We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location beaten up hotel”
Review of Eight Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eight Inn
Ranked #446 of 742 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights not the greatest, would not recommend! Looks like was furnished badly and is in drastic need of revival, me and my friend were scared to get in the lift. The rooms were out of date and the bathroom was simply dangerous you could easily slip over as the shower spills across the whole floor!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Partychef1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel seems to running a scam. The owner told us he made a mistake on our credit card and had sent it through to cancel it. Had my husband sign another slip and he never cancelled the first. It has been four months and he will not answer our e-mails, correct this or respond in any way. There is nothing good I can say about the hotel itself except that the location is good..Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank U8601RGTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Hi i stayed at the eight inn for two nights in December.. It was average at best, nothing wrong with hotel, i guess for the price you pay its fine. Located on Soi 8 close to all atrractions on Sukuhmvit road. If u are looking for a clean room to stay in without any thrills, this is it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Chumwe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I don't even know how to start... The position is fine, just a couple of minutes from Nana BTS station, but basically that's all that the place has to offer.

The room was apparently nicely decorated, but then you look more closely and it's crap: cables exposed, floor full of cracks, terrible and unstable toilet, etc. What really surprised me is that the room had a window facing the common corridor, right in front of the elevator!!! It was closed with a curtain and scotch tape!!!??? The bathroom is also set up the wrong way, as if you want to go to the toilet you need to step into the shower, while it would make sense to have things the other way round. The shower area was often populated by cockroaches, and the water was not going down as it was supposed to: basically you had to way 30-50 minutes if you wanted your shower not to look like a lake. Laundry service is crazy expensive (THB 150) while right outside the door there is the same service for much less (THB90). The staff tries to be helpful, but it surprised me that the OWNER of the place did not know how to operate the Credit Card machine because "usually my husband does this"... I would expect the owner of a hotel to know how to get my money! When you enter the room you are supplied with ONE small soap and a half a roll of toilet paper: if you want to wash your hair, you need to buy your own shampoo. This place is marked as 3 stars... it's maximum 1, and it's way more expensive than great guest houses in Patong. I will upload photos in another major travel advising site, please check there too!

Room Tip: Just avoid it. Or if you really must sleep there, ask for a room that has a real window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiorgioC256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Well I booked this room on online at the last minute as it was pooring in bangkok when I arrived so couldnt walk door to door to few as I would normally. I chose it as the price was in my budget (US$40) and location was perfect and the photos showed nice rooms. Well here is the reality.. scaley,mouldy, slightly dirty bathrooms and poorly designed (walk through shower to get to basin and toilet -weird) (insufficient shelf or storage for toiletries) and only supplied two thin towels and two tiny soap bars, no face washers, floor mat, shampoo/ gels etc. Expect that if $20 a night.
However my big disappointment to was the bed. Very hard (and I like a firm bed so that says alot) plus the bed was lumpy and uneven. The staff were helpful by upgrading my room which also had a similar bed and tried padding it with a mattress topper. Helped slightly but I could not sleep soundly and was very sore across my back and hips in the morning. Also had hot been upgraded I would have had zero view from my window just a mouldy brick wall. The view from the front facing room was good if u like to look out over the vibrant street scape. So put simply if they fixed the bed issue, renovated the bathrooms and supplied nicer amenities then a may stay again but definitely not in the entry level rooms and not for that price. Nice location. I ended up forfeiting my second night paid to move to a hotel with a better bed. Afterall that's what we use the hotel rooms for. Infact I moved to nearby hiptique which has close to the best bed ive slept in at a hotel including high priced hotels. (See my review for hiptique though for more info)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here as a last minute decision in April 2012 with my partner.

First impressions when you arrive on Soi Eight Sukhumvit Road is where is the hotel entrance.

Its tucked away and all you can really see if the front door and a water feature outside the entrance. THe service on check in is fine and the staff are very friendly.

The lift upstairs is the smallest lift i have ever seen, Id say two people with luggage is the max for the lift.

The rooms are small but clean, the wet room is also very clean. This is probably due to it being a moderately new hotel so lets see how it is in a couple of years time.

The location is the hotels number one selling point. Its only a few minutes walk to Nana BTS and only a few more to Sukhumvit soi 4.

If your on a budget this is a good hotel for you.

Personally i doubt you would find a cleaner hotel for this price in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room. They generally provide a small room but will upgrade if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry2009Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Don't expect too much when you don't want to spend too much for a secure, very central place with basic services to stay during your trip to BKK. I like this hotel! Cheap but clean room, the lift is super small, very good location, just 1 min walk to get to BTS station, isn't it awesome enough? Soi 8 has so many good restaurants and street food stalls. Across the Sukhumvit blvd is another soi (sorry I forgot the number) which never sleeps, plenty of night clubs and bars.

Overall, it's worth your money though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenzie_Bui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 891 in Bangkok
8,753 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#84 of 891 in Bangkok
2,806 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Inn

Address: 15 - 17 Sukhumvit Soi 8, Klongtoey,, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 742 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £17 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eight Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing