We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”

Bungsamran Fishing Park
Thabazimbi, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our visit to Bungsamran offered a welcome escape from busy Bangkok. Helpful staff on hand to assist. We were 4 anglers and each of use caught a nice sized Mekong Giant Catfish in an afternoons time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cobus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    47
    16
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Day Out”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A great day out for ages and abilities, you dont have to be an experienced fisher at all. If you have never fished before you can hire guides who will set everything up for you, bait the rods, cast for you if you like and help land the fish. They also offer techniques tips and advice.

When you get a bite (which seems quite often) simply reel the fish in. Which is a lot harder than it sounds, as the fish are huge!!!! Your forearms will be burning after fighting with these monsters for 15+ mins until you manage to reel them in. Tiring but great fun and very satisfying.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxjpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tightlines”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

A great relaxing venue for a days fishing. You can't bring your own beer though, so if you want to smuggle some in make sure they're well hidden at the bottom of a bag.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely not good”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

5000 bath, guides who don't speak english, the guides watch loud comedie programs in your cabin, They let their friends throw your line into the water, i catched 1 fish in 6 hours.... When my line broke They where all laughing at me.... No lessons, you may watch how They do it...

Helpful?
13 Thank Bobbyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bring the muscles”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I'll get straight to the point on this one. It's fantastic but it's not cheap. Caught a taxi to bungsamaran and if you do this negotiate a price for them to also take you back afterwards because it may be difficult to get a taxi after your finished ( your looking at around 600 baht. But as we all know drivers may charge more). Fishing consisted of two of us who shared one rod (thank god) there is the option of having a guide (which we took and recommend) , these guys know how to catch fish. You get the choice of fishing from a public pier area (which we did) or paying extra and getting a private hut. Total for us was 4120 baht for around four hours but you can stay as long as you like and just buy more bait if you need too.

Lake has a number of fish species (although we only caught two different kind but we did catch seven fish ranging from 25 to 35 kilos - these things are huge and it was tough reeling them in. The fish are strong fighters so prepare yourself and listen to your guides suggestions. For us it got to the point were we were hoping not to get any more bites from the sheer exhaustion of reeling in the previous fish. The lake is all catch and release and it is very clean with a small coffee shop and eating area, and a fishing shop. It is very true that if you are not thai you will be charged a higher rate but how bad do you want to catch something that big and be able to take photos so you can brag to friends.

We would definitely go again and would recommend this to anyone into fishing, kids would love it but again bring the muscles.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank nitemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bungsamran Fishing Park also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Bungsamran Fishing Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing