We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst restaurant experience ever!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kowloon Restaurant - CLOSED

Kowloon Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Silom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“worst restaurant experience ever!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went there with a Groupon Voucher for 2 Peking Ducks for "8pax or more". We had to wait really long for the food to be served. The amount of food would have maybe been enough for 3pax, therefore the "Deal" turned out to be a total rip off... Instead of serving Peking Duck in the way it is supposed to be done they actually take the meat and make some sort of curry out of it (!!??). The "Garlic Peking Duck" only consisted of bones with a tiny amount of meat on it that was so overcooked that we were unable to chew it. And to make things even worse the staff was incredibly rude, including the manager! I would never ever go there again or recommend this restaurant to anybody - Especially not the Groupon "Deal"... Worst restaurant experience ever!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carofeli88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    40
    23
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Mix of Tasty Dish and Not Quite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

A dim-sum buffet here is different from elsewhere. Usually, dim-sum buffet comes with fixed choice of soup, choice of end dish like fried rice or noodles and choice of sweets. At Kowloon, a buffet menu includes everything in the menu except set menu. Order whatever you like, they will serve in buffet portion. So, that is good value for money. Most savoury dish is very tasty. Actually egg noodle is soft and gummy. Of all the dim-sum tried that day, siew long pao did not have soup inside. So, they were not very authentic.
Having been here more than once, I think they probably have introduced a new menu. A few dishes I used to order is no longer available, like crispy pancake with banana cream stuffing or cream stuffing bun. Sago in mango sauce with pomelo is alright. Mango pudding is good. But the steamed egg white and milk smells of egg and is something to avoid.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best quality food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

this restuarent have very good quality food. Very clean restuarent.
chinese food is best here and thai food is also good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank niklankjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food and good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I tried this restaurant two times, one dinner one year ago and one tea time this year.
Food are good and the price are reasonable.
Located in the hotel where I stay add its plus point :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deasy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food, Very Good Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I had a chance to eat at Kowloon restaurant with my wife's family for lunch while I was visiting. I have to say that the lunch buffet is very well worth your money. Only 3xx baht per head. Coming from China, the Chinese food here is not too great but I guess the one here is quite authentic as we learned the chef is from HK.

Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kowloon Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing