We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #265 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I must say this was a good find! Cheap, great location and the rooms are clean (bathroom was super clean and modern!) Lots of street food vendors by the road, 3minutes away from 7-11, and about 10 to 15 mins walk to the main city. For tours, I booked via the hotel's agent, Chen Tours. It was worth it and I will definately come back again.

Room Tip: Book your tours with the hotel. Very reliable and you will get the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnyaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and i enjoyed my stay. Hotel is relatively new, clean and spacious rooms, not very friendly or helpful staff. Good location near shopping malls in Siam Square and near sky train station. Breakfast is good too many choices.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeshmeshCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of November. The hotel is very modern and new, well kept together building. When booking, I booked a single room with a request for a high floor. When checking in the reception staff were professional but not overly friendly, however, my bags were taken up to my room by a member of staff, not complaining! My room was on the 14th fllor out of 20, and I had a pleasent surprise of a double bed when I entered! The room was basic, however, all very clean, everything worked and the bathroom offered a shower and a huge bath-tub! Flat screen tv, small fridge, phone, big wardrobe, but not enough hangers and no chest of drawers.The location of the hotel was good. I walked from the hotel to the MBK shopping center (the closest to the hotel) it took 10/15 minutes. Though if you wanted to go any further probably worth getting a tuk tuk, taxi or bike. Only because the shopping is so big, you wouldnt want to waste your energy before you get there! The hotel is also very near the starting point of the expressway, which runs straight through to the airport. The only thing that really let the hotel down was breakfast. The breakfast was layed up where reception is, not very private or warming. There is not enough seating for everybody at breakfast and can't see it being any quieter the early or later you go down. Good choice of food though. Overall a good hotel to choose if you just want somewhere to stay in Bangkok and not spend much time there. Very good rooms, good location and excellent value!

Room Tip: If you need to keep to a time deadline choose a room on a lower floor, waiting for the lift took som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel easily found coz at main road just next to samran place hotel and same side as platinum mall. 7-11 convenience store is 2min walk left of hotel. Free wifi n have 2 bottles of drinks.
Catch a non meter cab at Thb 50 to platinum mall. from platinum mall, walk 10 mins behind to central world n big C supermarket.
Have breakfast after 9 am easier to get seat. Extra bed is foldeable type with mattress. Ours is half bath tub type not suitable for senior but for us ok.
Toilet door of wood laminate may not last long.
Taxi to airport Thb 220 include toll for non peak hours.

Cons
Found 2 small crocoaches in the room, mosquitoes at hotel lobby could be due to rainy season. Can hear neighbour slam door. Cant do last minute shopping as not near shops except 7-11.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenlkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I was not able to check in on the date that I reserved and sent them an email in the morning about it and that i wanted to move my reservation for the next day. They replied quickly and confirmed my reservation.

The hotel was nice and new. The ac was good. Bathroom and tub was superb. I think this was the only we hotel i stayed on the duration of my trip which i had the strongest water pressure.

The wifi was impossible to be connected to as well as connecting to their front desk from my room phone.

I wanted to stay another night but unfortunately, the hotel was fully booked and they offered a free transfer to their sister hotel; Bangkok City Suites.

The breakfast was just okay.
Lots of Koreans stay in this hotel.
Close to the BTS and Pratunam.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ib_yang14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel is located near Ratchathewi BTS station, means that by 15 minutes walk, you can explore Bangkok city by Skytrain. It's a clean & business hotel style.

Good point:
1. near BTS, means that you have other option to go to & from hotel other than taxi; because most taxi in Bangkok is scam (asking for detour to shops, running meter, but very fast)
2. near 7 eleven, means that you can pick up water supplier & any other small items anytime
3. hotel buffet selection is interesting, not so few.
4. shampoo, shower gel, etc is provided by hotel, but no coffee+tea

Bad point:
1. Hotel breakfast is always full, sometimes don't have any utentil and food refill is a bit late
2. AC is not cold for hotel standard
3. It's not sound proof hotel, means that you can hear everyone talking at hotel alley
3. evening dining option is limited - do not eat at Soi 10, because their food price is a rip off

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitr0888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here last November 25th since a friend recommended this hotel to us. Having been to Thailand 3x, it was a great disappointment that this hotel sucks! There are other places in Thailand far better than this hotel.

The only good about this hotel is that t is walking distance to the Phaya Thai station where the line serves as an airport rail link to Suvarnabhumi Airport. This will definitely save you money rather than take a taxi to the airport. it is also close to the Pratunam center where you can do your shopping at a cheap price.

Apart from the proximity to BTS and Pratunam center, I don't see anything good about this hotel at all. First, they advertised good wifi which is not the case. You can't even use it in the room or in the lobby. Second, the bed is hard. Third, the airconditioning in the room (even if you adjust it in the lowest) is not that cold at all. Fourth, it is not close to the places of interest such as the Grand Palace and temples.Lastly, the receptionists were very rude and speaks poor English. Either they were not trained to give customers with politeness and respect or it's just the hotel management's poor customer service.

Based from experience, people in Bangkok are very nice, friendly and polite. Here in this hotel, you will find the extreme. It was the first time we experienced such rudeness in Bangkok and in this hotel. I will NEVER EVER recommend this hotel at all to anyone. This hotel does not care about its customers. They are more concerned about generating income, nothing more nothing less... Such a great disappointment.

My Thailand trip (Ayuthaya, Chiang Mai, Sleeper Trains, Bangkok) could have been perfect if not for the unpleasant hotel experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#426 of 887 in Bangkok
225 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#742 of 887 in Bangkok
409 reviews
Siam
Siam Swana Hotel
Siam Swana Hotel
#328 of 887 in Bangkok
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de Bangkok
#259 of 887 in Bangkok
487 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#333 of 887 in Bangkok
1,427 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#299 of 887 in Bangkok
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £31 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing