We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stopover”
Review of The Asadang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Asadang
Ranked #41 of 732 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and beautiful interiors if you like staying somewhere with character rather than just another hotel.

Well located, easy walking distance to main sights. Good restaurant nearby for dinner. It is by a main road but we didnt really notice the noise.. Free afternoon tea! And trust me after a long, hot day of sightseeing its great to come back to an airconditioned lounge and drink a complimentary cold coffee served with coconut ice cream. Bliss!

Room Tip: Steep steps to the first and second floors.. so choose a ground floor room if you find stairs even r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2holiday77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

All of the good things other people say are true - the breakfasts are excellent, great lattes, and a delightful Thai treat and fruit every morning served in a charming breakfast room. The setting is a wonderful respite from busy Bangkok, but it is within walking distance of many of the major sights. The service was very personal, and Piti and Baan went out of their way to help us in any way. The afternoon treats were delightful after a day in the city's heat. We were the only Americans staying there; most of the guests seemed to be European, and it has the intimate feel of a European boutique inn. We stayed in the Asadang Suite, which is one of the most pleasant suites that you will ever encounter. The owners are architects, we are designers, and found the furnishings and appointments very tasteful and charming, giving one the flavor of old Bangkok.

Room Tip: Splurge and book the Suite, or stay on the North side, away from the busier street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaP149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This small hotel is filled with charm and the very sweet staff couldn't be more helpful. However it is also filled with noise. With its location on a busy street, you can constantly hear the traffic. That being said, if you can block out the sound of motorcycles zipping by (as many can), the Asadang's location can't be beat if you are wanting to visit the Grand Palace or Reclining Buddha. It's not near any public transport, but the hotel staff are very helpful with getting taxis. The hotel recommended restaurant nearby is nothing to look at, but some of the best food I've had in Thailand.

Room Tip: The rooms seem quite similar apart from their size. I don't think the more expensive rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed at the Asadang for three nights before switching over to one of the five-star international hotels downtown for work, and while the latter was super luxurious, I loved the Asadang far more. It had so much character and charm, and the service was just impeccable, from the moment I arrived and was greeted with lemongrass juice to the morning I left and they helped me get a cab to my next hotel. Breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed getting to try all the Thai treats - and coming home from a long day of touring to be greeted with homemade ice cream couldn't have been more perfect. We stayed in two different rooms and they were both lovely, with beautiful furniture, comfy beds, and all the little touches. The one on the ground floor was a little noisy at night, as it looked out on the karaoke bar next door, but the website warned us about that, and to be honest I kind of enjoyed it. I loved waking up in the mornings to the sound of the neighborhood waking up, and the whole area just felt very low key and comfortable. I love the hectic and crazy downtown areas of Bangkok too, but staying in the older part of the city was a new experience and had a charm all its own. It's also tremendously convenient to the major sites and lots of good restaurants, and the maps they provide (with directions in Thai) make it easy for cab drivers to find the location. The only draw back is not being close to the skytrain or metro, but those are reached by cab easily enough, and for touristing you're already in a good spot.

I highly recommend the Asadang for a special, personal Bangkok experience - it's a great deal for a beautiful little place and great people!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is an absolutely magical B&B in the heart of historic Bangkok, which after our two day stay in February very much ranks among my favourite hotels in the world.

The location is ideal, being a very short walk from the main tourist attractions whilst at the same time being just enough off the beaten path to feel you are in an authentic Thai neighborhood.

The building itself has been been converted in the most thoughtful way, so that it both retains a lot of wonderful period features but would not look out of place in a design magazine. The rooms themselves are lovely, with wonderful bathrooms.

Breakfast is nothing short of amazing, and the Thai option must be tried. It can feel adventurous trying the "local option" at breakfast, but it is definitely worth it.

After a long day out sightseeing, you are welcomed back by tea and coconut ice cream which is a wonderful touch.

The staff is marvelous, and are incredibly helpful in making recommendations on what to do and also where to have dinner. Definitely follow their recommendations and you will have some very memorable meals.

The only drawback is that given the building is fairly old it is possible to hear a fair bit of noise from the street at night. For light sleepers this may be a problem. For everyone else just bring earplugs and you will be fine.

Definitely, definitely, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This hotel for those, who like home, warm atmosphere, opposite to big chain hotels. Absolutely friendly stuff and authentic environment. Close to all major sites. The breakfast not consisted many things but it was everything we need. Home ice cream was perfect) Thank you! Oleg and Kristina, Russia

Room Tip: Our room was Ratchabopit on the 3d floor. Not the big one but with a great view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Spent for two nights at hotel, the location was excellent in Bangkok. The room was spacious and nice furnished. Hotel staffs helped us by giving all useful information about the city,things to do and some great restaurants for us to chill out, the great deal that we received was room promotion. The hotel is an ideal place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shenghailee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Bhuthorn
The Bhuthorn
#100 of 732 in Bangkok
185 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#87 of 1,347 in Bangkok
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 732 in Bangkok
464 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#38 of 732 in Bangkok
312 reviews
Sala Arun
#56 of 732 in Bangkok
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Asadang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Asadang

Address: 94 Asadang Rd., | Wang Buraphaphirom, Pranakhorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Asadang 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asadang is the sister B&B of The Bhuthorn, Bangkok. It's converted from a century-old shophouse that already registered to The Fine Arts Department. The property is located in the center of Bangkok Historical area with walking distance to The Grand Palace, Wat Pho, National Museum, Flower Market amd much more. There're 9 rooms with en-suite bathroom, cable TV, and access to WiFi Internet. Each room is decorated with antique furniture, Thai craft, and hand woven silk and cotton. Our goal is to offer our guests the atmosphere of old-time Bangkok while traveling in this big and colorful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your The Asadang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Asadang Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing