We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hostel, fantastic area”
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smile Society
Ranked #3 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel, fantastic area”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This hostel was fantastic - the host was extremely helpful and friendly, always remembering your name as well!
It is is a very good location, not in the traditional backpacker area (Koh san rd - sic) but instead in silom. I liked this area because it is less touristy and westernised but a bit more traditional with night markets and local food vendors. (Although it still had a KFC and McD near-by!)
The dorm rooms were very comfortable and there is a good common room to hang-out.
Free breakfast is included - this is usually some bread rolls, a muffin and fruit plus juice or tea/coffee.
There is also free wi-fi.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    106
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
115
218
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Smile Society in Bangkok has been to date by far the most enjoyable and full value place we've stayed. Ms. Bee and Ms. Nid go out of their way to make us, and all guest feel at home. We stayed in a two person with private bath and it was 3 star +, just smaller. As we are using Bangkok as a transit point in our extended travels in S.E. Asia we have certainly found "our" place in Bangkok. A little hard to find the 1st time but excelent location with MTR and skytrain near by. If you are coming from the airport, take a cab, go to departure level as you wont have to pay a concession fee it cost us 251 BHT + 45 BHT for 2 highway toll's. There is no longer an 'express bus' because of new rail line into city.

Room Tip: Our room, twin private bath, was on 2nd floor, locking doors between stairs and hallway, quiet and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacadien1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, Overijssel, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2011

A real quiet place in the hectic city of Bangkok. Ms Bee and Nid are very helpful, and really nice. I don't think I'be ever been to a hostel were the staff was this nice! If you have any questions they will go the extra mile to get an answer. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuusBakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2011

you will never find a hostel anywhere around the world that looks even remotely like this simply because it is so clean so quiet so organised and ms bee and Nid her sister what can i say about them so helpful and so kind and her English is good and she knows everything about everything in Thailand extremely informative... they deserve all the success they have achieved and more !
i mean COME ON GUYS it's the highest rated for a reason ! :D

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohamed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This place is lovely. Ms Be and her sister, who set it up and run it, are so friendly and helpful, they deserve to succeed. They even took us out to see local sites, just because they could and had some time to spare. Bangkok is a big, hectic city, and the Silom Road, where the guesthouse is, is a pretty frantic place, but walk through the door and you are in a homely oasis of peace and calm where pretty much everything you need can be provided.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Booked this place online because Smile Society ranked the highest on the list. There is a reason it's number one.

Run efficiently by Bee, the head lady who you'll come to know and love, Smile Society has got to be one of the best Hostels I've stayed in while traveling SE Asia. Plus, she speaks superb english, and is extremely informative and helpful when it comes to figuring out what to do and how to navigate Bangkok and its surroundings.

I actually checked out to go to another hotel, but came running back to Smile Society because this place is just that good.

I should mention that this is more of a boutique hostel. The rooms are immaculately and spotlessly clean. The most common lodging option is a dorm room, separated by gender. There is a mixed dorm option as well.

The bathrooms are fully powered by hot water and well-lit. The staff do a FANTASTIC job at keeping the space spotlessly clean.

Located in Pit Pong, Smile Society is in the center of all the hustle and bustle, yet is quietly located off the busy main street.

Breakfast of fresh fruit, hot tea/coffee, and bread is included in the price.

The hostel felt like a home away from home thanks to all the amenities (FREE INTERNET and WIFI, affordable laundry service) and comfort it offered. We departed early in the morning at around 4AM, yet Bee managed to call us a taxi and packed us our breakfast. That's what I call impeccable service.

When we came back to Bangkok before heading out to Laos, we had about 10 hours in the city. Bee allowed us to leave our bags and use the internet. Again, service like this is what makes this place amazing.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. 2nd floor might be easier on the legs though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Easy to get to and find with the owners directions. Great location just by a street market and a short walk to the sky train.
Clean - Secure - Calm - great location - fun - nice atmosphere
The owner, Bee, is a legend and could not have done more to help.
I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,186 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#1 of 1,186 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#31 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#15 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Property: Smile Society
Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small youth hostel run by local. We are peaceful and environmental friendly. Staff are knowledgeable and happy to help guide your trip. You will see as local sees, eat like local eats and feel like local does. We provide clean, cosy and comfortable accommodation for young travelers around the world. No matter you travel alone, with family or friends, we have many room types that suit everyone needs. We are not in old city but located in great location on Silom Road which make you easy to explore Bangkok. We are only 5 min walk to Sky trian and Metro. Traveling to Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, China Town, etc is very easy and cheap. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in only Female or MIXED dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. It is good for free exercise :) We appreciate you read and understand our house rules and conditions before booking. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To book a room, please make a direct booking to our website. To get good deal, pls contact us via website smilesocietyhostel only. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing