We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's ok, but they need to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit
Ranked #249 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The place is quite new so overall the rooms are very nice and things in general work. However,
Check in : It's slow with just one girl running the counter, queues quickly build up in the small reception area with the porter asking people to take a seat.
Internet : Our room was in the middle of the floor, on the 5th level and we couldn't get wifi signal in our room, they gave us a lan cable which was good for my laptop but not for our mobile devices. Several times staff said they would look in to it, but it appears they just don't have the right wifi gear to penetrate all rooms.
Restaurant : it is ok, the free breakfast is fine, the problem is the outdoor smoking area is very close to the main restaurant and they leave the doors open so the smoke wafts across you whilst you are eating breakfast, not ideal.
Room Keys : They had no room key for us when we checked in, we had to get the porter to let us in to the room each time we left the room until mid the next morning when someone arrived who could program a key. I recall this happening on my last stay, the porter said it happens all the time, he obviously hates it too.
So yes they need do to some work on their systems, management are not very active.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjones41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

This is a three star hotel - well, perhaps two star at first impression,- but it improves and consolidates at three stars. Reasonable rooms - ok fridge and mini bar, nice staff at check in, tired carpets in the corridors, the pool is a bathtub, the breakfast beats many - clearly above three star - the rooms: sensible, good ok for the price. The location - not so easy to find and the hotel doesn't tell you it'll pick you up from the BRT when you book. It'd be good to know which exit to leave on ...

OK so some pluses and negatives - but safe, caring and respectful. If you don't have lots of dough, consider. But avoid if you have trouble with stairs - they are the only way to the breakfast. The picture they have at their page - well no.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James0K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Was very pleased with this property. The walk from the end of soi 20 is not that far and is well lit. The service they provide bringing guests to the end of the soi is a nice service. Hotel breakfast is decent...not to the level of the Grand Sheraton or other 5 star properties but the price here is great value for the money. Front staff very efficient and helpful in check in and taking care of any issues during our stay. Very clean and free internet a nice touch for business travellers. Will use it again personally and for business clients visiting Thailand.

Room Tip: Pool very small and right next to dining area on rooftop but did not come expecting a large pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchmanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Three of us stayed in a double room and were charged 800 baht for our third person which we were used to paying by now. The rooms were very spacious and clean-- would be a great hotel for business, couples, or friends. The hotel needs a native English speaker as we had a hard time communicating with most of the staff.

We went up to the pool on the roof to get drinks our last day and the pool is tiny. It's more the size of a hot tub. I think the staff was a little surprised anyone was ordering drinks or we were the first ones to ever do so. I ordered a cocktail off the menu and was told there wasn't any white wine for the cocktail. I said ok even though I saw bottles of it on my way in. My boyfriend ordered a Singha and my friend ordered a cocktail. It took about 20 minutes for the cocktails to arrive but still no beer. We joked the bar was out of Singha and it turns out they didn't have it! We laughed it off and he ordered a Chang but it still seemed a bit strange.

Overall this hotel is clean and just what we needed.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

simply brilliant hotel. the room was really modern which made me feel right at home. i seriously feel this was the most comfortable ive ever felt in a hotel room. really blown away. visiting bangkok again this week,booked western plus yet again. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liewliew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Best Western Plus @Sukhumvit is stuck in the middle between skytrain stations Phrom Phong (Emporium) and Asoke (Terminal 21). Also at same location as Asoke is the Sukhumvit metro station.

The hotel is basically set up for someone who wants a clean, comfortable, and modern room without all the big hotel atmosphere. At the entrance there is a front desk, a few easy chairs to relax and wait in, and the elevators.

The rooms provide everything you need for sleeping, relaxing, and showering. There is also a king size comfortable bed, a desk, wifi, and, depending on the room, an easy chair or sofa. There is an assortment of connections for electronic devices.

I did not try room service so I cannot comment on it. I did have breakfast buffet available on 9th floor. It was good quality but not worth the price if you are not a big eater in the morning. There is a small swimming pool outside the restaurant but might not be too comfortable in the morning during breakfast. There is a place for drinks and finger foods beneath the lobby that is open in the evening.

There is a good selection of restaurants on the street, both Thai and international. I tried a German, Swiss, and Italian which were quite good. There is also restaurants featuring Japanese and Indian.

A 10 minute walk from the hotel to either Asoke or Phrom Phong skytrain stations.

Given the location and the rate it is a good hotel for singles or couples who have things to do in Bangkok but want a quiet, comfortable, clean place to relax, clean up, and get some good sleep. You can get a room for around $50US a night. Not bad in the heart of Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarwinND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and we had a great time. So convenient to all shopping mall and walking distance to the train station. The room is very nice and clean with modern furnishing and what's great about the room is very quiet at night even though the hotel is close to the main road. George at the front desk is fantastic really helpful and attentive great asset to the hotel. We had dinner in the roof top Restaurant good food, great service and friendly staff as well as reasonable prices.
The only downside is the hard bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Best Western Premier Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Maitria Hotel Sukhumvit 18 - A Chatrium Collection
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit

Address: 17 Sukhumvit Soi 20 | Klong Toey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS @ 20 Sukhumvit)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £35 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus At 20 Sukhumvit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus @ 20 Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing