We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude hotel staff...hotel far from malls” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #268 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rude hotel staff...hotel far from malls”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

My family and a friend booked 2 rooms in BANGKOK CITY HOTEL this October 9 to 11.The hotel was clean with free wi-fi.However, the receptionist and other staff who cant speak english were very rude and discourteous.Our flight arrived late at night and we didnt have Thai baht, so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant.When the bill (461 baht) was handed to me I told the waitress to charged the bill in our room under my name.She couldnt understand what I was telling her, we both immediately went to the hotel receptionist and I explained to her that I dont have thai baht and to just charged it through my credit card.The receptionist shouted and said"
NO, PAY NOW..PAY NOW"...I told her if she wants thai baht then I will pay tomorrow after exchanging our US dollars.
Another incident happened ... when I used the wifi the following day.I asked the staff if I can use the remaining 15 minutes left since I did not consume the whole 30 minutes..she arrogantly replied.."CANNOT USE!"and she turned her back.With 2 staff sitting on the front desk I told them , I wanted to speak with the manager and I want to complain.Upon hearing this, the rude girl told me , She will give another 30 minutes free wi-fi
This hotel is actually far from the main shopping center which is in the PRATUNAM area.We have to walk 30 minutes from Bangkok City Hotel to Platinum Mall and Pantip Plaza.Going to MBK and Siam Paragon is much farther from this hotel,you need to take a taxi.
We decided to book into another hotel near Pratunam area after what we have experienced
with the hotel staff.
I have travelled to different countries and booked in different hotels, but have never seen and experienced such mean and rude behavior of hotel staff.When we checked out , I again asked for the hotel manager, the receptionist said ,"NO MANAGER today".

Is THAILAND what they call the "LAND OF SMILES"????

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tina_y2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    499
    278
    50
    29
See reviews for
229
265
106
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cavite City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

the hotel is closed to shopping mall just a walking distance,,,
staff are really nice and breakfast are so yummy..
wifi is fast..
such a nice place to stay for a cheap rate...
from ratchatewi station just 3-5mins walk..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desh2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in Sept. Its worth! I spent Bhat 890 per night, the rooms are good, service is good, staff is caring. Some weak points are there are only few channels while watching TV and maximum are in Thai. For vegetarians, one can only have Tea, coffee bread and butter during break fast.
The rest is good, its near to shopping centers etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narydeindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Price: THB 990 per room per night

** Please do not confuse this hotel with Bangkok City Inn or Bangkok City Suite, this 2 hotel is actually totally different hotel. **

Location: Petchaburi Road (5-10 min walk to the Ratchathewi BTS)
- This hotel's location is very good, 5-10 min walk from the hotel to the nearest BTS Station Ratchathewi (1 stop to Siam Station, 2 stops to National Stadium Station).
- From Airport take the Airport Express Link (THB 90 per way) or Airport Train (THB 40) to Phayatai Station. Then take the BTS down to Ratchathewi Station (1 stop only)
- There is a 7-11 store beside of the hotel, and there is a night market at opposite road with a lot of local food.
- There is few Thai massage centre beside of the hotel.

WIFI: Yes, free. Please get the free WIFI password from the hotel reception upon you check in to the hotel. If you forgot to bring the computer or smart phone, there is few computers with internet service at the lobby, the most important is: FREE OF CHARGE.

Room: The room is so clean, the bed is so comfortable. THB 990 per room per night is more than worth it.

Breakfast: Normal breakfast, so so only.

The conclusion: Decided to stay this hotel again when I travel to Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank henrytanck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stay there for total 4 nights. Front desk reception was not friendly. I am staying on the high floor and shower water was too small, take me ages to take a shower. Room is clean and new, very basic room. Breakfast varity not much, and it's really crowded during breakfast time. Location wise ia about 10 mins walk to BTS and 20 mins walk to pratunam. Outside the hotels, you can find food, 7 eleven and massage. Overall, with that kind of prices, i would say it's worth it to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, Ca
Level Contributor
320 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a new hotel which has been open less than a year. It calls itself a "chic budget hotel" and lives up to its name. This hotel is owned by the same company that owns 2 other hotels in Bangkok, including the excellent Bangkok City Suites Hotel where I have also stayed. This new property is much larger and in a slightly better location that is closer to the Skytrain station and the shopping further down Petchburi Road.

The hotel is very stylish. The rooms are compact but done very nicely. Nice materials used in the rooms such as stone and brick. Good sized bathrooms including an interesting tub with a shower over it but no curtain or anything. You have to be careful that you do not get water all over the floor but luckily there is a drain in the floor.

Hotel leaves 2 bottles of water every day. Nice little refigerator in the room along with a pot to make hot water. Room also has flat panel tv.

Breakfast buffet also comes with room. Buffet is almost the same as the other hotel, Bangkok City Suites. Make sure to try the banana muffins. Sometimes it can be hard getting a seat for breakfast. That is one of the problems with this new hotel, it can be crowded, booked by tours groups.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a very good budget hotel. The price of 990 THB for 2 people is very reasonable. Hotel offers free wifi and good selection of breakfast or even you do not have your own laptop, you can use the Internet with their computer for free.

Location is full of traffic but can access to BTS (sky train) in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TT_andaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Samran Place Hotel
Samran Place Hotel
#387 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#592 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#683 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#291 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#335 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#126 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing