We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian”

Grossi trattoria and Wine Bar
Ranked #1,593 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Italian, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Grossi Trattoria and Wine Bar is positioned as the first internationally branded Italian restaurant in Bangkok. Guy Grossi, renowned in Australia as top restaurateur, author and celebrity chef has partnered with InterContinental Bangkok to bring his own innovative restaurant concept to town. This will mean one of a kind cuisine for those in the know about true trattoria style Italian dining complemented by extensive wine list from the world renowned wine making regions in Italy.
Crawley,West Sussex
Level Contributor
266 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Although from the house of Melbourne base Grossi - this is a great stop off for authentic Italian in the Venetian style .The Starter of Porcini mushroom with green paperdelle had a rich and unctuous taste - helped by the addition of dried Porcini added to the sauce. The main of lamb cutlets and pork chop was prepared simply - the goats cheese, lentil and fav bean salad a nice twist to the lamb. Although the lamb I requested medium/ pink - was very much on the rare side! We had our arms twisted by the chef - Francessco had tried his Panacotta with mixed berry coulis where we had folded whipped cream into the boiled cream and gelatine - it was consequenty very light and attractively served in a Kilmer jar with the stewed fruit on the side. I didn't fancy the short ' by the glass' wine list so was shown to another list of 'happy hour ' wine by the glass in x3 price bands and told it was available until 9pm! A great addition with so,e decent wines and very good prices. All round a very enjoyable supper.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Little taste of Melbourne in Bangkok..”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Enjoyed a lovely dinner last night. We shared a Diavola pizza for starters - which was the best pizza ever, was not greasy and very light to eat - YUM. For mains we had the half moon ravioli with pumpkin, ricotta and almond with like a burnt butter glaze, this was so tasty and just the right size portion, with fine shredded coconut on top - YUMO! We also had gnocchi with fresh tomato sugo which was lovely.
For dessert we had tiramasu and panacotta with fresh berries, both were the tastiest desserts ever! Guy Grossi you are amazing we enjoyed this as much as the time we dined at your Melb restaurant, only thing missing was to see your lovely smiling face! Thanks for a great night in Bangkok, we look forward to visiting you on our next trip to Thailand.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MojiNegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great place and great experience!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We had dinner a week ago me and my wife and we really enjoy the food and the service!
We start with a tuna carpaccio was superb and a seafood soup for my wife was really good,
as a main we share a ossobuco with risotto (a big portion) but taste was nice and the risotto was perfectly cooked and as well a nice lamb chop with a pesto and lentil salad the lamb was just sensational perfectly cooked and very tender and juicy !
Wine my only recommendation: increase the wines from Italy, but still a great selection.
Hospitality was really friendly and professional.
Manager was give us good advice for the wines, the chef was also interacting with all the guest at the restaurant and he was give us a recommendation for the dessert.
The pannacotta was excellent !
L & C

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“My first and last visit...”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This Italian restaurant is located on the lower ground level of the InterContinental Bangkok. It has indoor and outdoor sitting.We shared the scallop with saffron sauce for starter, the scallop were grilled to perfection. Great start to our dinner. My wife has the barramudi fish while I had the grill lamb. The fish was overcooked, hence it's a little tough in textures. I asked for a 'medium well' lamb, but in came quite underdone. It's still bleed whereas it should be pink. We had the house Italian pouring white wine, my wife like it while I found it a bit dry. We decided to give the 'dolci' a miss after our 'not so good' mains, deciding to have our desserts from the street hawkers. Our bill come to almost TB 4,000 for a starter, 2 mains and 2 glasses of wine. If the quality of cooking was better, it would have been good value. 

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kongsi-INFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Grossi´s monthly opera dinners are unique. Must try! Apart from that we always enioy the special ambiance, good food and perfect service there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clausglogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grossi trattoria and Wine Bar also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Grossi trattoria and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing