We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Little guesthouse”
Review of Khaosan Baan Thai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Ranked #293 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 2 May 2014

my partner and I stayed here after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Quiet guesthouse with clean rooms. Breakfast and coffee In the morning was nice. It would have been nice if they had an air conditioned Common room as the temperature was reaching 50 Celsius when we were there and there was only one air conditioned room which was booked. Staff was AMAZING though,so helpful and friendly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank jadene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Best price-value ever. It's clean, well located, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in Bangkok for a few days in January during the protests, and felt absolutely safe. Breakfast was ok.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We love visiting hotspots like the Banglamphu area in Bangkok but always keep an eye on our budget and cherish some quiet time in such an eventful place. Well, Khaosan Baan Thai has it all. Not only that; its clean, very boutique like and they respond well to enquiries. There are options between rooms with a fan or airconditioning, they try their best at serving a descent western style breakfast and late/early arrival is no problem. Of course its not all peaches and cream. The location is descent 10/15 min walk to the Khaosan Road and all its cozy side streets but we found a great backdoor route which showed us Bangkok like we imagined it. Very fun little route... The beds in the fan room are no beds but mattresses on the floor limit expectations there. Dont forget; Asian beds are rock solid so there mattresses feel no different from a regular bed in Bangkok. Oh and prices for drinks like beer and soda are fair which is great for a pre dinner/party drink ;-) Book well in advance cause rightfully so this place is pretty much booked solid. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We booked a (bigger) A/C room for 2 our second stay but friends of ours could join by just adding an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jur_en_Sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Absolutely loved staying in this place, stayed a total of 8 nights on 3 different occasions. The breakfast is really cute and the staff are the nicest staff out of anywhere we stayed on our 6 weeks in S.E. Asia. It's definitely not the place to go for the party scene but it is the place to go if you like to relax and have somewhere to call home whilst exploring Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AaronTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

KBT is a wonderful place to stay - comfortable rooms, very friendly staff and in a predominantly residential area. Yet it is so close to Khaosan & Rambuttri roads - the major nightlife areas here and so full of life. From Khaosan road I travelled by public buses to most parts of Bangkok.
KBT is definitely an option for budget travelers with even families with kids staying here. There is a minor issue that this being a wooden bungalow the noise travels to adjoining rooms - however, as this is a very small place - this should not be a cause for worry.
I arrived here at 5 AM and got a very warm and helpful reception. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 1)The washrooms are on the ground floor. So opt for rooms in the ground floor. 2)Book through hoste...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had a great time at this hotel! Location is great, staff was very friendly, We got everything what we expected. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice place to stay. We will definetely come back there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Akviliukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Khaosan Baan Thai hotel in Bangkok is a budget place and reasonably comfortable to stay if you are the type who can share bathrooms as this hotel does not have private bathrooms. The place is rather old and constructed out of wood and thankfully has only ten rooms. The place is a little out of the city but it helps as the place is rather quiet but offset by wooden construction which does not ward off the noise. Again, as a budget hotel, there is no air-conditioning and one has to do with three fans. Since the hotel is for tourists on a budget, the location in the old town is good and some of the tourist attractions can be completed by foot. The free breakfast and free Internet access are perks that would be welcomed by the budget tourist.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#258 of 894 in Bangkok
223 reviews
Dusit
Taewez Guesthouse
Taewez Guesthouse
#499 of 894 in Bangkok
59 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#368 of 894 in Bangkok
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#358 of 894 in Bangkok
328 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#351 of 894 in Bangkok
428 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#512 of 894 in Bangkok
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Baan Thai

Address: 11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Touch Thai" with Thai House and friendly Thai Hospitality. Just only ten different rooms with a simple perfection for travelers who love Thai experience. Khaosan Baan Thai is a small two story Thai house built with teak wood at the age of 60 years. The house was renovated to a new and charming and safety stay, located in the district of the Old Town. Within 10 minutes walk to Khaosan road and walking distance to many tourist attractions. "We filled this house by heart. Happiness is all around you here." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Khaosan Baan Thai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing