We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Empire Place Condo
Ranked #39 of 1,335 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is actually a luxurious apt in the middle of the CBD district of Bangkok. Marriott Vacation club have some units in the apt. There is also a 24hr service office that serves all their guest. Service was perfect, staff were friendly and helpful.
In fact there isn't any hotel facilities so dun expect any room service. Basic condo facilities like swimming pool, gym room and steam room is available. There is also a gym instructor available in the gym who is also very helpful. However, if u are hungry in the wee hrs, there is a file in the room that has all the food delivery number.
The apartment is well kept and clean. Housekeeping is available everyday. Which also provides bottles of water for your daily consumption.
As for location, nothing fantastic as compared to downtown Bangkok. No malls nearby, however just three stops by BTS will get you to Siam Center/Paragon. BTS is 10mins away from the apt. Massage and food is easily available.

Two massage place u can visit
Turn left from the main entrance 1 min away there is a massage place
Turn right from the main entrance towards the supermarket and villa market there is also another spa place which I feel is better is just 3 mins walk.

As for food

Sara jane the Thai restaurant is just next to villa market. Not bad but not fantastic.

Opposite the hotel across the overhead bridge the Italian restaurant L'livo is a must to visit. The chef was formally from four seasons hotel. The food is value for money and is great. Try the set lunch. 3 course for only 430 baht.

On the way to the BTS there are also street food.

Overall, I feel this is a good place to relax as it's away from the busy and noisy district. Transport is convenient, I will visit again. Enjoy!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank buie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We went to this place base on our good friend recommendation. The place is a bit far from the shopping complexes area, thus some travelling were needed to do shopping. This is a service apartment concept place with permenant residence residing in it. We were told to use the swimming pool with special request to control our level of noise..not that we are the type if noisy people, but we feel restricted for no reason and even after we sign up as a member for Marriot Vacation Club. This place does not even have kids club. Will not be patronizing this place in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nazliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize your stay fell short of your expectations. Your comments will be shared with the resort leadership team for further review. We hope to see you again soon at one of the many Marriott Vacation Club resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our group : 3 adults, 3 children
Location : Sathorn main road,10 minutes walk to MRT Station; many banks & ATM machines around; 7-11 only 5 minutes walk; Starbucks Coffee nearby; easy to get cabs. Landmark: Across Bank of China.
Check In Process : Very efficient , everything is ready for us to fill in and sign.
Apartment : Extremely clean. 2 bedroom. 1 living room area. 1 dining area. 1 kitchen with all complete utensils, pots and pans. 1 huge fridge, 1 microwave oven. Laundry area with complete washer & dryer.
Bedroom : Both rooms complete with ensuite bathrooms , LCD TV and DVD player.
Living room : Lots of sofas, LCD TV, DVD Player. (you can borrow DVDs from the reception)
Dining area : 6 seater dining table.

Daily cleaning service .

Fantastic outdoor pool and play area for kids at Level 2 .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_loves_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room itself was large and spacious, pretty comfortable. It's basically a residence that has some rooms that belong to Marriott. There are 2 old slow elevators, one of which wasn't working. The staff in the little "concierge" room were friendly, but didn't really seem to know a whole lot about helping with tour planning unless you already knew what/where you wanted to go, and then they handed you a pamphlet. Taxis can be called from the street, which is nice, and the bell staff were exceedingly friendly.

Would give it four stars because of the service if there were really anything worth doing within walking distance. In the future, we'd rather stay at a "real" hotel in a smaller room, but down by the river.

Room Tip: Not much you can do to choose - it's all about which units are part of the time share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBeaches2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback about concierge services will be shared with the resort's leadership team and we thank you for your comments. Our team looks forward to your next stay in Bangkok so we may truly exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked via family's membership for 3 nights. What a lovely property! Lush and comfortable 1 room apartment but could stay 4 pax as there is a comfortable double sofa bed in the lounge and a huge king size bed in the bedroom. Very we'll equipped w 2 flat screen tv, fully stocked kitchen and a dining table for 4. All cutlery n crockery are intact with pots, pans, toaster, kettle and even a rice cooker. Electric stove with 2 hobs and a microwave oven. We'll designed unit with washing machine & dryer tucked away in a closet with ironing board and iron and vacuum cleaner. Biggest bathroom ever seen with shower and a huge bath tub. Nice!!!

Check in was quick and very inviting making us feel very welcome. We got some lime tea upon getting in the unit. There were some fruits and a bowl of snacks all complimentary for us. 4 big bottles of drinking water were provided, again free. What was sweet of them was remembering my daughter's birthday with a beautiful cake. They also took a photo of us and framed it up and was given to us as a souvenir. Wow, they think of everything!

So they passed all d amenities and facilities and bonus of free wifi & internet access. So now to location. Not too bad actually, right smack in d business district of Sathorn. The nearest BTS is Chong Nonsi and everywhere is just a few stops away. Although looks very near, it is a good 6-8 mins walk but all under a walkway. Taking taxis was easy but you really need to have yr destination written in Thai. It was rather difficult for us to get there fm the airport, maybe due to an ignorant taxi driver, but we got there. Overall a wonderful property and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed their stay with us in Bangkok! Thank you for your five-star review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

did two weeks here during the World Cup, needless to say we were a bit loud for the 3 am matches and no complaints. poor manners I know. aside from that the place is perfect. 7 minute walk to BTS Chongnonsi, 4 minute walk to Villa Market and 3 minutes to a 7-11. we used taxi for short rides to the W hotel, Ku De Ta and Pullman G for some dinners. price range from 39 to 47 baht. you could walk to these places easy but it requires going up some stairs and if your dressed nice better to get that air con taxi.

staff really aim to please and the maid service is daily. pool was empty some days and full on others. fitness pretty much wide open with one or two users that I noticed on my daily swims there's no restaurant on site but you can order pretty much anything in Bangkok and have it delivered. we did KFC and the hotel is on file so fast delivery. never bothered with the library and the sauna you need to ask for assistance first. steam room men's locker room was broken all 14 days.

the rooms are really nice with TV's and DVD players. only one safe in the master bedroom. comfy beds with 6 pillows in the master. both rooms full baths. living and dining comfy as well with another TV w DVD player. Three air conditioners that chill to well. outside lanai if you smoke. kitchen has almost everything. no oven but they have baking sheets, we had trouble with the toaster and just grilled morning toast on a frying pan. washer and dryer with free soap. you can grab softener for a buck at the 7-11.

Just a relaxing stay in a great location. close to Silom the River and an easy run by taxi to Sukhumvit area and Centralworld via Wireless road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kai_khem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The units themselves are modern and lovely; the photos uploaded by other reviewers are still accurate. This property is actually part of a high rise upscale condominium building in the financial area of Bangkok - away from most other hotels, restaurants and attractions frequented by leisure travellers.

The staff are in their office 24/7, friendly, efficient, always willing to answer questions, assist with a problem or hail you a cab. Wat and Non were especially helpful.

The good: Well cared for, clean and secure property. While it's an out of the way location, neighborhood seems very safe. Staff is great. Units have housekeeping service daily and fresh bottled water is also provided daily.

The not so good: Because this is part of a private residence there are no services available - no gift shop, no business center - not even a printer, no restaurants, there isn't even a vending machine. This is actually more inconvenient than it might sound.

The pool looked inviting although we didn't use it during our trip. The fitness center is not as large as it appears in the photos and 2 of the 4 cardio machines were out of order.

The Villa Market, a block and a half away is quite well stocked but expensive if you are looking for western foods (a large box of corn flakes was about $9 USD).

The only restaurant recommended by the staff is Sarah Janes about a block away. We found the atmosphere "lacking", the food quality fair to mediocre and the service friendly but in need of improvement. We chose not to eat there a second time....

Although the Skytrain is nearby it is inconvenient and during rush hours the lines there looked as bad as the surface traffic - which is horrible, even as early as 6:30 am.

If you stay here - there is a lovely Italian restaurant across the highway (you reach it by going up the stairs at the closest overpass and then back down on the other side of the road) called U'Livo. I found this myself using an app called "Around Me". I don't know why most of the Marriott staff don't mention it as they are aware it exists. It is owned and operated by a former Four Seasons chef, who circulates in the dining room, welcoming guests and offers some complimentary items like bread, a small appetizer and petit fours.

The Ascott Hotel on Sathorn Rd has the "M Pub" which is an English style bar and restaurant that is another option for dinner. Most everything else is too far to walk - not due to distance - but due to heat and humidity.

There does appear to be 2 or 3 more restaurants opening soon that may provide some relief - otherwise, pick a place, choose a later hour to dine avoiding the worst traffic and take a cab.

All in all, the property itself and the people were great but if I was returning to Bangkok, I would choose to stay in an area that offered more amenities.

A word about the military rule - if I hadn't known about it through international news I wouldn't have had a clue. We never saw any evidence whatsoever of a problem or heightened military presence, even at the airport. Don't let this stop you from visiting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IHSPAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at The Empire Place Condo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for visiting us on your recent trip to Bangkok! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Yellow Ribbon Hills Executive Mansion
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#110 of 887 in Bangkok
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Place Condo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Place Condo

Address: 88 / 170 Narathivas, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly Marriott's Bangkok Empire Place)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn , Yannawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,335 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £56 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Empire Place Condo 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Marriott Vacation Club At The Empire Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing