We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Careful and friendly attention by staff”
Review of The Asadang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Asadang
Ranked #29 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Careful and friendly attention by staff”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We began our three week tour of Thailand in Bangkok and made the Asadang bed and breakfast our home away from home. In a city the size of Bangkok, this city could feel overwhelming, but the staff at this little boutique b&b took great care to make us feel welcome. Moss, the head caretaker, was especially adept at looking after our needs - from finding a taxi, to making us wonderful lattes in the morning, to the turndown service at night. We also really enjoyed the Thai "pinto" breakfast - a collection of 4 traditional Thai breakfast foods, both savoury and sweet. Great location too - near the Grand Palace and Wat Pho, all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    48
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
118
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Asadang with my husband in January and we had great time. The breakfast was amazing (try the Thai option, too!) and the room very agreeable. The staff was perfect and I really recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nanavansteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Bangkok is full of swanky 5 star hotels, but if you are looking for something a bit more individual and with real character then The Asadang B&B really fits the bill. It's in a restored canal side building in Old Bangkok, close to the markets of China Town and right next to the Royal Palace and Temples. It's perfect if you are focusing on sight seeing, but getting to the shopping areas around Siam Sqaure and Sukhumvit can be a bit of a trek, so if that is the real focus of your visit, then it's probably not for you.

Having said that, it's close to ferry pier Tha Tien (#8) and it's a very pleasant 15 minute boat ride down river to the Central/Taksim Skytrain stop. The area is quiet at night, but as a single female traveller I didn't feel unsafe walking back whatever time in the evening it was. Not many places to eat in the immediate vicinity but they recommend several places within walking distance.

I stayed in the rooftop room (#9) overlooking the canal and temple and with it's own little balcony and adjacent bathroom. On the first night, the shower in my room didn't work at all, but when I reported the issue to the staff, they immediately flicked a switch somewhere in the basement and all was rectified. Decor is pared back and minimal and the space compact but perfect for a lone traveller, although not the cheapest option in the guest house. I did find the price a little steep compared to some of the other lovely places I stayed in on the same trip, but I guess you pay a premium for a view of a temple from your bathroom in any city!

The reception staff are young, friendly and helpful and happy to chat and give advise. They serve a great breakfast - enough to set set you up for the rest of the day. I didn't get back on either day in time for the complimentary afternoon tea, which they seemed a bit disappointed about - especially as due to protesters occupying nearby Democracy Square, the place was almost empty. There was absolutely no threat or danger but it did seem to have put other guests off, which is a real shame.

This is definitely a classy B&B rather than a fully-serviced hoteI - if you are willing to sacrifice the poolside bar and the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet for history and ambience, I think you will really enjoy it and get an opportunity to sense what Bangkok may have been like 40 or 50 years ago. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the attic room with the balcony overlooking the canal but the stairs are really very small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our family during our visit in Bangkok.The service is very kind and helpfull.Very good breakfasts,every day something different.Close enough to Golden Palace.Our taxi driver had difficulties to find this hotel every time we were coming back from sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magdalena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Convenient for the grand Palace and main tourist attractions, but less so for going out. You can't have it all in terms of location in Bangkok but this place certainly gave lots in terms of hospitality. Traditional Thai breakfast as well as Western offerings are offered which I thought was great. Rooms are beautiful in their simplicity.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Av d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lux
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I already stayed at The Asandong 3 times since the opening in 2011....so any other comment would not be enough to describe the house, the atmosphere one breaths, the lovely and tasty breakfast....I simply invite you to not hesitate and visit them.....and you will dream yourself....

Room Tip: The very up room is unique....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diverLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very sweet place with old fashioned furniture and decorations. the staff was extremely helpful. It is very close to some of the major temples and a nice area to walk. The stairs are steep for older people. Recommend room 2 on the main floor. The breakfasts are lavish. They were even able to give us fresh coconut every morning ! You feel like being in a house rather than a hotel . Would recommend especially for those interested in visiting the temples!

Room Tip: Recommend room 2 on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Bhuthorn
The Bhuthorn
#85 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#78 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Arom d Hostel
Arom d Hostel
#175 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#13 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Asadang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Asadang

Property: The Asadang
Address: 94 Asadang Rd., | Wang Buraphaphirom, Pranakhorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Asadang 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asadang is the sister B&B of The Bhuthorn, Bangkok. It's converted from a century-old shophouse that already registered to The Fine Arts Department. The property is located in the center of Bangkok Historical area with walking distance to The Grand Palace, Wat Pho, National Museum, Flower Market amd much more. There're 9 rooms with en-suite bathroom, cable TV, and access to WiFi Internet. Each room is decorated with antique furniture, Thai craft, and hand woven silk and cotton. Our goal is to offer our guests the atmosphere of old-time Bangkok while traveling in this big and colorful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Asadang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Asadang Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing