We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Throwback” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok Hualamphong Station

Bangkok Hualamphong Station
Ranked #69 of 524 things to do in Bangkok
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Throwback”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

A charming train station in the heart of Bangkok that retains the kitsch that train travel once held across the world. My wife and I took the train from Hualamphong to the Thai-Cambodian border at Aranyaprathet on January 20, 2014. Our travels through Hualamphong couldn't have been more easy, with no wait to buy a ticket, a convenience shop located in the station to buy snacks for the journey, and an easy to find train on the platform.

Built in 1916 in the Italian Neo-Renaissance style, the building is a masterpiece to look at. But from the attached photos, I'm sure you'll agree that the best part of the station is the easy to find kitsch, from the saluting statue outside the station to the great Mr. Bun food shop. Even if you are not traveling on the train, take a visit to the station and sample the Hot-Dog in a Waffle, a Thai culinary delight sold nowhere else in the world.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason_Klimowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    257
    174
    26
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Watch out for the fake staff!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My boyfriend and I recently came back from Thailand and noticed the signs at the stations warning us about people dressed in similar uniforms as the staff working at the station, they were also wearing name badges which made it look more realistic. Be careful as they will try to pursue you into taking their advice and going to the travel agencies upstairs and buying your tickets through them, who are double the normal price and the travel agencies are usually sold out of first class. So you would pay double the amount for 2nd class when you could have paid half for 1st...Always go where the locals go ;) Oh and our train was delayed for almost 90min ....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlize777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
703 reviews
462 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Simple to use”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We used this station to book our train to Chang Mia, unlike modern European station this one still remains a railway station. It has the shops to support the weary traveller, coffee, food, etc. and pleanty of seating for those waiting for the train. The departures are clearly displayed and finding the platform is straight forward. The staff are friendly and try to assist the traveller.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Convenient for Air Asia or upcountry travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

First, note that as you walk into Bangkok Hualamphong Station from the front, the counters to the right are where you make train reservations in advance. I think these counters are only open at certain times during the day while the other counters are for trains leaving that day (and they won't necessarily tell you that you need to come back earlier to book at the other counters). There is also an office by the counters to the right where they can give you basic info or schedules but can't book you tickets while info counters elsewhere may not be open latter in the evening.

I usually stay nearby as the area is convenient to the last BTS stop and Hualamphong Station - especially now that Air Asia flies to the old airport as I just hop onto the local commuter train by that airport and in less than an hour, I am at Hualamphong and can walk to my accoms.

In addition and during the day (but not late in the evening), you can get reasonably cheap food in the food court at Hualamphong Station. I remember when you could get Pad Thai or fried rice from one stand (where its cooked in a Wok & so its safe to eat) by one end of the food court for under B30 (Now I think its B40+). So I stop there late morning for food before doing any sightseeing etc.

However and when it comes to going to Chiang Mai (see my review under "Train from Bangkok to Chiang Mai" for how the FREEZING COLD train nearly gave me Pneumonia + all the obnoxious tourists!), flying might be a better option over the train, but that's probably going to be more expensive as you have to factor in the hotel night in your calculations + losing half a day dealing with getting to and from airports whereas a night train means no hotel room will be needed for the night. In my case, I took the bus back to Bangkok stopping for 2 nights in sukhothai, at least 2 more nights in Ayutthaya, then a local train into Hualamphong.

Otherwise and as normal with trains in developing countries, don't expect any trains to arrive on time. Luckily, the guy from my guesthouse in Chiang Mai picking me up had checked the train arrivals, online I guess, and was there waiting for me.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bangkok Hualamphong Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Must say it has a bit of a old feel to it, but it is a cheap form of travel around the place. it has food taxis and toilet, much the same as many railway stations around the place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Hualamphong Station also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Hualamphong Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing