We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #259 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed at the Bangkok City Hotel at the last minute as I decided to fly instead of taking an overnight train to Bangkok. Good choice - staff were very friendly, rooms were comfy and clean, and a great value for your money.

Location may not be the best, but as there is just a short walk to Skytrain station/BTS it was generally worth it. Recommended.

Room Tip: The higher your room the better. Really good views of downtown Bangkok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Low rates for a classy hotel. The room decor was like 4 star. Good breakfas as it was included in the tariff

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I checked in on Tuesday 22nd November after spending a night at the Wattana Mansion which is actually managed by the same people that owns The Bangkok City Suite and The Bangkok City Hotel. I left because I need to be in the central area of Inner Bangkok and the Bangkok City Hotel suits my preferences very well. Wattana was allright but it was not near to any Halal food or restaurant. By staying at the Bangkok City, I am just a few minutes walk to Petchbhuri Soi 7 and the Darul Aman Mosque. One can also walk a few minutes to the Bang Krue Muslim community where the Darul Falah Masjid is located. I was at first a bit annoyed that the receptionist stated to me that there is no smoking room at that moment but I was offered a room on the 17th floor with double bed which I do not mind paying as the hotel was actually filled with locals from Bangkok and other provinces either from the flood areas or on a holiday. Check in was easy, I need not bother to ask further assistance but the 2 receptionists who attended to my reservation were both very polite and prompt without too much strain on their work. I was fortunately not met by the 2 very rude receptionists who purposely put me in a non-smoking floor during my last trip in September.. do watch out for these two, complaints have been written in the quest's book if you care to look up in the lobby.As always, I can use the metered cab (just tell them in simple Thai where to go..the taxis are Toyotas and very comfy), the skytrain /underground or MRT plus the air-conditioned buses to places like Tesco Lotus Ram 1, MBK, Siam area, Sukhumvit until Bearing, Jatujak market and also Ramkamhaeng as this hotel is very centrally located. If you take the buses from Ramkamhaeng to Bangkok Noi like number 60 or Metrobus no 10 and 4, the buses will stop just infront of the hotel near the 7-11 store. There are 3 7-11 nearby, many ATMs.The route to and from the hotel is always busy with people and traffic but once I am up on the 17th or 18th floor, you are actually up there and able to look all around you till the Chao Phraya area. Breakfast is limited for me as a Muslim to bread or cereal but the unlimited coffee and fruit juice and the comfortable new eating area just near the lobby always make me return back again to this place. The bellboys are wonderful, forever smiling and opening the door for you. The reception are all right except for the two I had mentioned earlier but just ask for Kalanya, she is just wonderful. The cleaners are alway there, when I come back after a day of buying my stuffs, the towels will be changed and the place is again neat and tidy. It is always been my place to stay here in Bangkok, I have tried other hotels in Bangkok before but this place is always my first thought when I plan to stay in Bangkok. Do reserve your room or rooms early, it is already 1 year since the soft launch last year but it can get fully booked most of the times. Highly recommended... and do check out the swimming pool on the 5th floor, at times, you have the pool all to yourself.. wonderful...

Room Tip: There are food stalls and restaurants within walking distance, an A & W outlet opens from mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank norhisham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Everything about this hotel is above satisfactory.
Room is clean, and view from the room I stayed in excellent, choose high floor (at least 13 floor up, you'd get better view).
Luxurious bathtub! I will come back just for your bathtub. The water pressure is kind of low, if you prefer a quick shower, you will hate this bathroom for sure.

Breakfast with wide-selection, not too bad.

Swimming pool, we never use, but seems safe enough for kids.

Staffs need to be more friendly though. It doesn't bother us much, but we thought we just mention this so you can improve on this aspect. :)

Room Tip: Get higher floor for good view. 13 floor up would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcoTravelLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a new property that is a sister hotel to the Bangkok City Suite located further down Petchburi Road. I led a group of 31 during July and used 17 rooms for a total of 11 nights. As is the case with most new hotels, there are start-up issues that were in need of resolution. The rooms are clean, neat and highly functional. All rooms have TV with a broad range of different programming. Every room has a safe and a fridge. Two bottles of water are provided freee each day. I found the front desk staff very accomodating and, although they speak limited English, they try hard to assist. The breakfast is limited and, during the busy times in the morning, difficult to find seating. The hotel has become very popular with groups resulting in a fair number of school age children on the elevators and in the restaurant.
The location is excellent and within a short (10 minute) walk to the skytrain or a 20 minuted walk to major shopping areas. There is a seven/eleven next door to the hotel and a couple of banks around the corner where money can be exchanged. There is a pool but it is fairly dark and unheated. However, when it's really hot outside, a cool pool is a welcome opportunity.

Given our experiences with the Bangkok City Hotel, we will definately return with another group next summer. We enjoy the location, room size, hotel staff and food. With some minor changes, this will become the best deal in the City.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are aware of what floors any school groups are staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomUnitedStates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The hotel is very handy to shopping,the staf are very polite & the whole hotel is nice & clean .Found the travel desk at the hotel very good & informative with good tours avaiable.The only thing was the swimming pool was very cold maybe needs solar hot water to run through the pool otherwise overall the hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Hotel, has only one advantage. It's location and location. You, take tube on the blue line and take the last station Phaya Thai. The ticket is 45bhatt. It's a walking distance from the station or just under 30 Bhatt, take a Tuk Tuk. The restaurant is neat but the food is average. The wifi has often problems. MBK is just walking distance of 5 mins, on the way walking to MBK, lots of street food, awesome food and very light on the pocket. Protunam market and platinum mall ate just 5 minutes drive on tuk tuk and charge 30_50 Bhatt.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas_sawhney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#450 of 891 in Bangkok
229 reviews
Siam
Siam Swana Hotel
Siam Swana Hotel
#316 of 891 in Bangkok
313 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#749 of 891 in Bangkok
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de Bangkok
#257 of 891 in Bangkok
491 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#351 of 891 in Bangkok
1,431 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#298 of 891 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £31 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing