We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of BKKs best”
Review of Fat Gut'z Saloon

Fat Gut'z Saloon
Ranked #1,995 of 10,836 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of BKKs best”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A great place to eat some food, listen to some tunes and just generally chill.
Staff is fast, friendly and efficient. Wine specials on some evenings include a 2-4-1 - always a bargain. For something even more on the down-low, grab a bottle of beer and chew on the famous pickled onions - superb.
And don't forget the rockabilly on Tuesdays - awesome tuneage.

Enjoy

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    16
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Crowded!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Went here on Halloween night with friends who live in Thonglor. It was incredibly busy as it was Halloween night bit we still managed to grab a table outside. The decorations were quite good and staff were dressed up for the occasion. We had the fish and chips which were of good quality and large proportion. I had the chicken wings which were nice but not amazing. Would like to try this place again when perhaps it's not so rammed with people.

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips in Bangkok”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I've been to Fat Gutz several times, most recently in early October 2013 with my family. I've alwats ordered fish & chips, and the portion sizes are huge - fish and chips for 2 people, priced at a very reasonable 450 Baht for a 3 pieces of very nice battered fish, loads of chips, 2 pickled onions and 2 deep fried shrimps. I also tried an excellent fresh tuna salad, again the serving size was generous, and the price was reasonable.

This is probably the best fish & chips I've had in Bangkok, and the closest you're likely to get to the real deal in the UK. 3 of us (2 adults and 1 5 year old child) couldn't finish all the food, and the total bill was around 1,000 Baht (about £20), which is a bargain in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good atmosphere food so so”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Yes, that's cool atmosphere and we spent good time there. Food is not the best but nothing wrong, this is not a gastronomic restaurant that's all ! Staff and direction ok, location too. I love Thonglor !
Good for some drinks before the after...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain-Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Jazz-ie place”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

It a small nice place for fish and chips, bottle of beer and chilling jazz in atmosphere. Note: it is always crowed on Friday and Saturday night

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NuhnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fat Gut'z Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Fat Gut'z Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing