We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and spacious rooms, no real services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Empire Place Condo
Ranked #35 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and spacious rooms, no real services”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room itself was large and spacious, pretty comfortable. It's basically a residence that has some rooms that belong to Marriott. There are 2 old slow elevators, one of which wasn't working. The staff in the little "concierge" room were friendly, but didn't really seem to know a whole lot about helping with tour planning unless you already knew what/where you wanted to go, and then they handed you a pamphlet. Taxis can be called from the street, which is nice, and the bell staff were exceedingly friendly.

Would give it four stars because of the service if there were really anything worth doing within walking distance. In the future, we'd rather stay at a "real" hotel in a smaller room, but down by the river.

Room Tip: Not much you can do to choose - it's all about which units are part of the time share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeaches2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback about concierge services will be shared with the resort's leadership team and we thank you for your comments. Our team looks forward to your next stay in Bangkok so we may truly exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    85
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
144
99
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked via family's membership for 3 nights. What a lovely property! Lush and comfortable 1 room apartment but could stay 4 pax as there is a comfortable double sofa bed in the lounge and a huge king size bed in the bedroom. Very we'll equipped w 2 flat screen tv, fully stocked kitchen and a dining table for 4. All cutlery n crockery are intact with pots, pans, toaster, kettle and even a rice cooker. Electric stove with 2 hobs and a microwave oven. We'll designed unit with washing machine & dryer tucked away in a closet with ironing board and iron and vacuum cleaner. Biggest bathroom ever seen with shower and a huge bath tub. Nice!!!

Check in was quick and very inviting making us feel very welcome. We got some lime tea upon getting in the unit. There were some fruits and a bowl of snacks all complimentary for us. 4 big bottles of drinking water were provided, again free. What was sweet of them was remembering my daughter's birthday with a beautiful cake. They also took a photo of us and framed it up and was given to us as a souvenir. Wow, they think of everything!

So they passed all d amenities and facilities and bonus of free wifi & internet access. So now to location. Not too bad actually, right smack in d business district of Sathorn. The nearest BTS is Chong Nonsi and everywhere is just a few stops away. Although looks very near, it is a good 6-8 mins walk but all under a walkway. Taking taxis was easy but you really need to have yr destination written in Thai. It was rather difficult for us to get there fm the airport, maybe due to an ignorant taxi driver, but we got there. Overall a wonderful property and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed their stay with us in Bangkok! Thank you for your five-star review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy Land
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

did two weeks here during the World Cup, needless to say we were a bit loud for the 3 am matches and no complaints. poor manners I know. aside from that the place is perfect. 7 minute walk to BTS Chongnonsi, 4 minute walk to Villa Market and 3 minutes to a 7-11. we used taxi for short rides to the W hotel, Ku De Ta and Pullman G for some dinners. price range from 39 to 47 baht. you could walk to these places easy but it requires going up some stairs and if your dressed nice better to get that air con taxi.

staff really aim to please and the maid service is daily. pool was empty some days and full on others. fitness pretty much wide open with one or two users that I noticed on my daily swims there's no restaurant on site but you can order pretty much anything in Bangkok and have it delivered. we did KFC and the hotel is on file so fast delivery. never bothered with the library and the sauna you need to ask for assistance first. steam room men's locker room was broken all 14 days.

the rooms are really nice with TV's and DVD players. only one safe in the master bedroom. comfy beds with 6 pillows in the master. both rooms full baths. living and dining comfy as well with another TV w DVD player. Three air conditioners that chill to well. outside lanai if you smoke. kitchen has almost everything. no oven but they have baking sheets, we had trouble with the toaster and just grilled morning toast on a frying pan. washer and dryer with free soap. you can grab softener for a buck at the 7-11.

Just a relaxing stay in a great location. close to Silom the River and an easy run by taxi to Sukhumvit area and Centralworld via Wireless road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kai_khem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The units themselves are modern and lovely; the photos uploaded by other reviewers are still accurate. This property is actually part of a high rise upscale condominium building in the financial area of Bangkok - away from most other hotels, restaurants and attractions frequented by leisure travellers.

The staff are in their office 24/7, friendly, efficient, always willing to answer questions, assist with a problem or hail you a cab. Wat and Non were especially helpful.

The good: Well cared for, clean and secure property. While it's an out of the way location, neighborhood seems very safe. Staff is great. Units have housekeeping service daily and fresh bottled water is also provided daily.

The not so good: Because this is part of a private residence there are no services available - no gift shop, no business center - not even a printer, no restaurants, there isn't even a vending machine. This is actually more inconvenient than it might sound.

The pool looked inviting although we didn't use it during our trip. The fitness center is not as large as it appears in the photos and 2 of the 4 cardio machines were out of order.

The Villa Market, a block and a half away is quite well stocked but expensive if you are looking for western foods (a large box of corn flakes was about $9 USD).

The only restaurant recommended by the staff is Sarah Janes about a block away. We found the atmosphere "lacking", the food quality fair to mediocre and the service friendly but in need of improvement. We chose not to eat there a second time....

Although the Skytrain is nearby it is inconvenient and during rush hours the lines there looked as bad as the surface traffic - which is horrible, even as early as 6:30 am.

If you stay here - there is a lovely Italian restaurant across the highway (you reach it by going up the stairs at the closest overpass and then back down on the other side of the road) called U'Livo. I found this myself using an app called "Around Me". I don't know why most of the Marriott staff don't mention it as they are aware it exists. It is owned and operated by a former Four Seasons chef, who circulates in the dining room, welcoming guests and offers some complimentary items like bread, a small appetizer and petit fours.

The Ascott Hotel on Sathorn Rd has the "M Pub" which is an English style bar and restaurant that is another option for dinner. Most everything else is too far to walk - not due to distance - but due to heat and humidity.

There does appear to be 2 or 3 more restaurants opening soon that may provide some relief - otherwise, pick a place, choose a later hour to dine avoiding the worst traffic and take a cab.

All in all, the property itself and the people were great but if I was returning to Bangkok, I would choose to stay in an area that offered more amenities.

A word about the military rule - if I hadn't known about it through international news I wouldn't have had a clue. We never saw any evidence whatsoever of a problem or heightened military presence, even at the airport. Don't let this stop you from visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IHSPAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for visiting us on your recent trip to Bangkok! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent a week here after a lengthy trip around southeast Asia. The amenities were incredible, everything was clean, and the staff was superb. There are a few good restaurants nearby, a pretty extensive grocery store, and the sky train only a five minute walk away. Definitely one of the top 5 places we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajtarzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Marriott Vacation Club at Empire Place! Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I'm a long-time Marriott customer and our family has long had Marriott time shares. Whenever I stay in a hotel, the local Marriott properties are the first I look at. In Bangkok, I wasn't disappointed by the VC at Empire.

This convenient location is just block from the Metro, but don't make the beginner's mistake of heading down the first flights of stairs you see, or you'll have to climb back up and over to reach the hotel. When you're lugging your suitcase in Bangkok heat/humidity like I was, this means entering the hotel looking like a man on the run who can't form a single coherent sentence.

The staff of the hotel was gracious, helpful, and informative. From the incredible assistance we got when we arrived, to help booking and confirming plans, I couldn't have asked for more.

The pool area is quite nice, and the gym looks out over it, reminding those of us trying to get in shape how could we could look if we actually really worked out more often.

The one downside to this facility is the lack of amenities. The Marriott VC Empire is like James Bond without Q. We've got in-room washer/dryer, but where's the small drug store on-property? Where's the cafe? The restaurant? The pool bar? Perhaps I'm biased, because I'm use to those at other Marriotts, and in face I didn't miss these features that much as I was too busy taking the city in. However, the one day I caught my breath, it would have been nice to do so with a Singha or Tiger by the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We appreciate your TripAdvisor review, Johnathan! Our team is excited to learn you enjoyed your stay with us in Bangkok at the Empire Place. We hope you will return soon in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Overall, it was a nice, spacious service apartment with all the familiar comforts one would expect of Marriott clubs. The staff were were very friendly and some even went out of their way to provide us with valuable advice as to the current situation in Bangkok and how to go about in certain places.

Avoid the limo service but take the taxis and insist on them using meters instead. You'll save a whole lot of baht that way. I was going to rent a limo for our daily ventures into Bangkok city (family of 5) but upon trying out the taxis, I know I had saved A LOT of money. Taxi drivers were polite, so were the Thais we met while in Bangkok.

Not much to say about Empire Place apart from the fact that Marriot Club has a few apartments catered to members there. For grocery there's a 7-11 nearby...or an expat type supermarket bout 5 mins walk to the right of Empire Place when you step out onto the road.

Overall experience....it was ok. Good for a shopping trip and visiting the river markets. Weekend Market at Chatuchak is where you want to get stuffs. The much talked about wholesale MBK market, while cheaper than other places cant beat prices at Chatuchak Weekend Market for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NazzMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Bangkok! We appreciate your positive review and hope you can join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#110 of 866 in Bangkok
804 reviews
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Sathorn
Yellow Ribbon Hills Executive Mansion
Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
Oaks Bangkok Sathorn
#209 of 866 in Bangkok
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Place Condo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Place Condo

Property: The Empire Place Condo
Address: 88 / 170 Narathivas, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Marriott's Bangkok Empire Place)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn , Yannawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Place Condo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Empire Place Condo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vacation Club At The Empire Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing