We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of CityPoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
CityPoint Hotel
Ranked #86 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good value”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights before heading to Koh Samui. The Citypoint team arranged to pick us up from DMK airport and it all went smoothly. This trip was a 10 year anniversary holiday and they decorated the room to welcome us. The room was clean with all the mid cons. It's very close to transport, restaurants and places to go. Do not be put off by the location.. It's really in the centre of everything convenient! I recommend this hotel... Really good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary_isabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear gary_isabel,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Citypoint Hotel. It is a pleasure to read that our colleagues succeeded in creating a wonderful memories during your 10 year anniversary and I do hope that you will return for another celebration in the not too far distant future, so we may spoil you again.

I have shared your wonderful comments with our team, and they were inspired to hear your feedback. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel to other TripAdvisor readers.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon


Warm regards,

Ms. Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    482
    89
    10
    12
See reviews for
184
461
195
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The location is good, very close to the Asoke BTS.
However, the wall of the hotel is thin, and it seems that there is some construction work outside the hotel so it is a bit noisy in the morning. The internet is poor and can't connect to Booking.com and TripAdvisor. In the first night of our stay, the air-con was leaking a lot of water and the hotel can't change the room for us and did nothing for the situation at the first time (after some arguments, we only get 10% discount for our first night stay!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear cjwang,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you suffered as a result of the various issues you have mentioned. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better.

In regard to the first night I do apologize once again for unable to change you new room since the hotel was completely booked on that night and it was 03:00 am when the AC was leaking. After moving you to the new room next day, we did checked the AC and found that the temperature was set at 15°c which caused the water leaking. Thus, we offered you discount instead of your request for free stay the whole period since it was an unexpected situation.

Thank you once again for your feedback and for staying with us


Warm regards,

Ms. Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Room is not big, but it's super clean and very comfortable, everything looks very new.
Location is also good, close to a lot of restaurants, shopping malls, BTS and Skytrain.

The only problem is that the internet was veeery bad. We had to use the internet to send some e-mails and to search some things, but it was very slow.

However, it was just a small detail. We really enjoyed our staying there and totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luh_hobolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear luh_hobolt,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us.I was delighted that we made your Bangkok trip special and I do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.


Best regards,

Ms. Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung,Indonesia
Level Contributor
514 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family stayed in this CityPoint Hotel during our visit to Bangkok , on May 2013.The hotel is conviniently located in the center of Bangkok City ,just minutes away from Asoke BTS station.
Our room was nice , clean, and have the necessary amenities needed during our stay.The hotel is very close to Terminal 21 , where you can eat good food in a budget price, but can enjoy the air con of the shopping mall.There's a lot of food complex within walking distance from the hotel. street foods, cheap and delicious.Staffs were nice and helpful ,fast check in and out.This hotel is accessible with every method of transportation available in Bangkok ,such as BTS, tuk tuks ,taxis, bike taxis.But we suggest that you should use the BTS its convinient ,and you wont experience the traffic jam of Bangkok.If you use taxi or tuk tuks , just make sure that you ask and bargain for the price ,and dont let them bring you to places you dont want like fake gems stores , crappy tailors and etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Erwin K,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and thank you for sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor. We are very centrally located close to many famous places and all Bangkok transportation.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future

Thank you once again for your positive feedback


Warm regards,

Ms. Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Citypoint Hotel is at a very convenient location to explore bangkok.

Within 2 mins walk you will have the underground, sky train and an amazing shopping mall - terminal 21. I read some reviews that there are not many places for food outside the hotel which is completely untrue - there is a large block full of restaurants and fast food literally just 3 mins away and there are two floors of international cuisines in terminal 21 with cheap price, including various supermarkets on the bottom floor.

The room is of business standard - basic but pleasant to stay. Staff are quite helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

We found travelling in bangkok is incredibly inconvenient compared to many other capital cities. Although there are underground (just one line) and sky train, they don't get you to the major tourists attractions. Don't reply on taxi as they will either only want to go long distance or charge several times more. We were refused whenever we called a taxi as we insisted that we pay by metre. I am surprised that the tourism authority of bangkok allow this to happen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nighttrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The good reviews that you read on Tripadvisor are all true.

Having read extensively on the feedback and reviews of Citypoint Hotel, it was with much excitement that I confirmed a booking with them for my trip to Bangkok in July. An excellent plus point was the fact that they were a stone’s throw away (5 min walk) from Terminal 21 (Asok BTR and Sukumhvit MRT stations).

Service was excellent. Upon arrival, the porter very gamely stepped out of the front doors and carried our luggage in for us. Cool mint tea was served together with cold towels – thumbs up to that. The receptionist told us some good news that we were given free upgrades!
The hotel lobby was very clean, cool and decorated in a cool colour palette of green and orange. Lifts were quite state-of-the-art with touch panels and the rooms were magnificently clean, modern and very comfortable. Air-conditioning was very sensitive and go to levels of extreme cold or hot according to preference.

Not much eateries not convenience stores like (711) but that’s no issue with Terminal 21 (T21) just a short walk away. Just along the walk to T21 is a money-changer with good rates. If you would like to change some money, I would suggest using the money-changer here rather than the ones at the station, at T21 or even at Chatuchuk Market.

Everything was perfect but alas all good things must come to an end or rather end in a not-so-nice note. Upon check-out, however, the receptionist mentioned that one small face towel was missing from our room. My friend and I could not quite recall if there were even 2 face towels as we didn’t even us them. After some amiable discussion, we decided to check our luggage in case we had accidentally taken them (upon the receptionist’s suggestion) but the search was fruitless. I asked the receptionist twice what happens now as we did not use the face towels and couldn’t even remember if there were even 2 towels that were place when we returned to our room on our last night. The manager’s response was less than acceptable. She insisted that the hotel staff did their job and there were 2 face towels placed in room every day. She even went to the extent of showing us the checklist but personally, as a manager we felt that she did nothing to neither ease the situation nor solve the problem but instead kept insisting on what was done and that the customer (us) must pay 20 baht. Retrospectively, then and now, it wasn’t about the money but it was the way the message was conveyed to us. It was insinuated that no matter what, whether it was human error on the hotel staff part, we the customers had to pay. We were nice enough to do our part and went through our luggage but couldn’t find any towel. After wasting a good 30 mins debating amicably, I got quite upset and stated that I refused to pay because me and my friend didn’t event use the towel, we checked our luggage on the spot, we didn’t even know if the staff had even placed 2 face towels the night before and most of all, our precious shopping time was wasted! When the manager heard that, she said in an unkind and rude tone of voice that if we don’t want to pay we can don’t pay. The message was felt and heard by both me and my friend. We left our luggage there while we went for a last lunch at T21 and I told her that our luggage better be there when we were back and she gave us a scowl and a rude look.

Note to future guests: The hotel is fine, service is good by all staff, toiletries are complimentary upon demand, location is excellent but the attitude of the manager is beyond acceptable. Perhaps it would do well just to spend a couple of minutes to check your room to ensure that all the toiletries, towels and what-not are fulfilled accordingly.

Note to staff of Citypoint Hote: If guests are required to check on how many towels etc were placed in their room, suggest you have a guest checklist in the bathroom.

With that said, isn’t this a little ridiculously to go to such an extend? Which holiday-maker would even want to expand energy and time to go through a checklist which is the work of hotel staff, just to ensure they won’t be faced with a similar situation as mine?
The service excellence 2013 sign by Trip Advisor is proudly displayed at the check-in desk. I have no issues with the hotel but I feel that the attitude of the manager should be looked into and improved upon.

Otherwise, this would be a good hotel choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuschial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear fuschial,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay at Citypoint Hotel. Even though it seems you had an overall pleasant experience; there are some messages about your stay that needed to be clarified.

In regard to the missing face towel I would like to share with you that we do provide two face towels in all rooms daily. Further, we were told that there was not any face towel in your room and that you never seen or used it since you arrived until your departure. In addition, the check list from the housekeeping that we tried to show you was to fulfill your concern about whether the towels were set in your room or not. Now, it is very clear that on the photos posted by you ( photo No. 1 of 6 and photo No. 3 of 6) on the glass shelf on the right (above the washbasin) there were 2 face towels fold in a flower shape placing there. It's meant that our housekeeping did their job and the room was set-up as our standard.

I would also like to politely refute your comment that the message to you about paying the charge was rude since it was my efforts to assist you as we are, especially myself dedicated in helping the guest in any way we can and of course if the guest did not wish to pay, we would leave it, but it least the guest need to be informed.

I would like to end by saying that, despite the incidents you mentioned, I truly appreciate your feedback on our hotel and thank you once again for staying with us.


Warm regards,

Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is situated at a great location, 3 mins walk to Asoke BTS. The rooms were clean, modern and beds were comfortable. Shower was good and strong, only problem I had was the temperature was hard to maintain. The breakfast was simple but enough to fuel you for the day ahead! Great friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwillin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear zwillin9,

We really appreciate your feedback, and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that the location was excellent and suitable for your needs.Thank you also for pointing out the problem on the temperature of the shower because it provides us with the opportunity to make changes and improve in areas that are important to our guests’ satisfaction

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon


Warm regards,

Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hotel Clover Asoke
Hotel Clover Asoke
#49 of 858 in Bangkok
320 reviews
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#157 of 858 in Bangkok
946 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#199 of 858 in Bangkok
858 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityPoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityPoint Hotel

Property: CityPoint Hotel
Address: 6/22 Asoke-Sukhumvit Intersection, Ratchadapisek Rd. (Sukhumvit-Rama 4), Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CityPoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityPoint is a uniquely non-smoking, moderately priced hotel located in the heart of Bangkok. It is eco-friendly and is situated on a quiet street within easy walking distance to public transportation, restaurants, night life, shopping, parks, and entertainment. Citypoint's 30 smoke free rooms offer a contemporary, relaxing oasis in the midst of all the activity of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your CityPoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing