We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT an airport hotel, as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel
Ranked #198 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT an airport hotel, as advertised”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on a search through Agoda. It stated that it was an airport hotel, near BKK airport, and even the hotel's website stated that it was "easy access" to the airport. Since we are semi new to Bangkok, and using this hotel as a quick night's sleep before we return to the airport early in the morning, we didn't realize how much INSANE TRAFFIC there would be from the airport to the hotel. It is NOT convenient if you are arriving near rush hours, which in turn does not make the a convient hotel for the airport. A 10k taxi ride took 1 1/2 hours in stop and go traffic. When we expressed our frustration to the hotel's assistant manager, she was not very helpful and claimed that the hotel is not an airport hotel. However, she started to change her tune when we showed her thir website, where it states that it is an airport hotel. In the end, they did give a small discount for dinner (since we couldn't leave with all of the traffic). Final word: do not stay here if you need to travel to or from the airport during rush hour. (Our taxi driver said that it would have been faster to go all the way into Bangkok than stay at this place.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    133
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
95
41
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We landed in bangkok close to midnight and were flying out to phuket the next morning. Hotel location was convenient. Staff were courteous and check in was a breeze. Family holiday so we had interconnecting rooms. Rooms were spacious with a lounger n lcd tv, bathrooms were quite nice equipped with hairdryer, shampoo, toothbrushes,etc. We ordered pizza n sandwiches from room service - everything was yummy. Breakfast was a nice spread with your pastries,cheeses,noodles,omelettes etc.
I would recommend staying at this hotel as a quick stopover or even a short hols.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zara-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Last week when I planning my logistics for my business trip to Bangkok, I was targeting the top hotel brand names to book. But they were all located in the main Bangkok city which was really far from my place of work in the industrial area of Bangkla. Friends advised me to stay on Bangkok's outskirts to avoid city traffic. Then I came across this hotel on the internet and took a chance by advance booking it, looking at the nearly 25 KM travel into the city that I was going to avoid. Moreover, this hotel is only 20 minutes drive from the Suvarnabhumi airport, so I was not going to russh through the traffic after check-out to catch my flight. I was unsure about what to expect on arrival, walking into an unknown hotel. But right from the airport where I was picked up by the hotel staff, to the day I checked out after staying for 4 days, everything was very nice and pleasant. I realized that this hotel was not only good, it was quite popular amongst the Chinese and other ASAEAN tourists. That's because every morning when I came down to the lobby, I saw large gatherings of tourists flocking the lobby, waiting to be ushered to their sight-seeing buses. My Deluxe room was spacious, clean and had all amenities that a business traveler would need. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok and wanting to stay near Suvarnabhumi airport and still within 30 minutes from Bangkok city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel is a nice new hotel with spacious rooms and good amenities, however its a good 15 minute walk to the airport link which is the nearest train station. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Suvarnabhumi airport making it convenient to frequent travellers. Breakfast spread is average but once you stay past 5 days it gets boring. Buffett dinners are average only and I would rather have dinner outside of the hotel. Internet connection was very good and especially liked that they had a radio with a iPod/iphone dock which allowed me to play my music and podcasts. There were some days where there were a lot of tourists making teh lobby rather crowded.

Room Tip: Choose a non smoking floor as the smoking floors are quite smelly and smoky
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Good Hotel / Room for overnight stay - close to the Airport, less than 20 min drive, free Bus shuttle on the hour - pls advise reception in advance. verry good value as the rooms are verry good in any way, as you would expected. I missed an outdoor restaurant, all is within the Hotel & aircon of course. Apart from that a good Hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe if you like space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterOzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clausthal-Zellerfeld, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This was the fourth time I stayed at the Grand Fourwings already. This time it was with the family during a stopover between flying in and out from Bangkok Suvarnabhumi airport. Since I have been there before I knew what to expect. In the area around the hotel there is nothing really worth to visit but that was not why we came. It might be also difficult to get a taxi there especially in the evening.

Check-in around 21:00 was quick and efficient, the room big and clean (I like the wooden floor). We spend some time at the bar , which I usually experienced quite empty but not that evening. Enjoyed some drinks since they offered 2 for 1. The breakfast was fresh and the variety completely satisfying. Since we had breakfast quite late, the breakfast area was not so crowded as usual. Enjoyed the great and clean pool on the 10th floor for some time afterwards. Amazingly no other guest was there.

Good points: relative proximity to the airport, big nice and clean rooms, breakfast has a good choice and was fresh, the pool is absolutely worth a visit (but be aware of it's limited opening hours), complematary internet and airport shuttle (20min). Beside that it should be noted that the hotel is a tour group hotel. Hence it can be quite busy e.g. during breakfast etc. in some periods.

Overall we enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matraaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentor
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here recently because it was close to work and airport. However, it is an hour (in traffic) to get to the downtown area where the temples are.

Everything was very clean and I enjoyed that the floors were made of wood rather than the worn or dirty carpet you often get in hotels. My room was spacious and I had plenty of space to stretch out.

Since this is a 'convention' hotel, I am not sure why there is no phone on the desk. It was a bit awkward to join conference calls from the bed, but that is the only place I could use the phone. I did like that the phone had "speaker phone" functionality. You don't always get that.

The clock in the room was wrong, but I had no way to fix it to the right time.

I also heard complaints from co-workers that they could only log-on to the internet with one device at a time, so if you are a multi-tasker and need the laptop and iPhone going at once, you'll have to chose one of those devices and when done, switch over to the other.

The restaurant was good. They have different themed buffets several times a week or you can order off the menu. They have been featuring a chocolate fondue fountain which is very unique. I had the Australian beef tenderloin one night (from the menu) and it was perfectly done and delicious (beef in this part of the world is not often an option, let alone done right!). I also had fish and chips one evening, but it was cut up in thin slices. Not what I expected, but it was actually very good.

The breakfast buffet will have something for every ethnicity. I was hoping for more variety in fruit offered, but they did have the basic watermelon, pineapple, papaya. The orange juice did not taste like fresh squeezed. More like orange "drink."

There are artificial flowers in the lobby and I thought that they could have some fresh orchids featured since even the airport has them everywhere and they are real.

There is no spa on premesis, but they will direct you to one that is only "so-so" in the building behind (and easy walk through the back door and across the parking lot).

Overall, it was good for a business stay, but if you want to have more options, you should stay elsewhere. Adequate for getting in, doing your work, and then moving on.

Room Tip: I had a corner room which gave me two views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk25900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#49 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Meroz Hotel
#271 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Chatuchak
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
AETAS bangkok
#68 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel

Property: The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel
Address: 333 Srinakarin Road | Hua Mak, Bangkok 10240, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#128 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#157 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Srinakarin Road with 25 minutes from Suvarnabhumi International Airport, an expressway and Airport Rail Link. The excellent linkage to new shopping center, business district. The exciting experience starts from an elegant lobby decorating with marble adding by a touch of modern interior sculptures. The 465 luxurious guest rooms are exquisite designed with an elegant and function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Fourwings Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Fourwings Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing