We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream Town Pratunam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dream Town Pratunam
Ranked #421 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and everything was quiet good. The reception was very helpful and very pleasant. Food was also good and you can eat something rather than have it in outside. Room and the bath room were very clean and they clean them daily. It is 5-10 min. walk from hotel to the biggest fashion malls in Pratunam.

I can recommend this hotel to any one who is searching for clean room and less waling distance to the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duminda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    20
    26
    13
    27
See reviews for
25
26
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed in the Dream Town hotel July 2012 for two nights. We booked 2 rooms.

Summary
An average hotel which falls very short of its name. Good location to BRT and Pratunum markets, clean sheets and towels but tired rooms and disappointing customer service

Positives
Close to shopping area (Pratunum)
Easy to get a taxi or tut tut
Close to the BRT

Negatives
Room decor is old and needs updating
Customer service needs vast improvement 

We had two rooms booked, one for my wife and I one for my son and his two cousins. We took the Express train from the airport, I had read on the Internet that there was only 2 trains into the city, one the city line which stops at every stop and takes 30 minutes and one that goes directly to Makkasan City Which takes 15 minutes. However, the info I read is outdated as there is now a third train that goes straight to Phaya Thai and takes 20 minutes. Phaya Thai  is just behind the hotel which you can see from the station, however, there is no easy route to it so we chose to take the BRT to Ratathey and then walk from there, it took about 10 minutes to get there. Point to note here, the exchange rate in Phaya Thai train station was alot better than the airport.
The hotel itself is down a side street so you do not get the noise from the main street, it was still a busy little thoroughfare though.
Check in was OK, they asked for 500 baht room deposit which was refundable (and it was refunded when we checked out)
The porter showed us to our rooms, we were on the third floor, our room looked out on to the street, and the other room on to the back of the hotel where you could see Phai Thai station.
The sheets looked clean and there were clean towels, however, the rooms looked tired. The wall paper was coming away from the wall in places and it was looking a bit grey. The other room was worse. The bathroom has a stand in shower and sink, again it look old and tired. There was lots of black mold that you get in the sealant. The pressure of the shower was excellant However, the bracket holding the shower head was not tight enough and when you turned the shower on the head flicked up horizontally (above your head) so you ended up having to hold the shower head above you. We reminded ourselves we were only paying £20 per room per night!
There was a TV, Kettle and safe in the room with some complimentary bottled water.
The first night things went OK, we all got a good nights sleep. However, the second night was a disaster, at midnight and not long after my son and his cousins had gone to bed water started leaking through the ceiling above on to his bed. He called reception and they sent the night porter to have a look. You could see the water (or worse!!) dripping, the night porter suggested he moved the bed out of the way!!! At this point my son called me and I went to see reception, they said they only had one more room which did not have a window. I told them I didn't care as long as it didn't leak. The boys moved into the room which was a couple of doors away from our room and we settled down for a nights sleep. 2 O' Clock in the morning my son calls our room from reception saying that there was cockroaches in their room and the porter had come up when he had complained and sprayed the room, he had told them to wait 10 minutes and then he disappeared!! The cockroaches hadn't stopped moving, again I found myself in reception complaining. My sons two cousins being Malaysian said that they would still sleep in the room but for my son it was too much, so we got the porter to move the portable bed from the "infested" room into our room. Finally we got to sleep.
This episode spoilt our stay at this hotel, if it wasn't for the leak and cockroaches I would have been saying this is good budget hotel but after what happened I would say it was a poor budget hotel.

A couple of other things, a previous reviewer had mentioned that the hall ways were dimly lit and that floor 5 was like a scene out of an Asian horror movie. The halls were definatley 
dim. We couldn't wait to check out the 5th floor, and we weren't disappointed!! Scary to say the least, there was no lights on at all, needless to say we didn't return to that floor.

Breakfast had an Asian theme, they did offer eggs cooked in 3 different ways (fried, scrambled and omelette) and had a toast station.

The hotel tut tut wasn't in service when we were there. Whilst on the subject of tut tut's on our first journey the driver pulled over and tried to get us to go places he wanted to take us rather than where we wanted to go. I had to put my foot down and after I told him I'd been to Bangkok many times and knew where I was going he backed off. A day later I saw another tut tut driver appear to try the same trick to a bunch of tourists.

We had a great time in Bangkok, the shopping was great, however, the hotel wasn't and for the reasons above I can not recommended it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

The hotel is average but conveniently located near all the big shopping malls like Indra, Platinum, Pantip etc. and all the good Indian food restaurants are also nearby the Airport BTS metro station is also nearby. the Staff at Dream town is extremely friendly and makes the stay very pleasant and are ready to help with lot of concern all the time. the breakfast was just OK, the housekeeping is also good. in total it was a pleasant stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: prefer the rooms in front on the garden BTS station side only though a small window but at least wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSanjeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Booked this through booking.com , very disappointing once checked in.
Not worth the money. Normal rooms . OK location. Wi-fi too slow. Breakfast OK.
Unfriendly staff. Will not stay here again. Overall an average property to stay.

Room Tip: Any room is equally average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shivam_Nigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel was tucked in a quiet inner lane which takes more than 5mins to walk into from the main road. Quite dark if you go back at night but there's a lot of taxis and tuk tuk driving past.

Its about 15-20mins walk to Platinum fashion mall.

However, you can easily reached the Phaya thai BTS station in 5mins if u take a short cut across the backlane and cut across the railway track. You just need to be careful that there's no train coming.

Room was basic and big with a small safe in the cupboard. Mattress a little too hard for me. But after a day out, I'll sleep on anything. The drainage flow in the shower was a little slow. So you will be standing in a puddle of your soap + water while showering. However, water pressure from the showerhead was great!

Sound insulation was quite bad. So you can hear others banging their doors outside and dragging/shifting their things above you. And if other occupants choose to chat outside the corridor be prepared to not have a good sleep.

Breakfast was ok. Standard stuffs of rice, noodles, fruits, salad, bread,cereals, eggs. They do change the style of cooking the rice and noodles daily.

There is free wifi but you get disconnected quite frequently.

Room Tip: Choosing a corner room. Less affected by others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Wong8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

You get what you pay for is an understatement when it comes to this hotel. This place was inexpensive to stay at, but at what cost. I personally would have liked to pay more for a hotel stay, in order to get a better, cleaner room. Alas, I was in the minority when it came down to it. My traveling companion wanted to stay somewhere that was cheap, so I just went with it.

Once again, I’ll say that I understand foreign countries standards and customs are different from America, so keep that in mind while reading my review. I had several issues with this place that would make me recommend you look at some other options before choosing this place. I’ll break it down for you with the good and bad issues:

Good:
-Close to the BTS
-Close to main road
-Free buffet breakfast

Bad:
-The internet wifi connection was horrible! It kept going in and out. It was very frustrating.
-There was mold through the bathroom. It was disgusting.
-They didn’t give us enough towels and the towels we did have were dingy.
-Something in the bathroom was leaking, so the floor in the bathroom was always wet.
-We asked for a wakeup call that never came.
-Their airport transportation for guests is well over priced. It should be free as a parting gift for all the things you have to deal with staying at this rag.

With all that said, my traveling companion; who has actually lived abroad, told me that she considers this hotel one of the nicer ones she’s stayed at. According to her, there are ones that are worse than this one. If you are like me and would rather stay at a place that is cleaner & more pleasant, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just came back from my Thailand trip & stayed here for a few days. The rooms are actually pretty nice, clean & big but with dim lighting (cost cutting). The hallway itself is very dimly lit for all floor (2 bulbs only). Avoid 5th floor, at night the hallway looks straight out from a Thai horror flick lol. Wifi is pretty bad as they do not encrypt it at all.

For breakfast it's mostly asian style so if you're a Falang I suggest to have breaky somewhere else. Hotel staff are generally nice & speak some english for the most part. If their free tuktuk service is down, most probably they ran out of fuel (Stingy owner).

Overall stayed there because my friends stays there for the location & price. Pretty close to Pantip Plaza & most shopping centres. Also check out the "Rules & Regulations" paper they stick outside the bathroom & have a good laugh.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter. Avoid 5th floor, very dark hallway (possible ghostly encounter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eric_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
iCheck inn Mayfair Pratunam
#299 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Grand Watergate Hotel
#706 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
PJ Watergate Hotel
#608 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
myhotel Pratunam
#455 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Cubic Pratunam
#703 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#698 of 849 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Town Pratunam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Town Pratunam

Property: Dream Town Pratunam
Address: 33, Soi Petchburi 11, Petchburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Phayathai
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dream Town Pratunam 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Town Pratunam Hotel is centrally located in downtown Bangkok, 5- 10 minute walk to nearby are the mega shopping malls, Pratunam Market, Platinum Fashion Mall, MBK (Ma Boon Krong), Siam Paragon, Siam Square and Cenral World. For your convenience free shuttle TUK TUK are provided from the hotel to Pratunam Market and the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Dream Town Pratunam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing