We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pool, horrible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khaosan Palace Hotel
Ranked #153 of 733 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of July. We are gap year travellers so Khaosan Road was where we wanted to be. Location was great, right in the middle of the busy street. We have a 3 bed room which we thought was seriously overpriced as it was pretty basic. Staff were disgustingly rude. Whenever you asked them for anything they would act like it was a huge effort.
Never smiled.
The pool area was great and the pool was very clean. Our biggest issue was the staff. It would put me off from going again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on our first in Bangkok. Room was nice and the air con was great. The pool was also good but could do with a few more loungers. Many people have complained about the staff but we found them pleasant. Also excellent location!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jesssicajess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

I've been stay a lot of hotel in Bkk and most of staffs are unfriendly also here in Khaosao Palace hotel. We haven't communicate a lot with staffs but any time I need a help from them they were rude. We book twin room and we would like to change the double room they said full of charge. So instead of pay full charge we combine the bed of course not so comfortable but better than we have to pay for the poor service. The pool is awesome also the location. If you are a party persons then you are right in the heart of the party. With my recommend, don't stay in Khaosan Rd cause it's only live during the night time. In the morning time nothing to do there. Won't come back this hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We had a comfortable room with air con and a good shower, and great pool on the roof! The staff however were appalling and weren't helpful at any point. They sat behind the desk and laughed at us, and accused us of not paying for a night despite us having a receipt.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank FinnNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

An okay hotel if youre on a budget. Clean rooms with ice cold air con. If your room is on the kaohsan road side of the building dont excpect to get much sleep before 4am. While waiting in the lobby seen about 5 rats in the space of 10 minutes. But I guess that cant be helped with how dirty kaohsan road is.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The best rooms (Premium) in this hotel are 4* quality.
The cheaper ones are in the "North wing" And for that reason it will be noisy until late.
(I was there during the World cup - so very late....)

If you want a hotel room ON Khao San it will be noisy.
(So, why do people complain?) If you are a party person - chose the North wing for price, convenience and quality... Free Wi-Fi was ok. (Password every day)

If you have never been to Khao San - a few bars on the street compete for the loudest boom box prize!
Other bars play music of lesser volume, and with variable tastes, including 'Live' and recently nearby, a mini Dance music tent.
But the place is Safe for all including families, has many street stalls, 7/11's,
even a Boots (Pharmacy style - Watsons is similar)

And close to the hotel are many tour offices and restaurants from Burger King to family run International cafe/restaurants. (Thai/Italian…)
This hotel has a private and quiet courtyard 50m entrance and nice open-air reception with a Deli/Coffee shop, supplying great low cost sit-down or room service.
The elevated pool is nice and there is a small sun terrace/chill-out area

Situated in the centre of Khao San:the entry has a 7, a great "street" Noodle bar and a security guard.

I stayed in a Deluxe (3*) - with DVD, small flat screen, clock/radio, DVD player (FOX movie channel reception was poor) and Lap Top SAFE! "Black-out" curtains. (With a view of pipe-work, but private, Ha, ha).

If you like a pool, reasonable quality, interesting evenings and a stroll home -
this is the place to base...

Room Tip: For quality and price North Wing. For relative quiet chose main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocalPeopleWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Cheap hotel right in the centre of bangkoks busiest party road. Rooms are very basic but clean and bed was ok. Rooftop pool is good. If your travelling or with friends partying it's worth staying. Avoid it if you are on a relaxing holiday or with family.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#361 of 891 in Bangkok
1,084 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#353 of 891 in Bangkok
1,332 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#183 of 891 in Bangkok
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#641 of 891 in Bangkok
1,661 reviews
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaosan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaosan Palace Hotel

Address: 139 Khao San Road | Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £24 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Khaosan Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have amenities for you within Hotel sich as Swimming Pool, Internet Center, 24 hours Food Store, Phramacy, Local Tour Desk and Interstate Tour Desk, Currency Exchange, Security 24 Hours and Elevator. Tuk Tuk is Parking in front of Hotel 24 hours ready for you to explore the city of Bangkok around khao san road as well as 24 Hours Taxi are parking in front of Hotel, ready for you to go to Airport anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Zenrooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Khaosan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing