We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you must...”
Review of Distil

Distil
Ranked #842 of 10,836 Restaurants in Bangkok
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Silom
Description: Every aspect of Distil reflects purity in its most elementary form. On offer is a choice of the most premium and authentic malt whiskies, vodkas and Cognacs.A unique feature of Distil is the Oyster Bar. Pink Diamond Oysters, Exclusive Petrossian Caviar and fresh sushi and sashimi present a delightful selection, along with the finest champagnes and wines from a walk-in wine cellar. Hand-rolled authentic Cuban Cigars are yours to enjoy together with drinks in the adjoining open-air Cigar Terrace. Enjoy the company of the cool set at this hottest chill out spot in Bangkok.The chosen venue for the high flyers and for those of us craving a place to enjoy that one cigar amidst the perfect surrounding, Distil stands out in this aspect alone. Throw in the oysters and caviar, we move up one notch.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“If you must...”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

OK, so you are here in Bangkok, and you want to tell your friends back home that you went to this place where the Hangover Two film was made...but $20 for an OK Martini? I guess so, but I prefer the rooftop bar at the Banyan Tree Hotel that is a 10 minute cab ride away. That place is magical, this place is kinda Vegas...and the drinks are not great, so why? Yes, the view is amazing, but it's full of tourists and it's a 2 minute thrill. I don't know...for my money I'd rather go on a river taxi ride to a temple or to Harmonique and have a wonderful dinner, nice and generous cocktails and have it all for the price of my one Berrytini at Distil...but just sayin'!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley_Saxton, Manager at Distil, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience at Distil Bar, which will assist us in evaluating our processes. In the meantime, I would like to offer our sincerest apologies on behalf of the entire Food & Beverage team.

Our aim at all of our establishments at The Dome at lebua is to create the most exceptional experience possible for our guests, so please be assured that we take your comments very seriously.

All of us hope that you will give us another chance and that we will see you again at The Dome at lebua.

Kind Regards,

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    53
    15
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed lounge bar”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It was expensive, but they know their drinks. The atmosphere is relaxed and the view breathtaking. Worth a visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caniraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley_Saxton, Manager at Distil, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your experience at Distil Bar. On behalf of the entire Food & Beverage team, I would like to thank you for your very kind words.

Our aim at all of our establishments at The Dome at lebua is to create the most exceptional and indulgent experience possible for our guests, and it is gratifying to know that we have met these expectations.

We hope to see you back at The Dome soon. Perhaps at that time I will have an opportunity to thank you personally.

Kind Regards,

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
235 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Late night visit”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We went to Distil after spending some time at the Sky Bar and we actually preferred this. For starters you can sit down [both outdoor and indoor] and they serve great food. Which makes this a place where you can spend the entire evening. Next time i'm at the Lebua will definitely spend more time here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RocketCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have only been to Distil for a drink and it was an overall rather positive experience. The view is as good as Sky Bar but you can actually enjoy it by sitting on a comfy couch.
However the price of the drinks is outrageous!! Especially for Bangkok standards!! So you definitely pay for the view and the fact it is quite famous due to the Hangover film. Nevertheless if you want to enjoy the view, this is a better place than Sky Bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamCandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nice view, expensive drinks but still worth a visit. I recommend going there at night to enjoy the view more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Komay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Distil also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Distil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing