We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming!”
Review of The Asadang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Asadang
Ranked #30 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“charming!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We loved our two short days at The Asadang! It is among the most charming places we've ever stayed!

We stayed in the room on the top most floor, at the top of the spiral staircase, and we loved the decor, the view of the canal, the openness and the privacy.
The location was perfect- in a charming, quiet part of the old city, but still walking distance from the important sightseeing spots.

The ever-helpful staff were there whenever we needed them- to help with restaurant recommendations, reserving taxis, and help with bags, but gave us privacy as well.

I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Bangkok for leisure. The traffic getting to that part of the city was bad and it is difficult to give directions to the hotel, so it may not be an ideal place to stay while on business or if you have a tight schedule.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    48
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
118
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Asadang is a great place to stay when visiting Bangkok for a holiday. It is located in the older quarter of Bangkok, close to the Grand Palace, Wat Pho etc. Staying here I got a totally different impression of Bangkok compared to previous trips where I have stayed in big hotels in Sukhumvit, etc. It is a really characterful, low-rise neighbourhood, based around charming canals and interesting buildings. A side of Bangkok which most people don't see, but which is arguably the heart of the city.

The service was excellent, and we got a lot of good tips and recommendations from the staff. On one occasion, we called the hotel when searching for a restaurant nearby, and a member of staff came out to find us and led us to the place we were looking for - really good quality service.

Very minor criticisms, mostly meant as constructive feedback rather than reasons not to stay here: 1) the curtains are very thin so it is not that dark at night (I am used to sleeping in a pitch black room so this may not be a problem for most people). 2) there is no minibar - no opportunity for a cool beer when escaping from the heat! Minor issues though - on the whole a fantastic place to stay. I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owltoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent two nights at the Asadang in Bangkok and they were glorious. The hotel is gorgeous, the Thai breakfast are delicious, the staff are so friendly and accommodating. We stayed up the in Ratchabopit room on the top floor with a great little balcony for a relaxing cool down close to bedtime. This place is an absolute oasis in Bangkok. Highly recommend. It's pricier than many, but the location is so great, you can walk to many attractions, over the Chinatown and it's close to the pier so travel costs around bangkok remain low. If you've got the cash, treat yourself to this beautiful, one of a kind hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin , Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed a few nights in the Asadang in December 2013 and would warmly recommend this lovely little cosy hotel. It´s well maintained, clean and quiet, perfectly located in close walking distance to the palace. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you look for something special off the beaten track you´ll feel at home in the Asadang.
Regards, Klaus from Berlin/Germany

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlausBerlin_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We began our three week tour of Thailand in Bangkok and made the Asadang bed and breakfast our home away from home. In a city the size of Bangkok, this city could feel overwhelming, but the staff at this little boutique b&b took great care to make us feel welcome. Moss, the head caretaker, was especially adept at looking after our needs - from finding a taxi, to making us wonderful lattes in the morning, to the turndown service at night. We also really enjoyed the Thai "pinto" breakfast - a collection of 4 traditional Thai breakfast foods, both savoury and sweet. Great location too - near the Grand Palace and Wat Pho, all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Asadang with my husband in January and we had great time. The breakfast was amazing (try the Thai option, too!) and the room very agreeable. The staff was perfect and I really recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nanavansteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Bangkok is full of swanky 5 star hotels, but if you are looking for something a bit more individual and with real character then The Asadang B&B really fits the bill. It's in a restored canal side building in Old Bangkok, close to the markets of China Town and right next to the Royal Palace and Temples. It's perfect if you are focusing on sight seeing, but getting to the shopping areas around Siam Sqaure and Sukhumvit can be a bit of a trek, so if that is the real focus of your visit, then it's probably not for you.

Having said that, it's close to ferry pier Tha Tien (#8) and it's a very pleasant 15 minute boat ride down river to the Central/Taksim Skytrain stop. The area is quiet at night, but as a single female traveller I didn't feel unsafe walking back whatever time in the evening it was. Not many places to eat in the immediate vicinity but they recommend several places within walking distance.

I stayed in the rooftop room (#9) overlooking the canal and temple and with it's own little balcony and adjacent bathroom. On the first night, the shower in my room didn't work at all, but when I reported the issue to the staff, they immediately flicked a switch somewhere in the basement and all was rectified. Decor is pared back and minimal and the space compact but perfect for a lone traveller, although not the cheapest option in the guest house. I did find the price a little steep compared to some of the other lovely places I stayed in on the same trip, but I guess you pay a premium for a view of a temple from your bathroom in any city!

The reception staff are young, friendly and helpful and happy to chat and give advise. They serve a great breakfast - enough to set set you up for the rest of the day. I didn't get back on either day in time for the complimentary afternoon tea, which they seemed a bit disappointed about - especially as due to protesters occupying nearby Democracy Square, the place was almost empty. There was absolutely no threat or danger but it did seem to have put other guests off, which is a real shame.

This is definitely a classy B&B rather than a fully-serviced hoteI - if you are willing to sacrifice the poolside bar and the all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet for history and ambience, I think you will really enjoy it and get an opportunity to sense what Bangkok may have been like 40 or 50 years ago. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the attic room with the balcony overlooking the canal but the stairs are really very small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
The Bhuthorn
The Bhuthorn
#84 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#80 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Arom d Hostel
Arom d Hostel
#175 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#13 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 632 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Asadang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Asadang

Property: The Asadang
Address: 94 Asadang Rd., | Wang Buraphaphirom, Pranakhorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Asadang 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asadang is the sister B&B of The Bhuthorn, Bangkok. It's converted from a century-old shophouse that already registered to The Fine Arts Department. The property is located in the center of Bangkok Historical area with walking distance to The Grand Palace, Wat Pho, National Museum, Flower Market amd much more. There're 9 rooms with en-suite bathroom, cable TV, and access to WiFi Internet. Each room is decorated with antique furniture, Thai craft, and hand woven silk and cotton. Our goal is to offer our guests the atmosphere of old-time Bangkok while traveling in this big and colorful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Asadang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Asadang Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing