We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Bangkok, cheap clean and friendly hostel”
Review of Asok Montri Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asok Montri Hostel
Ranked #201 of 1,253 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best location in Bangkok, cheap clean and friendly hostel”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Dorm room here was 450B, single room 650B, both with share bathroom. Single room was tiny, squeezed between 2nd and 3rd floors, very clean and good AC but no window. Share bathrooms were really clean (except when some guests left mess in toilet, which of course isn't responsibility of hostel). Good wifi in all rooms. Staff really friendly and helpful, had good conversation about nearby Soi Cowboy and the state of Bangkok nightlife. Hostel makes a point of not catering to sex-tourists. Also, the guy told me about the amazing cheap food court on the 5th floor of Terminal 21 shopping mall which I didn't know about! Ate there 3 times a day for 4 days! Located in quiet alley just off Sukhumvit Soi 19 (the first right when coming from Sukhumvit), less than 5 minutes walk from Asok station. Sukhumvit area is more expensive than other places (Khao San Road), but far better for exploring Bangkok.

Room Tip: Dorm, unless a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    28
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
20
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here only one night during a stopover in Bangkok. Best thing about this place is its location near Asok BTS station and the bog shopping mall Terminal 21. The hostel is easily reached from the airport and just a 5 minute walk from a BTS/MRT station.
The room we stayed in was tiny, but clean. Shared showers were clean, but there was only one with hot water. Breakfast is included but was light indeed. Staff are friendly.
A good place to stay but do not expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilse_en_Marcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The manager of Asok Montri is extremely helpful. Overhearing a conversation with a friend, he jumped in and offered advice to travel, what to look out for, etc... He saw him helping quite a few other people too.
Overall, the facilities are clean, the rooms nice.
Only the shared bathrooms are a bit small and not very practical to put all your stuff while you are having a shower.
The location and putblic transport is also extremely convenient: MTR & Sky train next door! Buses also there as well as a canal next door for a trip on a boat to get to Baan Krua / Jim Thompson house.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneTraveller173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My friend and i stayed here for 2 nights.The room is very simple and clean also the hotel is in the central of Sukhumvit but still quiet and next to the shopping center,MRT.The staff is very nice, helpful cos he gave us a lot of information of Bangkok.I met a lot of nice peoples over there!!!!!
Im very enjoyed it!!!!!!!!!!! but the stairs was hurt my foots!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenjenWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hostel is a gem considering its location and price - it's right near the BTS and an inexpensive but well-kept hostel in a good neighborhood. The proprietors are very kind (possibly one of the kindest out of all the hostels i've stayed so far) and are always there to help you. The room is small but sufficient enough since we're mostly outside anyway. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resident_nutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at Asok Montri for the third time and it is always a pleasure!
The staff is very nice, friendly & help you to make the best out of your Bangkok-trip!
I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a nice&cozy budget option in Sukhumvit and I will definitly stay at Asok Montri again when I am back in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadjaFabiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Quiet, clean little hostel right in the centre of the action on Sukhumvit. Affordable prices, especially considering the area, and a great alternative for those who've gotten tired of Khao San and all it's associated drama! The main draw here is the beautiful couple who run it. Am and Mai are unbelievably kind - you instantly feel welcome, and they both go out of their way to help their guests. The result is that the hostel feels really intimate and friendly - the perfect launch-pad to discover Bangkok with insider tips! The rooms are the cleanest I've seen in Asia, complete with AC and clean bathrooms, too. I stay here again and again, every time I pass through Bangkok, and feel grateful to have discovered this haven in the middle of all the urban madness.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theChaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Sacha's Hotel Uno
Sacha's Hotel Uno
#267 of 871 in Bangkok
1,126 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sam's Lodge
Sam's Lodge
#64 of 681 in Bangkok
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
No photo provided
Graceland Bangkok
#202 of 681 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Sukhumvit
Drop Inn Bangkok
Drop Inn Bangkok
#143 of 681 in Bangkok
80 reviews
Sukhumvit
Best Value Inn
Best Value Inn
#268 of 681 in Bangkok
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asok Montri Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asok Montri Hostel

Property: Asok Montri Hostel
Address: 16/19 Soi Sukhumvit 19, Sukhumvit Rd. | Klongtoey Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 1,253 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Asok Montri Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Asok Montri Hostel, Bangkok. We're a small cozy hostel with great location in Bangkok city. We offer a clean place with friendly atmosphere at a budget price. The hostel situated in a safe and quiet area with easy access to many of Bangkok’s major attractions. It’s only 100 meters or just 2 minutes walk from both BTS Sky Train and MRT Subway. Truly, the best location for rest in downtown Bangkok!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asok Montri Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing