We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location as a base for trip to Bangkok.”
Review of LiT BANGKOK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
Ranked #80 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Myself, my wife and her parents recently stayed at The LIT Bangkok for 3 nights in early December.
I have to say that the hotel did live to its 5 star hotel billing and if we ever to stay in Bangkok we would not hesitate in staying here again.

We had 2 Different Degree rooms. They were spacious and clean. Complimentary wifi worked well and 111 Baht per day meant a free drink from minibar each day above and beyond the free bottled drinking water. The only downside to the room was the view - not sure what the back of the hotel's view was like

Food wise we only ate breakfast here but there was a great deal of selection including good quality western style food as well as more Asian style cuisine. The cook to order food provided for breakfast was also very good.

The pool was a decent size and the spa was also very nice (only used for 10 min free foot massage that hotel offered guests)

Virtually all staff spoke English very well and we had no lost in translation moments. All in all an excellent hotel.

Location wise having the major shopping centres just 5 minutes walk away, same for Jim Thompson's house and most importantly the SkyTrain stop was just as close.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

LIT Bangkok. In a great central location with lots of street vendors right outside the door.

Well appointed with a good Gym, Spa and pool. The only downside was the strange bathroom setup with no doors. Its a little more intimate than most people would like.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusty_0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Can't quite recall why I chose this hotel, but glad I did. Despite being on a hidden side street and some how feeling that the building isn't quite right for the locaton, it's proximty to everything is perfect. Walking distance to some of the major malls, plus two sky train stations that will get you most places.

Rooms are innovative and comfortable (a few too many light switches to deal with, but who cares). The staff are curteous and professional, plus the other hotel services are ample. Excellent mini bar set up in case you need a night cap. In short, lots of little nice touches throughout your stay. The free 'shoppers foot rub' is simple, but makes all the difference.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We've staying in Bangkok a lot over the last few years and knew we wanted somewhere close to Siam to make the most of our final shopping opportunities during the last two days in SE Asia for a while.

The Lit is down a small Soi about 5 minutes walk from MBK. There are a number of cheaper guest houses, a couple of restaurants (including a pizza place that was busy every time we went past) down the same lane plus it's lined with street carts so there are plenty of food options close by (not forgetting MBK's fab food court).

[Almost] every aspect of the hotel is great. It's beautifully designed, slick and modern; the rooms are cleverly put together feeling much more spacious then they actually are (all mirrors and marble with enough light switches to keep you entertained for at least half an hour!), the beds are comfy, air-con that works, excellent shower, cool bathroom, huge TV, complimentary B110 mini bar credit - just enough to get a couple of drinks.

The impression is one of perfect hospitality. Plus the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly.

The restaurant was ok, but there is definitely room for improvement; breakfast was a bit 'meh' - stick to the buffet if you don't want to wait ages for tiny portions - I ordered eggs benedict, it arrived 25 minutes later (after I chased) and was half a muffin, one egg and one thin slice of ham, and be aware that you can specify if you want a particular type of coffee (latte etc) - it's not mentioned.

We stayed on a promotional rate which included a 3 course Thai lunch or dinner. On the website there are a number of options but it's actually only soup, pad thai and fruit so possibly not tremendous value.

We were also disappointed to note that the one night we wanted to sit on the terrace and enjoy a beer it was virtually impossible due to the volume of the PA of the 'talented young artists' singing cover versions on the steps. Admittedly they weren't the most offensive pair (girl and a bloke with an acoustic guitar), but the volume was at ear-bleeding levels - it was quite pleasant to listen to in the bar at the hotel halfway down the road but really off-putting virtually anywhere in the public areas of the hotel.

My only other negative is the pool, whilst lovely to look at, is really exposed - not great if you like to keep your kaftan on for fear of putting folks off their breakfast.

Overall this is a great value hotel - we'll definitely come and stay here again next time we're in Bangkok, assuming we can get a reservation as I think word's getting out what a gem it is.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor. Avoid the promotional rate with the 3 course Thai meal. Make sure you use you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiaRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We only stayed one night but it was perfect. Large twin room, check in /out a breeze. Complimentary 10 min foot massage while we settled in our room. Bathroom lovely -open style bath. Mattress super comfortable and lovely linen n pillows. Great location right next to mbk shopping centre. Taxi to airport 400 baht. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank free2fly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had a great few days at The Lit The staff from reception to the doorman could not have been more helpful kind and polite The rooms were clean light and unusual Breakfast was plentiful with a selection to please all palates The food in the restaurant was lovely a good choice of European and Thai well presented and plentiful One drawback the proximity to the huge shopping mall the MBK this place is fatal you are liable to spend far too much and return home penniless
You must visit the Golden Palace during your visit We were amazed at the beauty that surrounded us it was breathtaking
We would recommend the Lit to all

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watford_EnglandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The LIT Bangkok is the best I have ever stayed not only in Bangkok, but also worldwide! Greeted by hotel staff every time. Not expensive, Room is clean, design is special, hotel is quiet, breakfast choice not many but good enough, and can find money exchange with good rate nearby.

The things I don't like: 1) slipper is not a towel-like slipper, 2) there is only 1 hook in bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#93 of 891 in Bangkok
2,289 reviews
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#52 of 891 in Bangkok
5,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#174 of 891 in Bangkok
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LiT BANGKOK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LiT BANGKOK Hotel

Address: 36/1 Soi Kasemsan 1, Rama 1 Road | Wangmai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#48 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £60 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LiT BANGKOK Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LiT BANGKOK Hotel offers an enviable location that combines authentic Thai charm, premium service and the convenience of central city living. It's a mere five minutes walk to Bangkok's major malls such as MBK, Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery, for shopping, dining, and entertainment - as well as outstanding city attractions and landmarks including Bangkok Art and Cultural Centre, Jim Thompson's House and The National Stadium skytrain station.All 79 rooms are designed to furnish guests with a superior stay via surprising architectural features and a plethora of thoughtful design details. All rooms feature flat screen TVs, DVD player, mini-bar, and ambiance lighting.The hotel also offers guests a superb spa, fitness-centre, pool, restaurant, room service and the hotel's unique 'Fiesta Steppe' chill-out zone, a great space to drink in the local atmosphere with a glass of your favorite tipple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your LiT BANGKOK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lit Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing