We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely repeat!”
Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #278 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Definitely repeat!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here at the end of April for 5 nights in a Standard Single Room. From the airport, I took public transport and got off at Ratchethewi. Look for exit #1, or #3. It’s a bit of a hike from the train station with luggage, but, sure enough, after a while, there it was, a nice, modern looking building. Check in was easy and the staff very polite and always helpful throughout my stay. Though the hallways are very dark, the place is very clean and the floors were gleaming.

My room on the 11th floor was also very clean, the décor very modern. The AC worked well, the Wi-Fi signal was strong (though it does time you out often) and the TV had plenty of English channels. There was also a large safe and a fridge. The bed was very comfortable, and the there was lots of hot water. One thing to note is that the bathroom didn’t have a shower, but more of a Jacuzzi type tub and a hand held hose. I thoroughly appreciated having a bath every evening, but some may not.

I didn’t go in the pool, but did see plenty of people using it. The elevator was a bit slow at times, but nothing you wouldn’t experience at any large hotel. Be sure to press both buttons to ensure all 3 elevators are put to use.

The breakfast seating area is a bit small considering the number of rooms, but turnover is pretty quick. I may have sat with random people, but I never couldn’t find a seat. There was a large selection, both Western and Asian dishes and all tasted very good.

At night, the neighborhood turns into a bustling area with many street restaurants popping up. All of the main malls are very close by and I walked to all of them. As a female on my own, I felt completely safe walking in this area, day or night. I was really happy here, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    504
    283
    50
    33
See reviews for
236
270
107
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Accessible location near Ratchatewi BTS line and helpful, friendly staff. Seemed like a well-run place. The room was very clean. Shower was a bit funny, room was a bit dark, and bed a bit hard, but compared to a lot of the other places we've stayed in Thailand, I'd say that overall the BCH is very good. Recommended as a clean mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

1. Location: 5-10mins walking distance to nearest BTS Station Ratchathewi. It's farther if you wanna walk to platinum mall/central world plaza/ siam paragon. Not a good choice if you can't walk long distance under a very hot weather.

2. Room: Very clean room, clean toilet. But the room is too dark, not enough of light. The air-cond is not cold, take very long time to cool down the room. I stayed different floor in 3 days, some of the room has very low water pressure on shower.

3. Hotel staff are okay. They arrange 3 rooms side by side for us a group of 7 person. You can leave your baggage at the hotel after you check out and waiting for a late flight.

4. Breakfast: this is the worst part of my stay in this hotel. The arrangement is bad. Seats not enough, food top up very slow, coffee machine not working, very less variety of food. The reception counter and the breakfast area are side by side create more messy and crowded environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BP_MOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Located close to the shopping areas & malls at walking distances. The staff were helpful & went out of the way in helping us communicating with our local driver in Thai language. Rooms were clean with large beds. We enjoyed relaxing at the pool which was well-mantained. The food we ordered was tasty & sumptuous. It was indeed great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeMothi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Like how many people say staying in a hotel is like your second get away home. I am a hotelier I expect alot from the hotel I'm staying at, but this place never fails to make me feel like home. Yes, there are some cons but you can close an eye on those.

Room is spacious, clean and hygienic and best of all opposite and beside the hotel are a whole row of street food! Staff is very friendly and will tell you where to go for good food even at 4AM in the morning.

Very value for money!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A nice hotel if you want to go shopping at Pantip Plaza, the Siam Square or one off the many shopping malls. Free Wi-Fi, but very slow and not possible to Skype from room. Terrible breakfast, but you get toast 30 meter away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrArCtiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

價格還算可以,離BTS很近(距離BTS大約走路5~10分鐘,看人),還有附近非常多可以覓食的熱炒和小吃攤飯(而且旁邊就是7-11),除了上述之外,好像也沒有什麼特別的優點了!!

飯店的早餐幾乎每天都一樣,我們總共住六天,吃到後來都不知道要吃什麼了,供餐的位子也不多,所以要早點起來吃,以免沒有食物或是沒有位置可以坐;可是基本上,對於這間飯店的早餐,我只能用超難吃來形容,而且沒有了,工作人員基本上也不太會補上,或是等非常久之後才有可能補上(這個久的時間,基本上是已經吃完準備離開的狀態)。

還有飯店的服務人員英文程度真的不怎麼好,問個問題,不是每個人都可以回答我們的,某些程度讓人感到困擾!!

飯店提供的沐浴用品也非常的不好使用,到後來我們是另外去買回來使用的~

整體而言,我覺得就是交通真的很方便,離機場快捷終站(Phaya Thai)只有一站,而且去水門只要走路大約15~20分鐘即可抵達The Platinum Fashion Mall,還有周圍又有很多的攤販和7-11;如果不是很在乎早餐和工作人員的素質的部份,其實還算普通的住宿經驗,基本上也算是值得了!!
不過如果就這個價格來說,的確是還可以找到更優質的飯店就是了~~~

There are some advantage for this hotel:
1.price just ok
2.very near by BTS (walking distance about 5~10min)
3.very easy to find traditional Thai food around, and 7-11 just near by.

The breakfast were almost same every day, you don't have much choice and not very delicious at all. The seat space and food were not enough for everybody, therefore, you have to get up earlier.

The hotel staff is not very good at English, and not everyone who can answer our question.

Overall, I think the traffic is really convenient and the price just OK for this hotel; if you are not really care the quality of the breakfast and the staff. In fact, I think I can find better hotel at this price anyway....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#389 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#546 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#716 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#118 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#327 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#157 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangkok City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing