We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Ranked #388 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good !”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Hôtel sympathique , classe , tout près de MRT petchaburi !
On peut aussi venir de l'aéroport directement donc cool !


Friendly hotel, class, close to MRT petchaburi!
You can also come directly from the airport so cool!
Voir sur asiaroom for book !

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    165
    132
    35
    19
See reviews for
53
89
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Yes, kindly update Hotel name from FX Hotel Makkasan to Hotel Link Makkasan.

From the airport, you can take the ARL directly to Makkasan station and it is about a 7 minutes walk to hotel. From MRT Petchaburi station, it is about a 5 minute walk (Exit 3)

Quite residential area with two condominiums nearby. Not much eateries around. Thankfully there is a 7-Eleven downstairs directly. All meals are probably a train ride away with a single stop by MRT to either Rama 9 or Sukhumvit.

Room is very basic for this 7th storey hotel. Basic air conditioned, hot water (no tub), safe in room and television with minimal channels. Bed is ok. Floor is not carpeted. Wifi is available for a small fee. Very no frills, just for sleeping.

Location is ideal for being in a quiet area. Travelling is easy via train or even cab. Recommended for those who just want a cheap alternative away from Central Bangkok crowd.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWNYsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Please beware that the -- FX HAS CHANGED IT'S NAME -- to "HL Makkasan".

Neither they, nor the booking website I used, bothered to notify me of the name change. It may cause confusion when trying to find the hotel.

Essentially, this hotel is cheap, basic, but good value for money.

Public transport access:

Phetchaburi MRT Station... exit hotel, turn left and walk 3 minutes down the street. You cannot miss it. Cross the road (traffic lights make this easy), and enter the station. If arriving, leave the train and follow the signs to "EXIT 1" (there are three exits from the station, all clearly numbered). Once you exit the station, walk to the big cross road and cross to the right. Walk down the street for about 3 minutes (and you'll find the hotel right next to a 7-11 grocery store and fastfood Asian restaurant).

There is a sidewalk/pavement the entire way, and I had no problems with two suitcases.

Airport Train: Direct to/from Suvarnabumi. The station name is "Makkasan", and is connected with the previously mentioned Phetchaburi MRT Station via a sky-walkway. You do not need to cross any busy roads... there is an escalator and gently sloping walkways to/from Phetchaburi MRT Station. It's very civilised.

However... if you're travelling with a large group, I noticed that the airport train was quite full upon arriving (it has two stops before it arrives). Alone I had no problem squeezing in, and the train emptied quite quickly after the next few stops, but if travelling with a large party, this might be a consideration.

Room Tip: Higher rooms, or rooms at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisPDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at FX Makkasan for 4 days. The hotel staff were entertaining and welcoming. They could speak basic english so communication wasn't much of a hassel. Wifi was available at every floor and their lobby. The connection was strongest in their lobby so we spent most time updating social sites with our vacation photos in their lobby. The hotel is modern yet cozy. No room service present but they have a restaurant with good dimsum.

Our room was at the 4th floor. It was big for 2 with 2 single beds, floor to ceiling window, tv and a quaint bathroom. The room was cozy and quiet enough to sleep in, my only problem was their shower, the covered part was only 1/2 of the entire span of the shower so water leak out on to the rest of the bathroom. Nothing a few extra towels could fix. The place is also secure, no incident of theft.

The place was 5-10 minutes walk to the nearest metro. Ideal for commuting.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed in FX Hotel Makkasan for 3 nights in Dec 2013. My friend and I checked in at about 1pm and were greeted by two male staff who appeared unhappy and cold. Over the next few days, we met with a couple of staff who could not really answer our queries in English. But Bangkok is an easy place to navigate, so with a map in hand we figured out a number of things on our own.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from Petchaburi Station. If you are hoping to spend a lot of time at the Pratunam area to shop, this hotel is not the place to stay as you'd have to switch train lines and it becomes quite a journey. However, if you don't mind and would like some peace and quiet at the end of the day, this is a good place. Petchaburi Station is one station away to Asok station, where there are some malls.

Please note that if you are flying in to DMK airport, there is no Airport Link Rail to the hotel vicinity. The people at the airport will persuade you to take an airport taxi. We found out at the end of the trip that the journey to the hotel was twice the price we paid for meter-taxi.

The amenities of the hotel was sufficient for us and it is clean. The rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable. There is a 7-11 just next door where you can pick up some decent sandwiches if you don't wish to eat breakfast at the hotel cafe.

Room Tip: The pillow was too soft for me, so I was a little achy each morning. I didn't check if I could g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Since this is a budget hotel I didn't expect much on the facilities and amenities. I was told that the standard room was full during check-in, so they upgraded me to the superior room which was commendable.
Clean room and polite receptionist. Boring set breakfast every day. If you are a budget traveler, that's your choice of hotel, because that's near the airport express (walking distance). However, there are no restaurants, no bars, no malls, no nothing nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyc_stepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here twice on same holiday first time in Normal room then second time in Superior, worth paying more for superior as difference was great!

Normal room was quite noisy but clean and spacious, superior room was at back of hotel, no noise and very big. Friendly staff at check in, 2nd time they reconised me and welcomed me back even though I just stayed for one night three weeks prior!

Would stay here again, close to station...

If you travel from the airport take the 'city line' as there are two stations in Makkasan and the hotel is closest to the city line stop, the express train stop is further away, the link between train and underground is very easy... hotel is slightly closer to underground stop.

Room Tip: Back of hotel and front rooms are noisy from traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhcd_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan
#228 of 862 in Bangkok
483 reviews
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#457 of 862 in Bangkok
149 reviews
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#314 of 862 in Bangkok
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
At Mind Executive Suites
#216 of 862 in Bangkok
466 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#89 of 862 in Bangkok
912 reviews
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#303 of 862 in Bangkok
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok

Property: D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Address: 1643 / 5 New Phetchaburi Road | Makkasan, Ratchathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Hotel Link Makkasan)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OVERVIEW Just a stretch away from Asoke area, D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok comprises 78 rooms with contemporary designs featuring a range of modern amenities to offer comfort and conveniencesfor both business and leisure travellers. Located within 5-minute walk to Airport Rail Link station and Phetchaburi MRT station, the hotel connects you quickly to theSuvarnabhumi Airport anddowntown Bangkok. THE ROOMS The 78 spacious guestrooms come complete with a vibrant and contemporary decoralongside tasteful furnishing to create a touch ofliveliness. The rooms are fully equipped with all essentialin-room amenities to provide the most enjoyable and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing