We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Value for money & convenient"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Ranked #377 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"Value for money & convenient"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

right next door is a 7-11, and 3mins walk to Train station where easily connects you to sukhumvit main areas.

room was good and clean, service was ok, we did had our breakfast behind the sitting area of the hotel where is less noisy as it's facing the main road.

overall value for money

Room Tip: get rooms not facing the main road as it can be very noisy from early traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VKLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    163
    128
    33
    18
See reviews for
49
86
103
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here this June 2014, for my first time in Asia. I booked 4 nights for 2 people using my airline points. This hotel seemed to be a good location as it was exactly half way between the airport BKK and the city center right next door to the train line. I booked a "Triple Superior" room or whatnot, which, as it says on American Airlines, has 1 double bed (for 2 people) and 2 single beds (for 2 more people), thus accommodating 4 people in total. I booked this room because we were trying to meet up with friends the next day or two and didn't know exact plans. Upon check in, I was initially given the wrong room twice, both times having only 1 king bed. After making the receptionist clear on what I thought I had paid for, they let me know that the room was only meant to have 1 double bed and 1 single bed. It was super confusing, and there was a bit of a language barrier, but they were super nice, called one of the managers on the phone, and agreed to put in an extra single bed in the morning if my friends did arrive. I was extremely pleased with the outcome, and the cleanliness of the room. There was also a safe in the room which was handy since we didn't know how protective we had to be during the military governing. All in all, safe and happy stay, just note the name change on google maps when giving directions to Tuk Tuk drivers etc.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with more than one small window if you like natural light, but if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Notice : The name have changed, it's 'Hotel Link' now. I went just to sleep at night, for 4 nights, it's a normal place, It's OK. The hotel entrance is nicer than rooms, but rooms are also normal, I chose a simple room, It was clean, secure, the only drawback is the windows condemned (to probably prevent any suicide) but there is an air conditioner (but it takes long time to acclimate). 2 small water bottles are given, and renewed every day after cleaning staff. Each room contains its bathroom and it is OK too, It's clean, you have a washbasin with soap and shampoo, WC, shower with water heater. Bed is Really Comfortable with clean sheets and pillows, but sometimes there is a little hole in these sheets. There is a flat TV, there is about a Channel per foreign language. There is a Little Fridge (no freezer), a Safe, a boiler, a close desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here to rest while waiting for flight rather than hang around the airport. Found it perfect for this as it is a bit out of the way, No shops,pubs or restaurants handy although you can get cheap tasty food next door via a joining door. there is also a &-eleven. No facilities in hotel but suited me. Would stay again for same reason, handy to airport shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
855 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I chose this hotel due to its location (within walking distance of the Airport Rail Link - an inexpensive and pleasant +/-25 minute ride from the airport). In addition, the hotel is located steps from the Phetchaburi MRT Metro line as well as the Asok water/canal taxi stop which took me into the center of Bangkok within 20 minutes. The staff is very professional and friendly - they even remembered me from my first visit 10 months prior. The rooms are smartly designed with modern bathrooms and comfortable beds. I would have expected to have paid at least 2-3 times what I did for a quality hotel such as this. There is a good dim sum restaurant and a 7-11 located downstairs which is nice for late night snacks. An overall great value.

Room Tip: Try to get a front facing room on an upper floor. These have great views overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel in bangkok, not like hotel,just hostel type, bad customer service, rude staff, very dirty, not stable wifi. Curtain cannot fully close. So every morning outside light go in and cant sleep. Too noisy. Car moving sound and sound of people walking from corridor can hear from the room. They cut off the wifi for our floor because only few rooms at our floor. Cant connect wifi from other floor also. Windows and bathroom are dirty. Room service put back the bed cover and towel, although we told them to change. No shopping mall near by.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan
#222 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#273 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#369 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hi Residence
#668 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#440 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sakura Sky Residence
Sakura Sky Residence
#350 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok

Property: D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok
Address: 1643 / 5 New Phetchaburi Road | Makkasan, Ratchathevi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Hotel Link Makkasan)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OVERVIEW Just a stretch away from Asoke area, D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok comprises 78 rooms with contemporary designs featuring a range of modern amenities to offer comfort and conveniencesfor both business and leisure travellers. Located within 5-minute walk to Airport Rail Link station and Phetchaburi MRT station, the hotel connects you quickly to theSuvarnabhumi Airport anddowntown Bangkok. THE ROOMS The 78 spacious guestrooms come complete with a vibrant and contemporary decoralongside tasteful furnishing to create a touch ofliveliness. The rooms are fully equipped with all essentialin-room amenities to provide the most enjoyable and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your D Varee Xpress Makkasan, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing