We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our stay in Bangkok!”
Review of The Artists' Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Artists' Place
Ranked #211 of 656 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Made our stay in Bangkok!”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We didn´t think we were going to enjoy busy Bangkok, but this really is a retreat from it all. Its in a local Thai neighbourhood where everyone will make you feel at home. Charlee, the owner, will do all he can to help you and make your stay is enjoyable. He even helped us getting clothes made and having hair cuts etc. for a ´local´ price :-) His friends Bouk and Kee cook really lovely food just around the corner - I miss it already and can´t wait to go back!

The rooms are a bit dated, but are clean and comfortable with fans. The prices are really good value for Bangkok too.

Thanks Charlee and friends for an unforgettable stay x

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlottie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This place is one of Bangkok's best kept secrets. A lovely refuge from the chaos of the city. Nestled in the heart of one of the last traditional neighborhoods it is a short walk to the Skytrain. We have stayed many times and it is always like returning home. The Artist's place is one of a kind, warm, quirky and refreshingly off the usual tourist track. The soi (streets) are very safe with mostly pedestrian traffic and the food vendors great. I recommend this to anyone visiting Bangkok.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank SelinaBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

we met a guy in cambodia who told us it was the best place in bangkok, he was right. The artists place is by far the most welcoming place we have stayed on all our travels. it was as if we had lived on the street for 10 years. not only charlee and sook lady but the whole street is amazing. its the perfect place to stay in bangkok, its so close to a skytrain stop that you can see anything in bangkok then retreat to this idyll that feels as far from the hustle and bustle as you can be. compared to anything else we looked at it was really cheap and because its in a little local neighbourhood everything around is really cheap. Charlee is the nicest gfuy you could meet and helpfull with everything. he took me to a place to get a suit made, translated for me and i eneded up with an amazing suit. on top of everything he got up at 5 in the morning to see us off when we left. i came to bangkok planning to hate it and absolutley loved it. i will definately go back and will definately stay here. p.s if you want a khao san road style holiday dont come here. its better than that!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam_kitch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakse, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We got the place recommended by some friends. I am so glad we followed up on that recommendation. This guesthouse is situated in a local area, near the skytrain. (about 10 min walk) The area is great, only friendly people and really good food! (Padthai or fried rice for 25 Bath!)
The guesthouse is owned bij Charlee, the most welcoming host ever! He will do everything for you. He brought us to the postoffice and to the skytrain.
There is free coffee, free laundry, free wifi, free filtered water, a kitchen. There are paintings and poems everywhere (Charlee is the artist). The rooms on the roof are really big!
We loved it and will definitely return here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maboers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I was recommended The Artist's Place by a traveler I met. "You must go here! There's nothing else like it in Bangkok. You'll fall in love with the place and Charlee." he told me. And he was right. This is more than a guesthouse .... it's a place to escape the chaos of Bangkok, to experience an authentic neighborhood, to hang out with fellow travelers, and to meet the delightful Charlee, the owner of the guesthouse, who makes you feel welcome as soon as you walk in. From a objective standpoint, the rates are very reasonable, the place is very clean and well maintained by the lovely Lady Sook, and the amenities are unbeatable (free coffee, filtered water, laundry, wifi, left luggage, etc.) But the place is so much more: the walls are adorned with Charlee's amazing art (he is one of Thailand's most renowned watercolor artists) and the character and atmosphere of the place draw you in. Expect evenings with the neighborhood kids, impromptu musical concerts, and hangouts with Charlee and his 'gang.' When I returned to The Artist's Place a month after my first stay, it felt like coming home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Band0fGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,214 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artists' Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artists' Place

Property: The Artists' Place
Address: 61 - 63 Soi Tiem Boon Yang, Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists’ Place is a peaceful guesthouse with an artists flair, located in a charming Thai neighbourhood, away from ‘the hustle and bustle’ of the tourist districts. It is convenient to shopping areas and all tourist interests. You will pay local prices for Thai food and beer and Charlee, the local artist owner, is always available for helpful advice and warm hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing