We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bangkok City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bangkok City Hotel
Ranked #272 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location but...”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice location, near the bts and shopping malls..however, one staff member is quite annoying with her not so friendly way of answering our questions.she acted like this twice and we we're so irritated with the way she answers us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrm000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    502
    281
    50
    31
See reviews for
234
269
106
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I only stayed here for one day, and it so happen to be on the first day of the military coup where a curfew was imposed, stopping anyone from being outside from 10pm to 5am. This was quite shocking for me, but I was quite relieved that there were no major protests or riots anywhere nearby. It is a really nice hotel, the aircon was awesome and the rooms so very spacious. We took the triple bed room and it was amazing. It is huge and well-decorated. The only thing I would say to improve on would be the efficiency of the lifts. They are really slow even though there are 3 of them.
The area nearby only livens up during night time, but in the day there are a slew of massage places nearby who offer awesome massages. They all have a price of 200baht per hour for a full-body massage.
Platinum Mall is just straight down the road after turning right from the hotel. So it is really a convenient location.
The airport express train happens to be a 10 minute walk away and you would most likely get a seat all the way because it happens to be the terminal station.

Room Tip: Come down early for breakfast! and pick a room for the higher levels for a better view! Also get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atripwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Bangkok City Hotel is the best Value Hotel for me..
Positive:
-Big Room
-Close to BTS Ratcathewi 400m
-15 minute walk to Pratunam area (shopping)
-Great room facilities (bath ub, Hair dryer, Chiller, Sofa, Chairs, Big LCD TV)
-Close to 711, street food

Negative:
-Breakfast is ok, but not enough space for all guest.. I must waiting 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors (20th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We came for a one week stay and were satisfied. The location is good and very central. Easy to take taxi and is near from the BTS station. 1 station away from MBK shopping mall. The rooms are clean and nice furnished for that price. The breakfast was good for that hotel standard. The staff is friendly and helpful but need to improve spoken English.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here at the end of April for 5 nights in a Standard Single Room. From the airport, I took public transport and got off at Ratchethewi. Look for exit #1, or #3. It’s a bit of a hike from the train station with luggage, but, sure enough, after a while, there it was, a nice, modern looking building. Check in was easy and the staff very polite and always helpful throughout my stay. Though the hallways are very dark, the place is very clean and the floors were gleaming.

My room on the 11th floor was also very clean, the décor very modern. The AC worked well, the Wi-Fi signal was strong (though it does time you out often) and the TV had plenty of English channels. There was also a large safe and a fridge. The bed was very comfortable, and the there was lots of hot water. One thing to note is that the bathroom didn’t have a shower, but more of a Jacuzzi type tub and a hand held hose. I thoroughly appreciated having a bath every evening, but some may not.

I didn’t go in the pool, but did see plenty of people using it. The elevator was a bit slow at times, but nothing you wouldn’t experience at any large hotel. Be sure to press both buttons to ensure all 3 elevators are put to use.

The breakfast seating area is a bit small considering the number of rooms, but turnover is pretty quick. I may have sat with random people, but I never couldn’t find a seat. There was a large selection, both Western and Asian dishes and all tasted very good.

At night, the neighborhood turns into a bustling area with many street restaurants popping up. All of the main malls are very close by and I walked to all of them. As a female on my own, I felt completely safe walking in this area, day or night. I was really happy here, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NurseBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Accessible location near Ratchatewi BTS line and helpful, friendly staff. Seemed like a well-run place. The room was very clean. Shower was a bit funny, room was a bit dark, and bed a bit hard, but compared to a lot of the other places we've stayed in Thailand, I'd say that overall the BCH is very good. Recommended as a clean mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

1. Location: 5-10mins walking distance to nearest BTS Station Ratchathewi. It's farther if you wanna walk to platinum mall/central world plaza/ siam paragon. Not a good choice if you can't walk long distance under a very hot weather.

2. Room: Very clean room, clean toilet. But the room is too dark, not enough of light. The air-cond is not cold, take very long time to cool down the room. I stayed different floor in 3 days, some of the room has very low water pressure on shower.

3. Hotel staff are okay. They arrange 3 rooms side by side for us a group of 7 person. You can leave your baggage at the hotel after you check out and waiting for a late flight.

4. Breakfast: this is the worst part of my stay in this hotel. The arrangement is bad. Seats not enough, food top up very slow, coffee machine not working, very less variety of food. The reception counter and the breakfast area are side by side create more messy and crowded environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BP_MOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Samran Place Hotel
#367 of 852 in Bangkok
214 reviews
Bangkok City Suite
#563 of 852 in Bangkok
194 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#706 of 852 in Bangkok
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#124 of 852 in Bangkok
311 reviews
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#334 of 852 in Bangkok
1,351 reviews
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#301 of 852 in Bangkok
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok City Hotel

Property: Bangkok City Hotel
Address: 268 Soi Petchburi 10 - 12, Petchburi Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bangkok City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bangkok City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing