We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing yet most informative and fascinating tour”

Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: If you are looking for an authentic Thai thing to do, canal tour is the one! Because boats on canals were used as transport traditionally, many interesting sites are along the water way. Our tour stops at: Morning Fresh Produce Market(Weekend altered with a Riverside Floating Market), Orchid Nursery in Green Rush, Hidden Forest Temple, Traditional Thai House (the Artist's House). We can also arrange custom tours around water ways. Please make sure to email or call us to reserve a boat before your tour date.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing yet most informative and fascinating tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Bangkok - as all big cities in this world - can be really tiring. Exploring all the magnificent sights doesn't get better with the heat this amazing metropolis has to offer... But there is a great solution: Simply take a canal tour with Pandan Tours!
While you are comfortably sitting in one of their small teak boats you get chauffeured around to some fascinating places on the flip side: Temples, tourists usually don't find, but where you can learn so much about "real" Thai culture or the Artist House, which opens up the world of Thai Arts you might otherwise not have had a chance to squeeze in your tight schedule and nature spots like the beautiful orchid farm.
But maybe most important: During all of the relaxing ride you will experience Bangkok from a completely different perspective - the "Venice of the East" and its life on the water. You will observe how the postman and the garbage collector are doing their jobs by boat, how ice-cream and vegetable vendors pass by the houses, how even the monks come by on the canal, how the kids jump joyfully into the water during the afternoon and generally how these lovely people live their lives in a megacity pretty laid-back, sabai sabai, like they say in Thailand...
Who wants to get another angle of the Great City of Angels and who wants to see how the city folk does actually live, has to join this beautiful day trip to the other side of town!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeotigerST, Owner at Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Mona, it sounds like you been on our tour a few times. Thank you for taking your time to write a great review for us. You are pretty accurate describing our canal program. I hope Germans like how we conduct the tour and if you have any suggestion for us to improve our tour, that would really help.

When ever you are in Bangkok, please bring your friends on our canal tour again.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    44
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pandan Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a lovely day out on the rivers with our excellent guide, Kping. She was very knowledgeable and made the trip great fun.
Try a Iced tea of coffee from one of the river boat sellers that pull along side! A great way of getting away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok for a few hours!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent tour with Tom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this tour because someone recommend it and they were right! We had a great time in Bangkok! We started early because we were going outside of Bangkok to visit a floating market!! Before this we stopped at a train station with a market in the railways that is unique, they move everything every time the train passes! We had never seen something like this you should visit it if you have time! After that we visited this huge floating market and had a great time! We had the opportunity to eat real local foof thanks to Tom! We took a boat trip near the floating village that was really nice and visited some great temples! Tom used to live in the US so his english is great, you wont have to worry about this!! We had a great time and a great experience!! We loved Bangkok one of the best places we have visited!!

Helpful?
Thank JuanS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Authentic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We scheduled a morning tour on March 31st 2014 which was our last day in Thailand. There were three of us (including our 18 year old daughter) - we met our guide, Khing, at the Skytrain station. Khing did an outstanding job! She made us feel like we were visiting with a friend - easy conversation, lots of facts & sights, great lunch and an very authentic view of local Thai culture. The small, long-tail boat is a great, relaxing way to see the "slower" side of Bangkok. We really enjoyed pulling over to another boat to get some Thai Ice Coffee. We highly, highly recommend this tour. I liked Thailand before the tour. After the tour, I have to say I love Thailand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“An amazing tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went for our tour on 19th April. Nui, our guide picked us us from our hotel and kept us entertained the whole day. She had a great sense of humour and was also very knowledgable about all aspects of Thai life, religion and politics. This tour gave us an insight to the real Thailand. It took us off the tourist routes. With the help of Nui we tried food and drink we would not have dared to! Great day, well worth the money. Thanks Nui.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandantour, Owner at Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for the amazing review for our tour and Khun Nui! It's great to hear that our guests really liked our tour. Of cause K. Nui is one of the very best in our company, and time and again we see people response by sending in this kind of review which make us wants do even better tour for our guests.

If you had a great time with our staffs, please send us your wonderful review. It really make our day to read this kind of comment and it motivate us to always perform our best.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing