We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible. Rude Staff. Dont Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Suk 11

Suk 11
Ranked #476 of 10,703 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Description: You've got it down as a hostel, which I think it was too. But it's also a great restaurant - lovely atmosphere, great food and drinks.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
196 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Terrible. Rude Staff. Dont Bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I really cant rememebr ever being so upset at how a restaurant treated us. Tried to squeeze us onto a tiny table and then the waitress stood trying to stare us down when we we pointed out they were almost empty (it was 4pm....) They made us pay for food and drinks not consumed as we felt so uncomforatble we just wanted to leave. Went to chilli culture around the corner instead which was great - so many better places to eat in bangkok. AVOID

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cit-du-monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    204
    85
    25
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambience lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We found the Suk 11 by chance while wandering round Soi 11. We were really glad we did. It's hard to explain the layout as there's lot of secluded areas spread over a pond with wooden walkways between each area. The food was excellent as was the service, well presented and promptly served. There is a large inexpensive menu and we enjoyed everything we ordered. It's a little hard to find being located in an alley off Soi 11 but well worth it. The only draw back is with it being situated over a pond (or something like a pond) there is a lot of mozzy action, but repellent is provided so don't let it put you off. It's a bit like eating in the jungle in the heart of the city. Give it a go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic streetkitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

If in the neighbourhood of Sukhumvit, go to Sukhumvit 11, SUK 11 is the best place to eat good Thai food for an incredible price: we had lunch with 4 dishes, 2 water (beer after 4 oçlock) for $4.
It is a quiet place, not disturbed by trafic, and it is great to see how simple this kitchen is and yet prepares this delicious food! We always go there when in Bangkok, and it never disappoints us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engelina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We were staying nearby for just one night so searched trip advisor for best Thai food in the vicinity and we were not disappointed! It was hard to find, the GPS had us searching on the other side if Sukhumvit but once we realised this we found it, and were so pleased we did, as we had nearly given up. The seating area on the street would make you think you were in a much quieter city, it was excellent value for money, a little more pricey than some Thai food we had eaten but we assumed this was as we were in the city. The Pandang curry and Pad Thai were great as well as the soft shelled crab. A great find if you want tasty authentic Thai food, so don't give up if you can't find it at first!

Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic genuine Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Whilst there have been mixed reviews in the past, we found this restaurant to offer amazing food from a huge menu at inexpensive prices. It is totally unpretentious and unsophisticated being located on the side of a road with some tables outside. There is so much to choose from here that I find it impossible to believe anyone could be disappointed. This is real Thai food at its best.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suk 11 also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Suk 11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing