We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location, poor service and management”
Review of Aspira Hiptique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aspira Hiptique
Ranked #714 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and location, poor service and management”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hiptique Bangkok
Stayed for three nights in August 2013

Location
Located a bit of a walk off the soi 11, somewhat hidden in a local street. Great for night time sleep, a bit scary if you walk alone at night. The hotel offers free tuk tuk shuttle to Nana BTS sky train station. Ideal if you want to enjoy all the nightlife and shopping around soi 11 and Sukhumvit.

Facilities
Small rooftop pool with only a few sunbeds, pool design is great with stunning views, due to the lack of a pool shower, the pool water has a horribly amount of chlorine in the water causing me a rash.
Restaurant and Bar; Nice happy hour deal from 11-19, barman world record slow though, we got our drinks after finishing the appetizers. Lunch and breakfast was included in our stay. Quality if breakfast varied day to day, usual Asian effort to imitate western breakfast, failing miserably. The omelet chef saved it though (they days he were there). 30min before breakfast was closing, almost everything was finished, and they don't refill.

Rooms
Stylish and with everything you need, fridge, tv, amazing beds. Had a few ants and mini roaches but nothing alarming.

Only negative is the design of the bathroom door; a see through glass door and wall, with a 30cm gap to the roof, leaving nothing to the visual and audio imagination of the visit to the toilet….
Not ideal if you're staying with people you don't know that we'll in a twin room like we did,
(Not very romantic either if you're going there for that reason.)

Service;
this is where Hiptique really could improve immensely. I booked and payed for a deal through the hotels own website, yet arriving to the hotel , they didn’t have my booking AND they demanded me to pay again (!) took a lot of time and effort to prove them they were wrong. Same story at check-out, demanding me to pay a third time, resulting in the same process with me urging to see the manager.

They also charged my visa twice for the booking after I got home, having to call the hotel to sort things out. Asked for late checkout, front desk said the two extra hours would be 200baht. Yet they called our room early in the morning to say it was 400baht.

Absolutely no communication between staff, having to show my booking voucher over and over and over again in the restaurant to prove them the meals were included in my stay as stated on the voucher, and the waiters having to call front desk again and again. Very annoying ad time consuming.


Value for money;
ok, love the design, location is ok, unfortunately service really needs to improve, don't think I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    79
    61
    35
    32
See reviews for
13
91
58
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toulon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

First, the hotel was really hard to find in these small street of sukhumvit. From the hotel to walk to the sky train it about 20 minute but they have a tuk tuk every 30 minute to bring there. The room is clean but small, is around 30 cm from the bed to the wall and without no window so you never see Bangkok or is raining or sunshine for me is like living in a closet. Be carful of the taxi who pick you up from the hotel they all charge a surplus, always ask for meter. For the price is acceptable for near to everything and close to the sky train and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Three night get away in BKK.

Room was ok - smelt of a toilet as the shower leaks over the floor of the bathroom and onto the bedroom carpet! Why not replace the bath with a shower tray?

Soap in room smelt like sour milk too!

Beds comfy.

Upon checkout, the front desk staff were asleep on a pillow on the desk! Yes, and to make matters worse, their credit card machine was not working so I could not actually pay for my room. It was a complete farce. Their service was utterly useless.

Aircon unit in room had mould growing on ceiling - room 406.

Shower was hot and cold every 60 seconds.

Tuk tuk shuttle from hotel to road is yet another Bangkok scam; he wants to take you to the nearest tourist shop to buy tickets! Super annoying.

The walk from the main road was not too bad but it does take you a while (up to 10mins) and it's dark - no paths either. Taxi drivers don't know where it is but as soon as you say Sumkumvit Soi 13 they know (near Nana BTS). I took photo's of everywhere so they could find it via photo's

Essentially 30USD per night we paid so it's good value for what it is; however, it's definitely NOT a Best Western anymore!

If you want to pay 60USD per night, you can stay somewhere MUCH MUCH nicer than this in Bangkok.

Would I stay there again? No
Would I suggest this hotel to anyone I know? Maybe if they are on a severe budget but no
Would I pay extra to say somewhere else? Yes

Room Tip: Do not get 406....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seenitSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

siargao
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Good stuff first
-location, at the end of sukhumvit soi 13, close to many of the bars and clubs on soi 11 and up towards nana, and the other direction too.
-got pretty much everything you need, food, drinks, shuttle service to sukhumvit road, pool, roofdeck to chill on, wifi in the rooms, fridge with cold beer, water and soda, water heater for coffe and tea, last but not least rubber if you would need it.
-helpful staff
-the best of all, the price. Hard to beat a 1000b or so in this area.

less great
-breakfast varies a lot in quality
-bartender is world record slow
-the pics on the internet does not match reality (the pic featured is a corner room, most looks more simple)
-not enough channels on the TV

all in all, as the headline says, still a good deal!

Room Tip: get the corner room if yo u can, it seems bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gryforsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Have stayed at this hotel about 10 times for a total of 2 months. It is by far the best VALUE deal. If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room (especially with two or more people), then this is not the place for you. This was supposed to be an office building that was turned into a hotel, hence the design of the rooms. That being said, the rooms are very clean, although i have noticed there seem to be less towels and no more slippers or bathrobes (although a small tip to the cleaning lady gets that fixed up quickly). The beds are super comfortable and clean, and the staff are always great.
Pros: clean, 5 minute walk from Soi 11 so its very quiet, beds are GREAT, they have surprisingly good room service at a fairly reasonable price, wifi is very good and you can get the tuk tuk to Nana station for free.
Cons: is wearing a bit, as mentioned before there is a bit of a smell from the drainage and shower goes hot and cold (although within tolerable limits), not too much sound privacy in the toilet area as its not really in its own room.
Verdict: although there are some complaints, for the price these can be overlooked AND for the price, this is one of the best deals in BKK.

Room Tip: Get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I read the other review about the hotel and how it is not that well maintain, but I decided to give it a go since the price is pretty good, especially for me who travel solo.

On arrival, the location is quite far in from the train station, but they have hourly tuktuk service which brings you to the main road or train station. I did try to walk to train station and it is not that bad. The road is a bit quiet so you can opt to walk from the other lane (Soi 11) which is more lively. It is a quiet place to stay, but the nightlife is not that far. It is just at Soi 11 at the next lane.

The hotel has a nice modern deco but like what other reviewer mentioned, it is not well maintained. Some of the furniture inside the room has a bit of chipped and scratches to it. The water heater needs quite a long time to heat, but otherwise I can't complain. For the price, I guess it is pretty good. The good thing about the hotel is the bed. It is very comfortable. The wi fi is very fast (very important to me since I need to work during my trip and need to send big files) and the selection of TV channel is pretty good, comparing to other hotels. Another good thing is the hotel has a swimming pool. Not so big but enough to relax.

Khlong Saen Saep boat service is nearby too at Soi 15 (the stop is Nana Chard). You can go to Pratunam, Bo Bae, and other location from there and it is cheap to go by boat. Don't ask the staff about the boat service tho, they don't know anything about it. Just google and you will find it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandarwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel got some mixed reviews from travelers - we found that the hotel is actually a nice place to stay. Our deluxe room is nicely designed, the bed is an extreme comfort, the bath tub is huge and the air-con works perfectly. Strong signal of wifi and connection is very good in the room.

Location of hotel is quite far from the main road but you can still walk, it is around 400m to the Sukhumvit main road. They have tuktuk service but it is only available from 9 to 5 although they put in the signboard it is from 8.30AM to 8.00PM. We stayed there for 2 nights and every morning we came down to the lobby expecting to take the 8.30AM tuktuk but the front desk girls said tuktuk driver is always late and he usually come after 9AM.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthnainggolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#388 of 861 in Bangkok
126 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citichic by iCheck Inn
Citichic by iCheck Inn
#299 of 861 in Bangkok
487 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 11 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Le Fenix Sukhumvit
Le Fenix Sukhumvit
#344 of 861 in Bangkok
1,187 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 13 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#90 of 861 in Bangkok
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspira Hiptique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspira Hiptique

Property: Aspira Hiptique
Address: 42 Sukhumvit 13 | Khlongtoei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Bangkok Hiptique Residence)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #714 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspira Hiptique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspira Sukhumvit 13 provides all one could need for an exciting yet budget-friendly holiday: mid range rates, amenities and facilities dedicated to unwinding and relaxation, and, best of all, a location close to the city's cultural and modern attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aspira Hiptique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing