We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view good location”
Review of Sala Arun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sala Arun
Ranked #52 of 641 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great view good location”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Chose this hotel because it was on the river, and had views of Temples. The view from the room did not disappoint. The activity on the river was feverish, walking distance to the Temples, quite close to the shopping district. The rooftop bar was nice....great views again.
The wooden stairs were a bit noisy, maybe the other patrons should have realised this.
Room was large, nice clean bathroom, not a lot of storage for clothes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    82
    25
    14
    4
See reviews for
26
120
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Sala Arun is a beautiful oasis in the middle of the city. Our family of four (kids aged 14 and 11) had two rooms (they didn't have a quad), both with great views of the Chao Phraya River and Wat Arun on the other shore. The rooms themselves were large and comfortable, with big beds, TV, AC, and a large clean bathroom. The restaurant is fine and also overlooks the river. The best part of this hotel, as mentioned in other reviews, is the rooftop bar at sunset. There's the river and wat on one side, and the sparkling roofs of Wat Pho and the Royal Palace on the other. The location is awesome - close to the mentioned attractions as well as the river ferry to other parts of Bangkok. We splurged a little on this hotel because we stayed a couple of days over Christmas, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_on_the_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kunnigar, Manager at Sala Arun, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sala Arun. I very much appreciate the recap of your stay. I am so glad to read such lovely feedback about our hotel. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We really liked this hotel. Spacious room with superb bathroom facilities and really large shower. We were in a room on the first floor facing Wat Pho. We were offered a room upgrade the second day to face Wat Arun, but we were really happy with the room, so didn't think it worth the shifting of our stuff. We had sightseeing arranged by then anyway.
Had a meal first night in the restaurant, which was really nice and peaceful with a great view of Wat Arun across the river. The Eagles Nest bar is also worth a visit. Views to die for. Of course you do pay a little extra for the view, but it's entirely worth it.
Couple of negative points though. No lifts, but staff are plenty willing to assist with luggage. Anyone with walking difficulties should steer clear. You can get a Tuk-Tuk or Taxi near by, but we walked everywhere. Bangkok is basically a giant market place, so haggle for everything.
The hotel is opposite Wat Pho, and just down the road from the Grand Palace, so I think well placed. Word of advice. If walking towards the Grand Palace, and someone approaches saying the Palace is closed, don't believe a word of it. One guy did try that with us, but I was aware of this scam, so suffered his lies for a bit and continued to the palace entrance.
Also, the staff at this hotel are excellent and do there best to please. One member of staff called Osm really done his best for us. Excellent stay. Gave a four rating because of all the stairs, otherwise worth a five.
Hotel is down a side road, but nice once inside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowolderandwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Didn't have long in Bangkok, so chose this hotel for view of Wat Arun and close proximity to the Grand Palace, Wat Po etc. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room had great view of Wat Arun which made up for the fact that it was a bit tired and not very luxurious. The rooftop bar and breakfast terrace also had fabulous views. This hotel could be described as quaint rather than luxurious.

Room Tip: River facing room for view of Wat Arun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Sala Arun Bar is the place that you can enjoy your evening, see sunset and magic moments, see boats at Chao Phraya river, waiting the sky turn to dark, with glass of drink or beer.

We went here twice. One time we got here at night, and at second time, boyfriend want to see sunset, so the other day we came back to enjoy the sunset. For the beverages we think is not expensive, I chose ice green tea latte (150 bath), asahi beer (230 bath), coke (50 bath). To reach the bar you should climb stairs to the Eagle Nest - 5th floor (fiuh), the view on top is really worth to see!

I will go to Sala Arun again to enjoy sunset :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinonyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Katelijne-Waver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the view is fantastic if you have a room at the riverfront.
But our room had a water cirkel on the ceiling and the second room had a terrible smel. The first night the hotel gave us a upgrade, but the room was in a bad state.
The location if great to visit the main temples.
The service at the breakfast was not normal, the gril forgot our cuttlery, we had to wait for a very long time untill being served, and she we was rude.
Very expensive stay, not a 4 star rating worth.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syl1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kunnigar, Management team at Sala Arun, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We really appreciated your valuable feedback and your patronage to Sala Arun. Truly sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with the rooms and our staff.

We would like to inform you that we have fixed all the problems that happened and made you disappoint.

This would be appreciated if you can give us your email.

We hope to have a chance to give you the best service in next future.

Best regards,
Management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I went to this venue for dinner and drinks and was very impressed. The manager was exceptionally welcoming and friendly, and the food was great and very good value for money. The setting for dinner was nice outside by the river with great views. Following dinner we went upstairs to the rooftop bar for drinks which had even better views. Great service and good value. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWell19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#215 of 858 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#284 of 858 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#40 of 641 in Bangkok
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#42 of 1,193 in Bangkok
103 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 641 in Bangkok
425 reviews
Banglamphu
Chetuphon Gate
Chetuphon Gate
#313 of 1,193 in Bangkok
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Arun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Arun

Property: Sala Arun
Address: 47-49 Soi Ta-tien, Maharat Road | Phraborummaharajchawang, Phranakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sala Arun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SalaArun is an opulent boutique hotel located in the middle of Ratanakosin Island. The hotel's classical Asian contemporary facade hides a wealth of rich colors and modern facilities. Lush brocade upholstery and paintings compliment Turkish glass chandeliers creating a cozy welcoming home in the heart of Bangkok. All attractions including Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha Temple, Flower Market are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. Temple of Dawn is opposite Sala Arun - across the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sala Arun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Arun Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing