We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 20th time in BKK and I finally found the perfect place to be”
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #241 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My 20th time in BKK and I finally found the perfect place to be”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Not far from Khaosan road, literally 10 minutes walk. Super duper clean, very nice staff, free high speed wi-fi, tour desk, big room with awesome aircon, no seriously, what more do you want??? Oh, and is cheap too!!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank SilviaP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    153
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
197
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were a group of three European 20-somethings and although we would not have minded if the hostel was overall slightly more 'social', we thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay here. The hostel is very clean, the staff always smiley and the wifi and A/C fully operational. The hostel is far enough away from the main road for it to be in a quiet environment, and yet still within walking distance of Khaosan. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jakub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alken, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Here we stayed our first night in Thailand. We were very well received. It's simple but a cosy guesthouse. The location is very good. It is a short walk from Khaosan Road (10 minutes) but you can sleep peacefully, The rooms are nice and simple. There are clean showers, there is Wi-Fi and a just standard breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DagdaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff who are always happy to help. Clean and simple rooms and toilet/shower rooms which was perfect for what we were looking for, and the smiley face toast and cooked breakfast included in the price was an added bonus! Location was good, just a few streets away from khaosan road. We were emailed information on how to get from the airport to the hostel, how much a taxi should cost etc. which was very helpful. A perfect first stop in Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carolineold94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in June and had a fabulous experience. We got a room with a bunk bed (so we weren't in the shared dorm) and it was quiet, clean, comfy... absolutely great. Breakfast was standard (2 pieces of toast, an egg, a sausage, tea/coffee), bathrooms were clean (hot water was present but unnecessary in Thailand!), the fan was more than cool enough in our room. We were catching the train to Chiang Mai and got the tickets delivered to the front desk, no problems at all. Staff are friendly, hospitable. It's hard to find the first time because the order of the Samsen Rd "soi"s (side streets off the main Samsen Rd) aren't numbered in order - the order (heading north from Khaosan Rd) is like 2,1,4,6,3. My advice if you're looking for it from Khaosan Rd (where a minibus or whatever may drop you off) is to get directions to Samsen Rd, then just stick to heading north on the western side of the road until you reach Soi 3, which does come after Soi 2, Soi 4 and Soi 6 (on the opposite side of the road)!
Anyway, I would recommend KBT!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great guesthouse in a good location with friendly and helpful staff. Far enough from main road to be nice and quiet but close enough for easy access to anywhere. Rooms are very good and while we would have preferred private bathroom, the shared bathroom was always clean and rarely had to wait long.

Room Tip: A room with aircon is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Evahn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It's really good value for money. The beds are on the ground, but the atmosphere is great, if you book in advance they help you get there by email, it's walking distance to khoasan road, yet far enough away to be quiet. I liked it a lot, one of the better stays in bangkok i suppose

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Bas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#320 of 862 in Bangkok
414 reviews
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#313 of 862 in Bangkok
177 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#36 of 650 in Bangkok
334 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#49 of 650 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Property: Khaosan Baan Thai
Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing