We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #274 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Bangkok City Hotel. It is complete: location is very good (there's a Sky Train Station 2 minutes walking) near the shopping area (Siam), there's a swimming pool, the breakfast is buffet style with local and a little bit of western food, it's clean and rooms are comfortable. It's a hotel with hundreds of rooms, so it gets crowded and noisy in the breakfast area in the morning. Due to this "volume", don't expect a personalized service. Staff is not so friendly, but they are not rude either. Overall, it's a good place to stay in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    503
    281
    50
    32
See reviews for
234
269
107
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Considering the price, location......no need to ask too much.
the shower never been hot enough to comfortable temperature, the place for breakfast is always very crowded and the food........um........wake up earlier or eat outside. there's a small market next to the hotel, lots street food and easy to enjoy.
in the evening, most of the restaurants and booths on Petchaburi Road ( follow local people!)
Service is poor, you have to ask for, at least, 10th or higher floor to keep away the noise from Petchaburi Road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 台北貓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I ´ve been at this hotel for 2nd time...and it was horrible and disgusting. Mold in the bathroom, bad workin ´ climatization and very noisy room! It was not possible to sleep!

Breakfast was not delicious and the food was cold if ever there was any!

Sorry I can ´ t recommend this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaPedroDeLaVedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel entrance is undergoing renovation so is kind of messy. Breakfast going on along the lobby. Messy as well.

Receptions speak English but somehow doesn't communicate among themself and keep get thing wrong.

While check in, they requested 600bth for extra bed and tell me that they will send to me in half and hour time. After 1 hour I called back to check. They say they will check but I received a call from another receptions speaking a little bit of Chinese telling me that I have to pay if I want the extra bed which I already paid. When I was about to go out, I remind the reception again to get the bed in before we are back. We don't want to come back tired and late yet still have to wait for our bed to be send. The reception simply answer me saying: I already tell the housekeeping.

Upon check out, when we pass them the key for deposit refund, the reception say, where is the key of another room. Hello? We only book for 1 room. When she realised her mistake, she don't even apologise and just say nothing, nothing already. Fill in the refund form.

Extremely poor to have to pay slightly premium price for such a bad service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank misaMisaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
222 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Arrived late in BKK, and was hoping to catch the very last airport link train to Phaya Thai station, but that didn't work out as I had hoped. Anyways, taxis are cheap, and the driver took me here very quickly and easily (directions were in Thai).

+

-Staffs are nice
-Large room, nice views
-Breakfast is good, but mostly Asian options
-Prices are very good.
-Easy connection to Ratchathewi station.

-
-Elevators are difficult to catch from a high floor
-Breakfast room is extremely busy unless you are early.
-Bathroom is a little odd (shower without any curtain/screen?)
-Neighborhood isn't that interesting.
-Wifi is annoying, as you have to login every time you move somewhere else in the building, and some passwords won't work with your devices.

Mostly good things to say about this hotel. Good value, nice staffs, no surprises here.

Room Tip: High is nice, but hard to catch an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a standard hotel on an extremely busy and noisy road. The hotel was very clean, the twin room was large and had a kettle but no tea or coffee which I thought was a bit strange! The staff were helpful at times but they did not go out of their way to assist us. We found it was easier to use the BTS Skytrain which was a 5 min walk from the hotel this was because the taxi and Tuk Tuk drivers outside the hotel were very rude and overpriced. If you are planning on using the swimming pool be prepared because it is freezing!! Not worth using! Overall I wouldn't stay again, I think it is worth spending slightly more money and staying in a better hotel in a busier area of Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed as a couple for two nights at the Bangkok City Hotel.
The room was ok clean enough though there was a strange smell.
I think we were in the most basic room as we booked the cheapest one through agoda so other rooms may be better.

The room itself was basic but had everything you needed the street outside was a little noisy at night and in the morning. The location is good there is a supermarket nearby and if your looking for the tourist nightlife its within staggering distance.

If your not looking to avoid it might be an idea to stay somewhere closer to old bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#377 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#539 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#706 of 852 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#123 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#335 of 852 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#159 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing