We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely a good option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sivarin Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sivarin Guesthouse
Ranked #91 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely a good option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at Sivarin on our first two nights in Thailand and it was a great welcome to the city. The taxi driver from the airport had a bit of a hard time finding the place, but at the end of the day, it all worked out :) The location is great - only a 5-10 minute walk to Th Khao San where all the backpacker bars and shopping are, but its not too close to all the action so you can actually sleep if you want to. The rooms were basic and kind of looked like little girls' rooms, but had what we needed, including air conditioning one out of the two nights, and were clean. Shared bathrooms per floor. The breakfast patio is cute. We liked it enough to consider staying there when we returned to Bangkok, but ended up deciding to try out the other side of the city.

Room Tip: Make sure you are very clear about whether you want air con or not, because we only got it one night...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    47
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
74
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sivarin for three nights in April. We checked in at around 2am and even though the service desk was closed, an attendant assisted us within seconds after we rang the doorbell. The service continued to impress us. They had tons of maps and were prepared to answer any and all our questions about how to get around Bangkok.

Their wifi signal was very strong and they even had a desktop computer available downstairs for public use. Using the computer is free.

The location is superb if you're interested in exploring Kao San road and the area. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the river taxi. It's a long way from BTS though.

Our room was always promptly cleaned and the shared bathrooms were spotless. Note that the shower area is not in any way divided from the rest of the bathroom, which is a bit of an annoyance if you're not used to spraying the toilet every time you shower.

This is definitely a good place to stay if you want to save a few baht without compromising the quality of service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimmelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Cheap, cute rooms, balconies which are very nice to sip a beer from and play cards, great staff, good breakfast and a very good location, far enough from Khao san to get a good night sleep but close enough to walk to there. They can arrange buses to your next destination for you. Loved it and will return if ever back in BK.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolveigAsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Out of all the hostels we stayed during our 6 week trip around South East Asia Sivarin Guest House was probably the best one we stayed at (we stayed three times at this hostel). It's very very clean and even though bathrooms are to share they were always impecable. The rooms are big and nicely decorated, the bed is very comfy and they always left 2 bottles of water for free. Staff is very polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but good. Free wi-fi and they had computers and a printer if your needed anything. It was very close to one of the main streets (Khao San Road) but located in a quite street so the noise would not bother you at night. Definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamiko812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Great little guesthouse in Bangkok. Just enough out of the way to avoid all the noise of kho san rd but only a couple of minutes walk away.the rooms are basic but clean and nice, the staff are really friendly and will go out of their way to help you anyway they can. They even looked after our bags while we went to ko samui for two weeks. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Had a room on two different floors both were nice,air con etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwannaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

A nice friendly guesthouse with large rooms and very comfortable beds and pillows. You can pay extra for the AC room but we found the fan was ok for us in April. Shared bathroom was good. Breakfast is fine - eggs, sausage and toast. Just a 10 min walk to the main street with nightlife and restaurants

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcladley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This guesthouse is great! Very good, well located, clean and friendly staff!
The only problem was the taxi driver we have booked whit them and he didnt want to take us to the airport as agreed. 4 people the driver said at 3 AM it should be just one people! But we woke up the person in charged for the guest house and he solved!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunaMagalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Viman Guesthouse
Viman Guesthouse
#112 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Banglamphu
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
Laksameenarai Guesthouse
#78 of 1,131 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Chantra
Baan Chantra
#46 of 606 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Khaosan Immjai
Khaosan Immjai
#67 of 1,131 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#42 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#29 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sivarin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sivarin Guesthouse

Property: Sivarin Guesthouse
Address: 11/1 Soi Samsen 3, Samsen Road | Watsampraya, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sivarin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing