We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it once was”
Review of CityPoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
CityPoint Hotel
Ranked #87 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not as good as it once was”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I am a long time guest at City Point Hotel, approximately 15 stays here since it opened.
My last two visits, I have noticed a gradual drop in standards, to the point that location remains the only good thing about this hotel.The price has slowly risen, which now puts it in the same price range of other hotels in the same Sukhumvit area, offering more and better facilities. House keeping is not as it used to be, bench tops not cleaned, coffee cups left unwashed two days in a row. Many times noise from other guests has prevented me and my partner from sleeping.And I have found the professionalism of the staff at reception to be lacking, at times condecending and quite rude. I visit Bangkok four times a year, and am yet to decide if I will continue to stay at this hotel, or try one of the many others in the same area.These comments are not just isolated to myself, I have advised a friend to stay at this hotel, he stayed twice, but now is a guest at another hotel in Sukhumvit on his visits to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mr. Brian F,

Firstly, may I thank you for your continued support of Citypoint Hotel and it is our great pleasure to welcome you back time after time. Thank you also for posting a review on the site following your numerous stays. However I am sorry that you felt that the housekeeping was not as good as it used to be and also noise from other guests that prevented you from sleeping. I am only sorry that they were not brought to my attention while you were with us and I would have tried to find you a little quieter room and I would have sorted out the problem

According to the peak season we've raised up the price a little bit as same as most hotels in Bangkok. Please rest assured of this concern that your room was booked with our special offer and it was the cheapest prices that we have.

If you could kindly inform me more details regarding the unwashed coffee cup for two days in the room and also the staff that you found unprofessional, I would like to investigate further since we have never received any complaints from your previous stays. Being informed of a problem presents an opportunity for us to fix it since your satisfaction is our priority

If you return I would be glad to meet you personally and make sure your stay meets our standards and please do contact me directly at gm@citypointhotel.com, so I can take personal care of your booking



Warm regards,

Ms. Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    493
    90
    10
    12
See reviews for
185
467
198
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is just 2 min walking distance to both public transportation and Red Light district, so I suppose some people will say the localization is grate... Nothing wrong about the hotel itself, but it is cold and the rooms seems to be designed for multipurpose use...
All inn all, for me City Point is over rated and over valued.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Svein Kyrre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear SveinKyrre O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on the site. We are situated in a quiet street in the heart of Bangkok, closed to BTS sky train and MRT subway.
In regard to the price there are some promotions and discount offered for our direct guests and early booking. You may check from our website and our team at reservations@citypointhotel.com on your next visit

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.


Warm regards,

Ms. Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This hotel is literally 3 minutes away from Terminal 21 shopping centre and Asok BTS station. It's a cosy boutique hotel with clean rooms and adequate toiletries. Like the fact that the shower and toilet are separated. The twin sharing rooms are not particularly spacious but they are big enough to fit 2 big luggages without being too cramped.

There is pretty much nothing at the surrounding other than a Korean restaurant right in front of the hotel and a massage centre called Urban Retreat (a very popular and crowded massage centre which explains why the workers there were extremely arrogant and rude).

The hotel is located inside a small lane and so may be missed by the cab drivers. Even our cab driver got it wrong despite the address given. If you do not want to be stuck in the city's infamous traffic jam, be sure to get the cab driver to call the hotel for directions if he is unsure. Should keep left immediately after you see Park Hotel. Plenty of signboards directing to you the hotel after Park Hotel.

Very strategic and affordable hotel with helpful staff. I would definitely stay there again in my next Bangkok trip.

If I am nit picking then breakfast looked pathetic. Good thing we didn't opt for it. Plenty of yummy food outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Gorgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitypointBKK, General Manager at CityPoint Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear 3GorgeZ,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review on the site. I am delighted that you found the hotel nothing to dislike, room was clean and adequate toiletries.Thank you also for considering our hotel for your next visit

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.



Warm regards,

Ms. Phitchanun Suphromin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

after searching for a hotel close to a central skytrain station i found this gem.

i stayed 2 nights for 60$ per night ( double room without breakfast ) and thought it was delightful. immaculately clean, very high quality furnishings, lovely bed, effective a/c. friendly helpful staff.

pretty much the nicest hotel i have stayed in, and located 50m from the Asok BST station. there are many more expensive hotels all around but i cant imagine why you would chose to pay any more than this place asks unless you have very specific requirements from your hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed for nine nights and felt very welcome from the moment the front door was opened for us. Immaculately clean, excellent location and a quite. Lovely big bed and good quality linen. The breakfast is really lovely and all the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We found this hotel through a blog and read many good reviews about this hotel. We decided to give it a try and was very happy that we chose this hotel. Finding this hotel was very easy as it is located very near(5mins walk) the train station (Asok) which is also just next to the new shopping centre, Terminal 21. As soon as we reached the hotel, we were greeted by the hotel's friendly and attentive staff which later brought us our clean and comfy room.

This trip also coincides with my wife's birthday and we were surprised with a delicious cake and a birthday song during our yummy breakfast!

Overall, we are very satisfied with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelv_tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I loved this little hotel. The rooms are generous in size, very modern and clean and the beds are comfy too.
The location is ideal, walk to the corner and you are at the BTS station Asok which means its easy to get everywhere! Two minute walk to Terminal 21.
Lovely friendly hotels staff.
Restaurant is good but unfortunately they only serve breakfast.
No complaints from me and I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Zahras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hotel Clover Asoke
Hotel Clover Asoke
#53 of 871 in Bangkok
362 reviews
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#156 of 871 in Bangkok
1,009 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#204 of 871 in Bangkok
870 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#80 of 871 in Bangkok
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityPoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityPoint Hotel

Property: CityPoint Hotel
Address: 6/22 Asoke-Sukhumvit Intersection, Ratchadapisek Rd., Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CityPoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityPoint is a uniquely non-smoking, moderately priced hotel located in the heart of Bangkok. It is eco-friendly and is situated on a quiet street within easy walking distance to public transportation, restaurants, night life, shopping, parks, and entertainment. Citypoint's 30 smoke free rooms offer a contemporary, relaxing oasis in the midst of all the activity of Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your CityPoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing