We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and cheap”
Review of Suk 11

Suk 11
Ranked #518 of 10,821 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Description: You've got it down as a hostel, which I think it was too. But it's also a great restaurant - lovely atmosphere, great food and drinks.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy and cheap”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Cheap and delicious. Great local food. Very cool atmosphere. Handy to Suk 11 Hostel. Cool little street.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuvvinScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    206
    86
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Universe1
Level Contributor
216 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, food & service average”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Happened to find this place on our first night in Bangkok and we were drawn in by its buzz and ambiance. Welcomed promptly and shown to a "table" towards the rear of the restaurant where you sit cross legged for your meal (great idea but a touch uncomfortable by the end of the meal). Service was "ok", friendly and wfficient until the food was served but then they seemed to "forget" about us. The food was average and to be honest a bit on the pricey side. But by western standards its still reasonable. Would we go back, yes. Would we rush back, no.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Universe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An old city vibe excellent som tam”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I'm going to this restaurant like on every holiday to BKK.
I must say its one of the few places worth to go back to, reserve a table in the back where you can lay down relaxed enjoying the favorite some tam
Good food, and service in thai style just laughable ;) go in relaxed and come out with an experience and smile. I want to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overpriced.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was shocked at the prices. 40baht for rice 120baht for a banana shake with no taste. If you want Thai food or any food do not come to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely tourist trap”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Suk 11 is located in a lovely traditional little wooden house in Sukhumvit soi 11, opposite the Ambassador hotel, next to a big 7 Eleven. It is very small, open- aired and always very busy, so it may take a while to get a table here. There are a lot of mosquitoes at night time in the rainy season. The atmosphere is what makes it special, clearly not the food.

They serve traditional Thai dishes, nice presentation but bland, insipid and small portions. Much too expensive for this kind of food.

So, a lovely place but a bit of a tourist trap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suk 11 also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Suk 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing