We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere”
Review of The Asadang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Asadang
Ranked #41 of 732 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Asadang was a great experience. We really enjoyed the beautiful little hotel. The room was great and well decorated. The thai breakfast was perfect and the staff was smiling and really helpful. Communication before and during check-in was great and swift.
We'll stay here again next time we're in Bangkok and will recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonassl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights,Our room was delightful, spacious and cozy. Staffs would help for luggage with our Tips, we enjoyed our room with great window and balcony. Otherwise, the location of hotel was excellent, we walked some minutes for great Thai food nearby and great movie theater nearby .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiitet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

What perfect way to start our trip in Thailand.

Nestled right in the heart of Old Own, The Asadang was exactly what we were looking for... A boutique hotel, with perfect service, every ammenity one would hope for (dont expect a gym or a pool) with all the charm of modern Thailand.

As honeymooners, my new wife and I were looking for a somewhat romantic setting... And we found in. Clean and spacious, well maintained and well located, the Asadang is classy, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Free fast wifi, breakfast, air conditioning in everyroom (vital!) complimentary tea and coffee, clean hot showers, bottled waters in the rooms, maps and guide books of every flavor and a staff, fluent in english to welcome you each time you return, help make reservations, offer suggtions and take care of every need. Not enough can be said about the staff: generous, helpful, friendly but not overly present... Perfect.

Early reviews complained of noise, but we saw very little to no sign of it. Our room, over the street was without fault. Remember, this is Bangkok, some noise is to be expected... But as mentioned my wife and i had no problem with it what so ever.

Walking distance to wat po, wat arun, grand palace and the river boats...

We highly recommend this hotel.

Tip: take the map they give you for the hotel when leaving. Because its a smaller boutiqe B&B, cabbies and tuk tuks dont know the location. Their map guides the drivers right in!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank a35mmlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The Asadang is the perfect place to be in Old Bangkok. The staff is so terrific. They welcome you upon arrival and then welcome you each day after you return from your outings. You will receive wonderful recommendations of attractions and places to shop and eat. They will help you with tours and taxis. We had a wonderful room and the breakfasts were delicous. The Asadang is in a location that is in walking distance to many temples and markets which will make your stay easy. And if you want a little exericise, there is aerobic/stretching in the park across the street. The Asadang exceeded our expectations and we would recommend them to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel was a gem. It's easy walking distance from the old city with its temples and palaces, but outside of the chaos of central Bangkok.
We had the top floor room, which has a almost surreal view of the canal and a few temples from the balcony. The building itself is an old guest house, and it feels authentic and hospitable.
What really blew us away was the service. Everyone working at the Asadang was abundantly helpful. They got us taxis and negotiated with the cabbies, which is a huge pain in Bangkok. They helped us with every little thing, going above and beyond to help make our stay easy. Breakfast was delicious, and they were quick to greet us with iced coffee when we'd come back in the middle of the day to escape the sweltering heat.

Room Tip: I really loved the top floor room. It's up a tiny spiral staircase and has a balcony with great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmagcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and beautiful interiors if you like staying somewhere with character rather than just another hotel.

Well located, easy walking distance to main sights. Good restaurant nearby for dinner. It is by a main road but we didnt really notice the noise.. Free afternoon tea! And trust me after a long, hot day of sightseeing its great to come back to an airconditioned lounge and drink a complimentary cold coffee served with coconut ice cream. Bliss!

Room Tip: Steep steps to the first and second floors.. so choose a ground floor room if you find stairs even r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2holiday77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

All of the good things other people say are true - the breakfasts are excellent, great lattes, and a delightful Thai treat and fruit every morning served in a charming breakfast room. The setting is a wonderful respite from busy Bangkok, but it is within walking distance of many of the major sights. The service was very personal, and Piti and Baan went out of their way to help us in any way. The afternoon treats were delightful after a day in the city's heat. We were the only Americans staying there; most of the guests seemed to be European, and it has the intimate feel of a European boutique inn. We stayed in the Asadang Suite, which is one of the most pleasant suites that you will ever encounter. The owners are architects, we are designers, and found the furnishings and appointments very tasteful and charming, giving one the flavor of old Bangkok.

Room Tip: Splurge and book the Suite, or stay on the North side, away from the busier street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaP149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Bhuthorn
The Bhuthorn
#100 of 732 in Bangkok
185 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#87 of 1,347 in Bangkok
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 732 in Bangkok
465 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#38 of 732 in Bangkok
312 reviews
Sala Arun
#56 of 732 in Bangkok
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Asadang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Asadang

Address: 94 Asadang Rd., | Wang Buraphaphirom, Pranakhorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Asadang 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asadang is the sister B&B of The Bhuthorn, Bangkok. It's converted from a century-old shophouse that already registered to The Fine Arts Department. The property is located in the center of Bangkok Historical area with walking distance to The Grand Palace, Wat Pho, National Museum, Flower Market amd much more. There're 9 rooms with en-suite bathroom, cable TV, and access to WiFi Internet. Each room is decorated with antique furniture, Thai craft, and hand woven silk and cotton. Our goal is to offer our guests the atmosphere of old-time Bangkok while traveling in this big and colorful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your The Asadang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Asadang Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing