San.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KssndrKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#318 of 858 in Bangkok
174 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#326 of 858 in Bangkok
411 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 858 in Bangkok
1,493 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#34 of 641 in Bangkok
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Property: Khaosan Baan Thai
Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing