We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Asadang
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$229
US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
US$185
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
US$241
Okura Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
170
47
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
47
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai breakfastb bwat phococonut ice creambed and breakfastroyal palacewalking distancetourist sitesboutique hotelcentral locationstreet foodtaxituksbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We began our three week tour of Thailand in Bangkok and made the Asadang bed and breakfast our home away from home. In a city the size of Bangkok, this city could feel overwhelming, but the staff at this little boutique b&b took great care to make us feel welcome. Moss, the head caretaker, was especially adept at looking after our needs - from finding a taxi, to making us wonderful lattes in the morning, to the turndown service at night. We also really enjoyed the Thai "pinto" breakfast - a collection of 4 traditional Thai breakfast foods, both savoury and sweet. Great location too - near the Grand Palace and Wat Pho, all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at the Asadang with my husband in January and we had great time. The breakfast was amazing (try the Thai option, too!) and the room very agreeable. The staff was perfect and I really recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nanavansteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Bangkok is full of swanky 5 star hotels, but if you are looking for something a bit more individual and with real character then The Asadang B&B really fits the bill. It's in a restored canal side building in Old Bangkok, close to the markets of China Town and right next to the Royal Palace and Temples. It's perfect if you are focusing on sight seeing, but getting to the shopping areas around Siam Sqaure and Sukhumvit can be a bit of a trek, so if that is the real focus of your visit, then it's probably not for you.

Having said that, it's close to ferry pier Tha Tien (#8) and it's a very pleasant 15 minute boat ride down river to the Central/Taksim Skytrain stop. The area is quiet at night, but as a single female traveller I didn't feel unsafe walking back whatever time in the evening it was. Not many places to eat in the immediate vicinity but they recommend several places within walking distance.

I stayed in the rooftop room (#9) overlooking the canal and temple and with it's own little balcony and adjacent bathroom. On the first night, the shower in my room didn't work at all, but when I reported the issue to the staff, they immediately flicked a switch somewhere in the basement and all was rectified. Decor is pared back and minimal and the space compact but perfect for a lone traveller, although not the cheapest option in the guest house. I did find the price a little steep compared to some of the other lovely places I stayed in on the same trip, but I guess you pay a premium for a view of a temple from your bathroom in any city!

The reception staff are young, friendly and helpful and happy to chat and give advise. They serve a great breakfast - enough to set set you up for the rest of the day. I didn't get back on either day in time for the complimentary afternoon tea, which they seemed a bit disappointed about - especially as due to protesters occupying nearby Democracy Square, the place was almost empty. There was absolutely no threat or danger but it did seem to have put other guests off, which is a real shame.

This is definitely a classy B&B rather than a fully-serviced hoteI - if you are willing to sacrifice the poolside bar and the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet for history and ambience, I think you will really enjoy it and get an opportunity to sense what Bangkok may have been like 40 or 50 years ago. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the attic room with the balcony overlooking the canal but the stairs are really very small and not for the faint hearted!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with our family during our visit in Bangkok.The service is very kind and helpfull.Very good breakfasts,every day something different.Close enough to Golden Palace.Our taxi driver had difficulties to find this hotel every time we were coming back from sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdalena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Convenient for the grand Palace and main tourist attractions, but less so for going out. You can't have it all in terms of location in Bangkok but this place certainly gave lots in terms of hospitality. Traditional Thai breakfast as well as Western offerings are offered which I thought was great. Rooms are beautiful in their simplicity.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Av d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews