We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Smile Society

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smile Society
Ranked #3 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is great for young people on a budget. Includes breakfast and the rooms are clean and nice. The lady at the front desk is very helpful. Also provide laundry service. Overall great place. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    106
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
118
230
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los angeles
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved this place. Dee was so helpful in telling us about the nearby attractions, hailing taxis, and guiding our group in the right direction! Rooms are very accommodating w/AC, and the hostel stays quiet at night which is great! Would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElBro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The money we paid for 3 nights was really good, not too expensive yet we got a really nice room, great ac, a private light and private power outlet as well as a cupboard ro store our things in. The free breakfast was brilliant! The lady who runs it was so nice and helpful as well, she's ace! Definitely returning again :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This Hostel is truely amazing! It's my first time in Bangkok. I stayed in a private room. The hostel is very well managed. Our room is quiet and clean. The sweety lady owner is very friendly and helpful. She knows the city and always willing to help.
Thanks B! Wish to see you again in near future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jieonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I've been to Smile Society the first time for Songkran and I enjoyed the nice support (additional showers and towel storage). Since the common area with couches and TV is perfect for relaxing in this vivid metropolis, the breakfast is good, the staff is friendly and the Hostel is well situated (near a skytrain station), I didn't doubt about where to go my next time in Bangkok!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at smile society for 3 nights.

Its a nice little hostel, its very quiet, so if you’re looking for a party hostel this is not for you.

If you want to relax from the bustle that is Bangkok then this hostel is great. The lady running the place seems very nice and helped us planning a few trips into Bangkok and about a sky bar within 300 meters of the hostel.

Smile society is near the silom night markets, but out of the centre and what I would call the backpacker district. To get into the centre we took the sky train (BTS) to the river (saphan taksin stop) and took one of the boats up the river. from here we went Khao San Road --> Grand palace --> Emerald Buddha and that area.

The second day we took public transport again to the national stadium, to visit the Jim Thompson house, behind the house there is the canal, turn right and a few hundred meters down there is a ferry stop. we took this towards the centre of town to Wat Saket, which was great. A hill with a wat at the top with loads of bells. we wandered from there. The lady at the hostel told us about this route, so if your interested ask her about it.

So the hostel isn’t in the centre, but with the good public transport it's easily accessible.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The owner is very helpful and accommodating. Most our tours started really early, so the owner packed us takeaway breakfast bags. The location is good . Overall we had a lovely stay at the smile society.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#14 of 866 in Bangkok
3,500 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,241 in Bangkok
1,019 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,241 in Bangkok
536 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#7 of 1,241 in Bangkok
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Society

Property: Smile Society
Address: 130/3-4, Silom Soi 6, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile Society 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smile Society is small youth hostel run by local. We are peaceful and environmental friendly. Staff are knowledgeable and happy to help guide your trip. You will see as local sees, eat like local eats and feel like local does. We provide clean, cosy and comfortable accommodation for young travelers around the world. No matter you travel alone, with family or friends, we have many room types that suit everyone needs. We are not in old city but located in great location on Silom Road which make you easy to explore Bangkok. We are only 5 min walk to Sky trian and Metro. Traveling to Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Wat Arun, China Town, etc is very easy and cheap. All rooms are air-condition and non-smoking. We have private rooms and shared room in only Female or MIXED dormitory. We are eco-friendly, our hostel has no elevator. It is good for free exercise :) We appreciate you read and understand our house rules and conditions before booking. We ban tourist sex and don't accept Thai girl or Thai boy. We have age limitation 49 yrs old as some facilities are not well-supported to that certain age. We reserve the right to decline any booking that do not comply with our house rules. To book a room, please make a direct booking to our website. To get good deal, pls contact us via website smilesocietyhostel only. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smile Society reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile Society Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing