We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Ranked #451 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I was given 2 nights free to stay in this hotel for a package deal with a Singapore travel agent. As the 2 nights are free, I was unable to review if it is value for money. I would only advise travelers that if you plan to stay in this hotel, expect the most basic. The first time I encountered hotel floor is not carpeted. It maybe near Makkasan Airport Rail Link Station but is still about 10 - 15mins walk and the walkway is not even. However, the staff is friendly and helpful. You can try to request anything and they will try to help as much as they can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyLittleCraving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Was 'bluffed' into this hotel (travel agent - travelstar from Singapore).

Stepped in and it was horrible; expect NOTHING but the basics. There aren't any cupboards; the safe is just out in the open, and we watched snow on TV for the four days we were in Bangkok.

And oh - if you deign to ask for directions from the staff, pray you don't get the manager (proprietor?) of the hotel. We asked for help to

1. Get to Platinum
2. Get to the nearest train station

Two questions. And this lady was REALLY impatient, and actually snapped:

"Any more questions?"

No.And no, I won't ever stay at your place again.

P.S. The hotel breakfast is consumed in the adjoining hmmm.... cafe? So basically there isn't F&B in this place.

P.S.2 There isn't WiFi - but there are computers in the main lobby.

PS.3 Don't bother to ask for extra pillows. We did. And only got them on the third day as apparently they didn't have extra.

P.S. 4 Bring toiletries.

The only plus point? It's near a train station. But then again... most hotels are. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ubercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a typical budget hotel. Location wise its near Petchaburi MRT but the walkway is not even and you have to share with the motorcycle taxi.

Surprising there is a lack of street food in this area so I'm not sure the location is suited to have a budget hotel. There is only one food outlet and its on the way to the MRT.

The biggest let down is the wifi, connection is sporadic at best, almost non-existence. The management should work hard on this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRISTIAN_LEE32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

One thing i like is the friendliness of staff. They can answer my questions and granted our request for early breakfast. Food at chookdee is nice. Accessible to MRT but far from shopping mall. Massage is expensive. Better go to pratunam. But overall i like our stay there. I like the lobby as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannamaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here becuase of Makkasan Air Rail Station that are in the area. But it was hard to walk from Makkasan Air Rail Station to the hotel. The hotel was clean and and the room size were OK. The WiFi worked sometimes and sometimes not. It is a noisy street outside.

On the way back to Makkasan Air Rail Station took we a taxi.

If your purpose of the stay is to find a hotel close to Makkasan Air Rail Station, I would recommend to take a better hotel a bit away and take a taxi to the station.

Room Tip: Room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel location is not too bad with mrt 5 mins away and 7eleven at its doorstep. Firstly, check in was fast and smooth. However after putting our luggage and getting some stuff from 7eleven, one of the room doors was not assessable. After going up to my floor (highest) to the reception for a few times, finally they agreed to ask someone to come check it out instead of blaming on the card. The doorway is stuffy and we had to wait for at least 15mins.They found out that the battery of the door lock was dead so they had to move us to another room. Thankfully we didn't unpack yet. They moved us to the end room which is very spacious with a brighter toilet as it has a window (recommended room). On the third night, the air nod on the new room started leaking. Again, they asked us to change room. 3rd room, and we had to pack everything including stuff we shopped. A very unfortunate experience, however, the hotel is clean,amnesties are sufficient, and safe provided in room so that no worries on personal stuff during housekeeping.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank hotelboss1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just located along the busy road and very noisy at night...the wifi connection did not work even ask reception for help....but they are nice to help............breakfast in restaurants is not bad....close to train to airport and quiet convenient to go to town centre

Room Tip: do not choose the road facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingkong333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan
#226 of 887 in Bangkok
504 reviews
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#234 of 887 in Bangkok
164 reviews
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#462 of 887 in Bangkok
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#80 of 887 in Bangkok
939 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit Bangkok
#129 of 887 in Bangkok
760 reviews
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#339 of 887 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok

Address: 1643 / 5 New Phetchaburi Road | Makkasan, Ratchathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Hotel Link Makkasan)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £20 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OVERVIEW Just a stretch away from Asoke area, D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok comprises 78 rooms with contemporary designs featuring a range of modern amenities to offer comfort and conveniencesfor both business and leisure travellers. Located within 5-minute walk to Airport Rail Link station and Phetchaburi MRT station, the hotel connects you quickly to theSuvarnabhumi Airport anddowntown Bangkok. THE ROOMS The 78 spacious guestrooms come complete with a vibrant and contemporary decoralongside tasteful furnishing to create a touch ofliveliness. The rooms are fully equipped with all essentialin-room amenities to provide the most enjoyable and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing