We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mixed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khaosan Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khaosan Palace Hotel
Ranked #93 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Horley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mixed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

hotel is good for traveles the staff are lovely rujirapha kromsingh ts the best xx

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttinn, Manager at Khaosan Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Khaosan Palace Bangkok. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff was very helpful. Our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Khaosanpalace Bangkok during your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Management Team
Khaosan Palace Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    246
    263
    88
    74
See reviews for
44
284
108
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

You just have to walk out the entrance and you are in the middle of everything. Did not have much interaction with the staff but they seemed nice to.

The rooms are nice and probably one of the better standards in Koh san road. In the room I lived in you did not bother of the noise outside (and it were very loud!). Personaly I thought the bathrooms were abit too shabby (but i'm not used to that kind of standards.). I can recommend Khaosan Palace for backpackers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttinn, Manager at Khaosan Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Hi there, Thank you for your comment. It is always such a pleasure to receive positive comments, I will pass it on to our team. And we sure will continue to improve our service.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Management Team
Khaosan Palace Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel really is a mixed bag...

The location is excellent if you want to be in and around the Khoasan Road and is close to the Grand Palace and several other attractions.

The price has shot up from the guide price in the lonley planet to 1500 bart so forget any of the reviews that you can get a room for around the 550 mark.

A good tip is to get a room at the back of the hotel away from the main drag. We did through luck rather than judgement. Our room was so quite that you could hear a pin drop all night.

The room was spotlessly clean on arrival but knowone made an effort to clean it or change our towels or get us more toilet paper in the 3 days we stayed there which was a little disapointing.

The highlight of the hotel was the roof pool and views from the roof terrace which give you stunning views accross the whole of Bangkok.

The big downside for me is you have to pay for the WIFI which is a turn off for us. If I know about this in advance I tend to book else where.

The hotel does laudry which is good but it charges per item which again makes it pricey. Most places I have stayed in Asia charge by weight which is much cheaper so if you do stay here I would make sure you either use a laundrett or have enought cloathes to see you through till your next port of call.

It was enough after our first three days to try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the Hotel away from the road to avoid the 24/7 noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttinn, Manager at Khaosan Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear valued guests,

I have received your comment and I would like to express my sincerest apology for your unpleasant experiences.

I passed all the matters which you mentioned to Direct Manager concerned, especially my Housekeeping Manager to consider in order to improve service standard, and please rest assured that the corrective step will be taken.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our humble Khaosan palace Hotel Bangkok and better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Management Team.
Khaosan Palace Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London!!
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is nothing special BUT it is clean, centrally located and we felt very safe there.

The shower does not go particularly hot, however, it is warm enough that you can enjoy a wash and feel clean! The bathroom isn't very big, but you probably will only be in there for a few minutes a couple of times a day to get clean, so not a big deal. The room isn't that big either, but again, if you are planning to explore, it is not really that big a deal.

There is absolutely no view out of the windows, just brick wall. So the quicker you get ready in the morning, the quicker you get to see Bangkok!

The TV is okay though for a hotel of this value. You can get American TV on it, in English, so it was nice for us when we were settling down at night to have a quick peek.

The staff were not very friendly, but did their job.

Khaosan Road is crazy, so if you are looking for somewhere quiet, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU! There is noise 24/7 and always something on. Quite simply, this hotel is in the middle of a market basically, so there are stalls, food and people literally everywhere (and rats at about 5am ish), but it is a good experience, although I would not stay for more than a couple of days.

We visited the local shopping centre MBK, where there is the BEST sushi place in there. It is definitely a must visit if you like cold sushi as you have your own hot water pot thing at your seat where you cook your own meat/fish/noodles which was a novelty for us!

Also, we went on a trip to the floating markets (great), tiger temple (appalling conditions and almost cruel as the tigers looked drugged) and some other places I can't remember.

So, yes, this hotel was absolutely fine for what we were after, a base to explore from.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brow987b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttinn, Manager at Khaosan Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are sincerely sorry and hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Management team
Khaosan Palace Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

probably the most prosperous and funnest hotels ive ever stayed at in this world, with soo many prossibilities nearby, this hotel was perfect down to every nookie and cranny, special mention must go to 'A' the porter and too 'Mimi' our lovely receptionist and also to 'steve' the securirty guard who kept us safe from ladyboy and crazy mauy-thai guy in khao san rd.
A++++ all together

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taki-Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttinn, Manager at Khaosan Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi there,

Cheers for such a lovely comments. Do come back and we will try and provide an even better service and hospitality

Thank you! and come again

Kind regards,
Management team.
Khaosan Palace Hotel Bangkok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My first time in bangkok and i decide to stay at khaosan road as i do some research where is a good place to stay for backpacker. Good luck for me to get standard single for 1 person as i travelling alone. The room quite small but nice as have air-con, TV, hot shower, safety box. The price just 550 baht. Im so happy to stay here. every room also can used swimming pool on the rooftop. I spent most of the day at there. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy to walk out to party, shopping on the street, find something to eat. not far to walk to Grand Palace.
I would stay here again if I visited Bangkok!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttinn, Manager at Khaosan Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Hi there,

It’s always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback as we take pride in delivering an outstanding guest experience. I’m pleased to know that our services met your expectations. Your kind appreciation encourages our team members to continue strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Khaosan Palace Hotel in your future travels to Bangkok.

Kind regards,
Management Team,
Khaosan Palace Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a nosiy trashy prision cell. Don't stay here unless you are partying until 6am and plan on doing so for your entire stay. Staff rude and unhelpfull, reminded me of many a hostel I stayed in as a 20 year old. Fine for some but not for us, moved to new Siam II which was like viisiting another universe. One where staff were polite, rooms were light and airy and the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireHolidayMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttinn, Manager at Khaosan Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Value guests,

Thank you for your insightful feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience failed to meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies and rest assured that every effort is being made to address the issues raised.

I hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to Khaosan Palace Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Management Team.
Khaosan Palace Hotel Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#341 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#368 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#499 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#190 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Baan Chart
Baan Chart
#39 of 606 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Palace Hotel

Property: Khaosan Palace Hotel
Address: 139 Khao San Road | Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaosan Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have amenities for you within Hotel sich as Swimming Pool, Internet Center, 24 hours Food Store, Phramacy, Local Tour Desk and Interstate Tour Desk, Currency Exchange, Security 24 Hours and Elevator. Tuk Tuk is Parking in front of Hotel 24 hours ready for you to explore the city of Bangkok around khao san road as well as 24 Hours Taxi are parking in front of Hotel, ready for you to go to Airport anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Khaosan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing