We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Empire Place Condo
Ranked #30 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Super accommodations”
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Our 1-bedroom suite must have been close to 1,000sqft with full amenities, full kitchen, washer/dryer, the WORKS!!! Free wi-fi plus double security in accessing the units. The staff was overwhelmingly helpful and friendly. The only (only ONE) complaint is the location. No doubt the sky train is nearby but there are no decent restaurants within walking distance, and we don't really want to walk too much in the Bangkok humid heat. Other than that, super!!!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    84
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
139
98
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We left our home in Bangkok yesterday! We are vacation club owners and stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. It was one of the most pleasant experiences we have ever had! The staff definitely made our stay special.. We traveled with our 19 month old toddler and the they made it easy on us by accommodating our special requests from finding an international hospital for a strep throat to booking spa, salon appointments. The pool was gorgeous, it was a pleasure to take a dip in the pool and I usually stay away from using community pools. Our apartment was vacuumed and mopped daily and the staff provided us with more than enough water everyday. My husband loved the iced tea and within 10 minutes we had a freshly brewed pitcher in our kitchen! Please tip the house keeping staff as they work very hard and are always available to fulfill your requests. I just can't say enough good things about this wonderful place. We are proud of being vacation club owners! Thank you Marriott at Empire Place for making our time in Bangkok unforgettable. - Asli and John

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I just got back from Bangkok today and I must say that this hotel was definitely a pleasure to stay in for the past few days. It exceeded my expectations of the place; as it was a free stay, I did not expect much. Upon arriving, we were greeted warmly and our needs were taken care immediately with tea served and snacks provided. The room was clean and minimal and the bed was comfortable, another perk is the unlimited range of channels provided on the television. It is also convenient for travellers, as the sky train is a 10 minute walk away and it is very safe at night. The hotel staffs were all gems, especially with their "at your service" service, you can even have mcds delivered to you at 1 am! In short it was a pleasure to stay here, and I would highly recommend this place! Do get a 3 room suite if you have are a huge group of people or family as it can fit upto 10 people (yes, it is that big!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayvacation101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I am currently staying here. Been here for 2 days so far, staying a week. We checked in at about 10 AM on Friday, the room wasn't ready so we went and grabbed a bite to eat and the resort kept our bags. By the time we got back after lunch our room was ready for us! Waiting was a cold drink (I think it was sweet tea) cold wet towels and complimentary snacks and bottled water.

The air carrier (Gulf Air) lost one of our bags and I had a little bit of a problem telling my contact with Gulf Air the room number and location so they can deliver my bag to me. The staff were more than helpful to talk to them on my behalf and get everything straightened out.

I am staying in the 2 bedroom apartments and they are very nice with modern appliances. Even free WiFi and LAN access in the room.

Bring a power converter if you are from the US as all the plugs are 220v.

If you were like me you could not find this place on Google Maps. You can probaby find the Empire Towers, well that is about 2 blocks away from the Empire Place. There is a sign, but it is obstructed by trees so you can't see it from the street.

We took the BTS train from the airport here. If you have kids or any amount of luggage i would not reccomend this option. You are literally packed in that train like sardines depending on the time you catch it. It wasn't terribly difficult to follow the directions they send you to get to the resort, but you have to pay close attention to them though. If we had to do all over again we would have taken a cab.

We went to the weekend market today and took the BTS train and being more familiar and knowing what to expect made it less stressful. just know to have coin Baht for the tickets. There is a teller for change, but there is always a line for it. It cost 40 baht for a one way ticket to the Weekend Market station (Mochit) from Chong Nonsi which is the closest station to the resort.

Also, if you aren't used to public transportation it will help you to know whch train to get on if you know the final destination of the direction you want to go in. Because it doesn't really tell you thw stops in either direction except for the last one at the other stops. But there are always security personnel at all the stops that are more than happy to help.

We have been eating mainly street food the past few days, no stomach problems yet so don;t be afraid to try new things!

I hope to post some pictures that will help you know what building to look for and other things. plan to post more at the end ofour trip!

enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My wife and I were spending our holidays in Bangkok and staying at one of its one bedroom units in 9 th floor on June 9 - 13, 2012. The suites were very good, clean and well equipped beside the kind and helpful services from the staffs, as Marriot standard. Wireless internet connection was good and reachable from the swimming pool area that was located in the 1st floor, The only minor issue was the bedroom AC that was a bit noisy and not well located that made the air blew towards your face while you were sleeping. The swimming pool were not bad, but unfortunately the fitness center was a bit disappointing as the equipment were not belonging to the good brand and half of them were out of service. This club was part of a condominium (The Empire Place) without Marriot board, so if you told the taxi driver (especially from the airport) only The Marriot VC without complete address, they might not be able to find it, as the driver would look for Marriot high rise building, so The Empire Place, behind The Empire Tower was more knowledgeable to the taxi drivers. The Club did not provide restaurant, so unless you were preparing your own breakfast, you had to wait around 9:00 for having breakfast at the Oasis Food Pavilion (basement of The Empire Tower) that is 5 minutes walk but during weekdays only or The City Viva for lunch and dinner only, basically finding food should not be any issues but you have to go out of the building. Supermarket and 7eleven were also in the neighborhood. Location of the Club was great, just 10 minutes walk to Chong Nonsi BTS, the skytrain station that could take you to major parts of Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Handoko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Staff
Firstly, I have to praise the friendly Marriott counter staff. They speak good English and are always ready to offer their service the best they can. They call cabs with meter right to the lobby for us. They have DVDs for loan, tennis rackets and even children swimming floats. Most unforgettable is their sincere smile and cheery greetings every day! For our last trip they recommended us a couple of places to visit and even gave us the maps to those places. We were very pleased with their recommendations.

The Place
We got a 1 bedroom unit this time round. Last time was a 3 bedroom one. Almost everything was the same - the fully equipped kitchen, the washing machine, queen size sofa bed with full mattress in the living room, free Wifi, 40" TV in all rooms equipped with DVD players, iPod player etc. It was not as cold as a hotel room. It felt more like our own home. That's why we were back for a second time. Marriott has really set the standard.

The Surrounding
City Vivas, within 5-10 min walk from The Empire Place, has a supermarket and some restaurants. We tried Shabu Shabu City for Shabu Shabu buffet. I am a meat eater so I love the thinly-cut pieces of wide variety of meat. Supermarket has everything we need, from bread to frozen food to fruits to snacks. Price is on the high side. There is a 7-11 also 5-10 min walk that sells groceries at a cheaper price. There is a Japanese fast food restaurant that we tried that is quite economical and the food is good as well.

On weekdays, do head down to the food court at the basement of The Empire Tower (10-15min walk away) to try the local food at super low prices.

There is an Heathland outlet about 15-20 min walk away that can let you do spa and message at super good prices.

Nearest BTS is also within walking distance for us to get to other places like MBK, Siam Square, Siam Paragon etc. But for a family of 4 like us, we find that taking a cab is actually about the same price as taking the BTS.

Oh, do ask for a map in Thai of The Empire Place from the friendly counter staff. You will need it to show to the cab / Tuk Tuk drivers when you want to return. Most cab/Tuk Tuk drivers are not familiar with the name "The Empire Place". If you show them the map, it helps a great deal.

Room Tip: So far, the 1 bedroom and 3 bedroom units that we stayed at at different floors are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
865 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We used our Marriot membership to book a room in this condo hotel. Quite spacious, a unit has 3 bedrooms,kitchen, a dining and family room.

If you are going to Bangkok as a family, this condohotel can accomodate 5-6 in one unit and can serve as a home away from home.It has a kitchen and even has dining utensils, a spacious family and dining room and even has its own laundry room.

Definitely suited for a family or a bigger group.It is near the train station and quite accessible to almost anywhere in Bangkok

Room Tip: You can only book in this condohotel if you are a member of the Marriot Asia Pacific club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#111 of 858 in Bangkok
777 reviews
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
#223 of 858 in Bangkok
203 reviews
Sathorn
Yellow Ribbon Hills Executive Mansion
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Place Condo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Place Condo

Property: The Empire Place Condo
Address: 88 / 170 Narathivas, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Marriott's Bangkok Empire Place)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn , Yannawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Place Condo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Empire Place Condo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vacation Club At The Empire Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing