We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to sort out there hours of operation!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao

Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao
Ranked #3,561 of 10,625 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Phone 02-2507988
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Need to sort out there hours of operation!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I regularly visit crystal jade for its ramen. But have been disappointed too many times by their lack of consistency on hours of operation.
The staff will tell you 9:30pm kitchen closes & restaurant closes 10pm the website says the same.
In reality it's when the cook and staff want to go home!
Numerous times this has happened arriving at 9pm or just after and the staff turn me down. Today was no different till I complained saying their website says 9:30, the manager recognized this and asked the cook in front of me to serve me one last bowl. The cook responded no every other customer has left we are closed.
Clearly management has no say... A very disappointing result for a international chain!
The manager apologized about the situation even nudging the cook again to no avail clearly the cook wanted to go home. Recognizing there was no point to stay I left and the manager again apologized.
I hope that crystal jades management can some day maintain standard operating hours as promoted and manage their staff appropriately.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bbigote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible dumplings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

For dumpling fans visiting Bangkok, this should be a must-visit. The portions are large, but that didn't stop us from ordering several kinds of dumplings, each of which were good in their own right. On top of that, they weren't too expensive and it was easy to get a table for lunch. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattr789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A lot of food...and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I love dimsum, and my son loves noodles.
What more could we ask for?
It was all lovely apart from the white radish buns - only have them if you have had them before and like them!
Pancakes great - minced pork and szechuan noodles...hot and enough in the bowl for 2!
Great location, and obviously very popular with the locals...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

What you need to know is that the portions are large. I ordered soup, spring rolls, and shrimp with prawns, about what I'd get at home when eating alone. I literally had enough food for three people. The won ton soup had 8 won tons (not the 3 like back home), there were 3 spring rolls ( not 1), and I couldn't finish the shrimp. It was all very good, but not great. Nothing was bad, but nothing was so scrumpish either. Good solid food for about $25 US. Its next to the lower lobby of the Grand Hyatt, so its a good choice if you're staying there. But I wouldn't take a taxi here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisInMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An oasis to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

And rest in middle of BKK. Nice Chinese food... A break from Thai food. Location is excellent next to Grans Hyatt/Amarin and good food and value

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kash8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing