We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best guest house in Bangkok”
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #226 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best guest house in Bangkok”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Twelfth visit to Bangkok and disappointingly always ended up in overpriced, dirty, noisy guest houses. Finally found a super cute oasis in the city. The staff are second to none - emailing you a week before your arrival with helpful guidance on getting there from the airport. Smiles all round when you arrive. Very quiet back street, but with lights so you don't feel unsafe. Free high speed wifi. Nice breakfast included (double check on booking). The bedrooms are the cleanest I've stayed in, with... wait for it... crispy clean duvets to keep you warm if you have air con! Without meaning to sound pretentious, it attracts 'nice' guests too... no barfing buckets on your doorstep at 3.00am...

You may be looking for cheaper (I paid around 600-700 for a delux room with air con) but at least here you get what you pay for - it's so worth it. 'Due to the old structure of the building the rooms don't contain their own bathrooms' but this is no problem - there are many showers and toilets and they are VERY clean! There are washing machines and I think a tumble drier too.

Ten min walk from Khaosan road - close enough to poke your nose around the fried scorpions and braided farang, far enough away to get some good shut-eye.

Room Tip: Downstairs back left room was quiet, spacious, and with only one neighbouring room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    153
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
197
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Been using Suvarnabhumi Int'l Airport to fly in and out of Asia and everytime, I'm in Bangkok, Khaosan Baan Thai is always my first choice :)

They offer clean rooms, shuttles to and from major destinations around the city, breakfast, all while making you feel at home.

It's located really close to the river, and about two blocks from a boat port where you can ride the public boats up and down to see the city. It's also just a 20-minute walk to the Grand Palace and about 10 to Khao San Road if you're interested.

I highly recommend Khaosan Baan Thai to those backpacking through Bangkok with a relatively tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Our first time in Bangkok, we used TripAdvisor to decide where we should stay and must admit this guesthouse certainly doesn't disappoint. Very friendly staff, great location (away from hustle and bustle of Khao San Road but within short walking distance), great rooms with air con/fan, breakfast included in room price and very inexpensive for what you get!

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thomfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Not far from Khaosan road, literally 10 minutes walk. Super duper clean, very nice staff, free high speed wi-fi, tour desk, big room with awesome aircon, no seriously, what more do you want??? Oh, and is cheap too!!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank SilviaP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were a group of three European 20-somethings and although we would not have minded if the hostel was overall slightly more 'social', we thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay here. The hostel is very clean, the staff always smiley and the wifi and A/C fully operational. The hostel is far enough away from the main road for it to be in a quiet environment, and yet still within walking distance of Khaosan. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jakub K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alken, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Here we stayed our first night in Thailand. We were very well received. It's simple but a cosy guesthouse. The location is very good. It is a short walk from Khaosan Road (10 minutes) but you can sleep peacefully, The rooms are nice and simple. There are clean showers, there is Wi-Fi and a just standard breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank DagdaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff who are always happy to help. Clean and simple rooms and toilet/shower rooms which was perfect for what we were looking for, and the smiley face toast and cooked breakfast included in the price was an added bonus! Location was good, just a few streets away from khaosan road. We were emailed information on how to get from the airport to the hostel, how much a taxi should cost etc. which was very helpful. A perfect first stop in Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carolineold94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#316 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#61 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#327 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#323 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
K Maison Boutique Hotel
#7 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Property: Khaosan Baan Thai
Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#160 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing